We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful oasis in the bustling city of Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Save Saved
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
early booker summer 2014
Ranked #99 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful oasis in the bustling city of Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have just returned form a 4 night stay at Riad Karmela in Marrakesh. I cannot praise highly enough the welcome given by all the staff and the high standard of accomodation. A top tip is to arrange transport from the airport to the Riad, we used A2B who were very efficient. Once we had arrived it was a pleasant change not to have to fill in forms at the reception, instead the owner himself sat with us as we sipped mint tea, and explained the locale and best areas to visit. Each day we took breakfast on the rooftop terrace which has a commanding view over the Marrakesh Medina itself and even extends to the Haut Atlas mountains. The Riad staff arranged for us to spend a day treking including a delicious meal in a private home in the mountains.
The experience of Riad Karmela exceeded all of my expectations and is an absolute jewel in the vibrant and exciting city of Marrakesh. It is a is definately a place that we will visit again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    627
    215
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
154
374
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Riad Karmela for four days in May. The welcome was faultless and the large tastefully decorated rooms and amenities excellent. The riad is an oasis of calm, well located for access to the main medina (7 mins) and to the museum. Dinner on our second night was delicious served in the lovely courtyard surroundings. Breakfast on the roof terrace (or downstairs courtyard if damp) was very good. The riad is a bit off the beaten track, so would recommend that you take advantage of the airport transfer...saves a lot of hassles. Only real downside is for those keen to remain connected, they will be disappointed - the Wi-fi was patchy at best. That aside, all in all, a great place to venture forth into Marrakesh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Perfect ? We had a wonderful week in may. The service is excellent and the riad is amazing, so beautiful...romantic and the food is so good.......we recommend this riad. there are several excursions. very beautiful too !! .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I wanted to organise a group trip for 21 colleagues so I was looking for a riad big enough to host us. We stayed at Riad Karmela for 4 days. Everything was perfect, from the kindness and helpfulness of the staff to the beautiful rooms and secret corners throughout the huge and beautiful building. It´s very close to Jemaa el Fna and everything you want, they can organise for you. We had a magical and delicious dinner with a delicious threecourse meal, moroccan musicians and artists on the gorgeous roof terrace that was nothing less than perfect. Very reasonably priced as well. What we loved most, was the service with a true smile (even at 4.30h in the morning when they served us a great breakfast before catching our early flight back).
On behalf of the 21 guests that you welcomed from the 30th of may until the 2nd of june, thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My stay at Riad Karmela was absolutely wonderful, what a serene and beautiful haven away from the bustling city outside! The location was perfect, less than 10min to walk to Djemaa el-Fna and hardly any walk at all into the souqs – you really felt as if you were right in the middle of it all! During our check in we were given a map with 2 recommended routes to Djemaa el-Fna that we used and found very helpful. Everyone says in Marrakech you will get lost and not be able to find your way around, but we didn’t once get lost or have trouble finding the riad!

On the first night we arrived a little later in the evening and had the 3 course meal offered in the riad, which was delicious and a lovely way to start our holiday. Our room was lovely, we had junior suite Zorah which was perfect for 3 friends. The only minor issue, and this is VERY minor, is that the lock on the inside of the bathroom door didn’t work (wasn’t a problem for us at all, it pulled closed). Speaking of locks, for anyone who has read past reviews or is concerned about locks on rooms: there was a bolt on both the inside and outside of our suite, and there was a padlock for the outside for when we went out. There was also a safe in the room that we used, and we had no problems at all. The suite was clean and very well decorated, we all loved it. We had views over one of the 3 courtyards in the riad, luckily it didn’t seem to be used at all so it was lovely and quiet all trip. There are also many roof terraces that are definitely worth spending some time at. Breakfast was served up there in the sunshine, and some of the spaces had sun loungers which were ideal for a few hours’ relaxation before going out to dinner. There is a small terrace which just about sat 3 people up some slightly hidden stairs that gives the most spectacular views over the city!

All of the people working at the riad were friendly and helpful. They helped us organise an excursion to the Atlas mountains, we cannot recommend it highly enough! We chose their Imlil trip: the driver was very friendly and let us stop to take photos (the views were amazing); the guide was great, and led us on a 1.5 hour walk into the mountains that included a stop at a waterfall; we had a berber lunch in the guide’s house, with some of the tastiest food we had all trip! We also arranged a hammam and scrub at the riad, which was a fantastic way to relax.

An added bonus came on the last day: one of the girls in our party became very sick, and after a night of barely any sleep we were allowed to keep our room past the checkout time of midday until 4pm when our airport taxi was due. Bouchra and Joel also gave us some rehydration and anti-sickness medicine which was very kind of them, and my friend was able to use this extra time to rest. We can’t thank them enough for all their help at this time, we are very grateful.

Overall Riad Karmela was the perfect place for us to spend 4 nights in Marrakech, we absolutely loved the place and cannot recommend it highly enough! Many thanks to Bouchra, Joel and everyone else at the riad.

Room Tip: Our room (suite Zorah) overlooked the slightly smaller courtyard through the left of the main courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Riad Karmela for our first time in Marrakesh and it was a really nice choise. The Riad is 5-8 min away from the mainly square (the center of Marrakesh). The Riad has 12 rooms and 3 different part with their own main "living room". The terrace on the top is amazing, breakfast and dinner are served there. It was soo hot during the day (38 degrees) but once back to the Riad was so fresh and nice because there is a countryard. Friendly and helpfull staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Everyone says that Riad Karmela is a calm haven hidden in the chaotic Marrakech medina...but it is true! The old city is amazing but exhausting as you dodge speeding motor bikes and haggle with enthusiastic souk ( market) vendors. This Riad is beautiful with many communal spaces to relax in including a gorgeous roof terrace. We would sometimes order a glass of wine late in the afternoon and it was served with delicious olives, nuts and other things to nibble on. Orientation on arrival was great, together with a clear and accurate map and their lovely driver even took a group of us for a day trip to Essouira! Perfect! We even had wonderful foot massages from the in house masseurs at the end of a big day of walking! We had a slight misunderstanding while we were there about the cost of something but this could have happened anywhere and did not detract from the overall stay. I would certainly recommend this amazingly quiet and peaceful Riad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.