We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will love Riad Karmela!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Save Saved
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
One free airport transfer
Ranked #101 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Hjoerring, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You will love Riad Karmela!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a fantastic Riad placed in the middle of the Medina in Marrakesh, and its a short but exiting walk away from Djema (La Place ). The hotel will pick you up from the airport and guide you to the hotel. You will feel so welcomed in this beautiful calm place and they will help you with everything.
Our luggage didn't arrive and the help we got from said and Joel was exceptional. They took us to the souk and helped us buy som clothes etc. called the airport for two days and finally took us to pick it up when it arrived.
The settings of the Riad is fantastic, rooms and suites are beautifully decorated and there are so many cosy places to enjoy and relax in. On rooftop you can enjoy the sun, eat breakfast and there's a little jacuzzi. ( my kids enjoyed that!)
I can not recommend this place enough. You will absolutely love it!
If you go to Marrakesh then promise to stay in Riad Karmela.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    217
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
155
379
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Marrakech. Used A2B for transfer to & from the air port . if i was going again would contact hotel direct & ask them to arrange a taxi, if there two of you travelling the cost is the same, it will save you time not having to do number of drop off on route.
The walk from the drop of point to the Raid was an amazing start to the trip ; you need to be guided to the hotel (they will also come get you for the return leg back to the airport).
The hotel was a quiet oasis in the middle of much madness. friendly staff room where clean & even had a complementary Hammam included in the price.
Had one evening meal, was OK, but expensive compared to the Moroccan cafes etc, plenty of choices within a 10 minute walk , go toward Place Jammaa EL Fna via the spice market .
they could try and fix the spa , but wasn't a major issue, far to much to do.
Went on one of the excursions to the Atals mountains , was good value & when it came to lunch we had the best Tajine on the entire holiday .. note this includes 2 hour + walking , starting at 1650 m , so air was getting a bit thin, we both in our 50's and did struggle on one or two of the more challenging selection , but was well worth the effort
Hotel was a great base for a short visit to Marrakech

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have been to Marrakech a couple of times before and stayed in riads that were considerably more expensive than Riad Karmela.
We were delighted with our experience at Riad Karmela.
It is right in the centre of all madness that makes Marrakech so unique. so really easy to get everywhere and yet It really is a calm oasis to retreat to when you need a break.
The rooms and courtyards are well decorated and there is a lovely roof terrace to soak up some sun.
Joel and his team are so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble, they even provided my niece with a pair of trainers when she discovered she had forgotten to pack hers!
We used the riad to organise day trips for us to Essouira and to the Atlas mountains. Both trips were fantastic and represented good value for money. Mohammed, our driver on both trips was charming and a really good safe pair of hands on the wheel which was most appreciated! Our trip to the Atlas mountains was particularly special as we had a guide to lead our hike which included lunch in his home, in a small berber village with delicious food and a view of the mountains to die for !
The dinners we had at the riad were also delicious and so relaxing sitting on the roof terrace away from all the frenetic activity outside!
All in all I would definately recommend Riad Karmela and would like to thank Joel and his team for helping to make our trip so memorable.

Room Tip: We were 3 girls so we took a suite to accomodate all of us which worked well and kept costs down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Marrakech. We were led by our taxi driver through the alley ways of the medina towards Riad Karmela which is tucked away behind a small ornate wooden door. It is worth mentioning at this point that I am not sure we would have found the Riad on our own - highly recommend getting a transfer from the airport! The first thing to strike us as we entered the Riad was the sense of calm and tranquilty, it really is a cool oasis set in the heart of the medina. We were welcomed by Bouchra who brought us mint tea and a plate of traditional Moroccon sweet treats before talking us through a map of the medina to help us to get our bearings. Riad Karmela is perfectly located, a short walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa (the main square) and the souks. Our room was cool, comfortable and nicely furnished. There are lots of places throughout the Riad to sit and chill out but if you want to lay out in the sunshine the best place to go is the roof terrace which has sun loungers and little areas tucked away to provide privacy. There is also a plunge pool up there which was needed after sitting in the 110 degree heat for an hour! We would highly recommend this lovely place and I am sure we will be back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A wonderful Riad tucked away from the craziness that is amazing Marrakech. Our journey to find it on the first night was a true adventure but the best 'immersion' into Marrakech that we could have asked for - in all of it's hectic, noisy glory. However, once we entered the Riad it was like entering another, very calm world. We stayed for 5 nights and was really lovely - the perfect place to come back to after busy Marrakech days.
The staff are all very friendly - highly recommend getting the 'welcome chat' with map, local knowledge etc. And the location (once you get your bearings) is great - very close to the square and the souqs etc.
Our room was on one of the internal courtyards but perfectly quiet and very pretty, and spotlessly clean.
We loved the breakfasts on the terrace too, along with mint tea in the afternoon. Evenings spent on the roof terrace drinking wine were very special too.
Overall just a lovely place to stay. Would very happily return/recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Four girls wanting to be looked after for a short break with in an interesting city, no hassle and option to sun soak.....

Riad Karmela was like a little oasis in the middle of Marrakesh. Impeccable service, well looked after, lovely rooms and when we ate in ..relaxed dinner in the roof restaurant

Couldn't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Marrakech, and i am very happy we choose to stay at the Riad Karmela. After booking our trip we received a few emails from the Riad owner, who was very helpful and organised for a driver to pick us up from the airport (would highly recommend). Once we arrived, Kamal (one of the staff) sat us down to explain the area and how to get around while we casually sipped mint tea. Each morning we had our breakfast on the rooftop terrace which was a perfect way to start the day. I would highly recommend visiting Marrakesh, and we most certainly will be going back to the Riad Karmela.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.