We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
One free airport transfer
Ranked #104 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“THE place to stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I found Riad Karmela on Tripadvisor and booked a single night stay there for my first night in Morocco before moving on to the Atlas Mountains. I ended up staying another night and delaying my mountain trip because this place is so amazing. Needless to say, once I'd spent a week in the mountains I came back to Karmela for another night on my way to Essaouira.. and again ended up staying an extra night!! Riad Karmela is perfectly situated in the fascinating old town Medina area.. and even though it's crazy out there once you step through the little door of Karmela you enter a peaceful retreat. The roof terrace is amazing to spend a day sunbathing on and the rooms, decor and staff are all amazing. I'd like to thank Joel especially for being so welcoming and more than helpful. This is THE place to stay.. I will be coming back.. Thank you Joel and all the wonderfull staff at Riad Karmela :-)

Room Tip: There is a suite on the roof terrace in a big tent... if you're going as a couple and want a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    222
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
158
384
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowthorn
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was recommended Riad Karmela by my niece (who is a great traveller) and we couldn't have been more delighted. Tucked away in a tiny tunnelled street in the Medina, you would never know it was there. Take the offered transport from the hotel or you will never find it! After going through a tiny door, it opens out into the most amazing space. It is three Riads together and has about 15 rooms. The courtyards are delighful, tastefully furnished and well attended. The feeling of tranquility is just perfect after the hectic hustle and bustle of the Medina. The only down side for us was that we had problems with the hot water and the bed was a bit hard, but to be honest it would not put me off in any shape or form. We would love to come back! Try the Hamam, it was great. The staff were really helpful. Joel the owner definitely knows the places to go and the Riad organise all the transport which makes life very easy. We have to say how wonderful Jamal is! He looked after us so well, give him a medal! Thank you Joel and your team for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My family and I stayed in this Riad in Febuary 2013. We knew little of the city itself, however we felt this would be an interesting, exploitative experience for our teenage children, to get away from the artificial ways of the Cote D'Azur. Marrakesh, was without doubt an adventure.The Riad Karmela was a haven for the family, and helped us all unwind, after the fascinating yet slightly unhinging strolls through Marrakesh.The Hotel Rooms, were clean and inviting with little to fault. The service offered by the Riad was of an exceedingly high standard with charming staff, I think you would be pushed to find a better place within the old city of Marrakesh. For the quality of accommodation, dove tailed with the outstanding service, rendered the price easy to digest (unlike some of the food served throughout the city).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great riad in the center of the Marrakech souq.

Very friendly staff who welcomed us with biscuits and mint tea.

Big and quiet room, which was great to return to after all the hustle and bustle in the souq.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't that great when we visited, but I'm sure the roof terrace is an excellent place to spend an afternoon sunbathing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I came to stay at Riad Karmela for three nights with my mother, and we both LOVED it! The Riad is an absolute gem - it has everything you need, the staff are incredibly helpful and is generally a blissful place to relax.

We stayed in a twin room immediately off the main courtyard, which we initially thought would be a little noisy and too open - however, it turned out to be neither of these at all. The room has been very thoughtfully designed, with various curtains, blinds and shutters that you can use to adjust the level of privacy and lighting you prefer. Everything was clean and beautifully furnished, with lots of nice little touches - the daily bottle of water and bowl of dates was appreciated! The water in the bathroom was gloriously hot, and the shower was fantastic.

The outdoor areas were similarly wonderful. The design of the Riad allows for lots of cosy seating areas, so that you could happily curl up with a book in peace (along with a pot of mint tea and some pastries of course!). The whole design is perfect, and everything has been considered - there are even books, board games and old photo albums to look at if you run out of things to do. It was a bit too windy to sit up on the terrace, but it looked beautiful - I shall have to come back when the weather is warmer!

Breakfast was good, especially the freshly-squeezed orange juice. We also has dinner in the Riad one evening, which I would definitely recommend. The food was authentic and totally delicious - our favourite meal of the trip.

A wonderful place to stay - I certainly intend to return, and will be recommending Riad Karmela to everyone I know!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

An oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of central Marrakech. Centrally located just 10 yards from the main route around the medina, 5 / 10 minutes from the souk and main square. Peaceful and beautifully decorated courtyard (where breakfast and dinner are serviced), and spacious roof terrace(s) with a number of differently furnished seating areas. Rooms traditionally decorated and very clean - we stayed in one of the apartments for four. Staff very helpful, and polite, arranged taxi to and from our next stay in Essaouira.
Recommend taking advantage of the offer of the riad arranging a taxi from the airport (there is a charge but better than negotiating yourself).

Room Tip: One ground floor room opened onto the courtyard and so was not as private as the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Riad Karmela is a fantastic hotel, full of character. We stayed as a group of young 6 girls and loved our time there (End of March 2013). We sorted transfers with the hotel before we left England, and we had Kamal pick us up. This is recommended as taxi's can't get to the hotel as it is located within the heart of the old town. The hotel is in a great location, 10 mins walk from the main square and markets (suks), hidden within the alley ways of Marrakech.

On our arrival, we were served peppermint tea with Moroccan sweets and our luggage was taken to our rooms for us. Then we were given fantastic information about what to do/not to do in Marrakech e.g. not let local boys guide you to places and how much discount to get for items at the markets. The hotel made suggestions for us on using a spa, going to a Water Park (A MUST!) and places to eat. We even had restaurant door man walk us to and fro late at night back to the Riad.

The hotel were very good at arranging our taxis to places and our pick ups as well. It made our holiday stress free. Any thing used by the hotel was paid at the end of our stay, we didn't need to pay upfront for using their own taxis.

Rooms were clean. Fresh towels were provided and beds made each day. Cleaners are friendly too! We had two rooms, which were opposite each other. Rooms had a hairdryer too. Between both rooms, we had a little court yard with sofas. This was lovely when we wanted to relax after a busy day out. Rooms have a safe and rooms are locked with a padlock. Room has air con, but we weren't able to get hot air, when it became chilly at night.

Breakfast was continental....fresh orange juice, toast, english tea, coffees, cornflakes, jams and hot food such as omelettes and pancakes served. It was lovely to see the two pet tortoises out for breakfast too.

The hotel has a lovely roof top terrace, with gorgeous sun loungers and sofas. It was lovely to chill out after a walk in the square or to soak up the heat. The hotel very kindly also gave us extra peppermint tea as we loved it so much - complimentary.

As a group of 6, we wanted to enjoy the nightlife in the new town, so the hotel organised for us to go with Kamal. He took us to the best clubs and shisha bars in Marrakech. Great choices of clubs!

At the Riad, we could also change our money at a good rate.

Great hotel, would return again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.