We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authenticity and Luxury meet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Save Saved
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
early booker summer 2014
Ranked #97 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Authenticity and Luxury meet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great staying here, it really does look exactly like the pictures, maybe even better. It's in the heart of the authentic Old Town, so lots of locals as soon as you step out of the door, but if you ever need a break you can pop back in.

Am a huge traveler of various budgets and this is one of the best places I have stayed.

Room Tip: Choose El Nour for a more 'private house' feel. It's connected to the main Riad still.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    620
    214
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
155
377
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This riad is at the end of an amazing small street - even smaller dead end alley - even smaller kind of covered alley (almost a corridor, o my god where are we going?) experience. Amazing and intriguing (and, as far as I could say, safe).
Situated in the heart of the old town, the first day you'll probably get lost trying to come back from the main square. This is probably the only inconvenience you'll experience, because once understood where to turn (in fact it's easy) you will appreciate the location of this hotel. Some hundred meters from the main square, just on the other side of the souk.
The contrast is strong between the area around the hotel, very messy and decadent (but very interesting for a few days) and the interior of the riad, where the only sound is the gurgling of the fountain, while you are taking a tea in one of the courts (the main one with the orange trees was my preferred). No real luxury, but the right decoration. You really feel the atmosphere of a wealthy merchant's house at the feet of the Atlas (snow capped) at the edge of the desert. The staff was very, very kind. The restaurant is good. Do not miss the green tea (3-4 a day was the average, any excuse was good), with the little local sweets (delicious, not too sweet and very tasty, the best I could find in town). The hammam of the hotel seems good (I didn't try it) for sure the massages are great (and cheap).
We used this hotel in January for 3-4 days and It was a perfect accommodation to see the town and run the half-marathon. Great place for a great town (particularly in January, escaping the winter), just consider that the taxi has to stop 50-100 meters from the hotel (book the transfer from the airport with the hotel, it is cheap and reliable) if this is not a problem for you I would really recommend this riad!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

It is just amazing when you enter the small front door and enter the peaceful atmosphere of Riad Karmela. The staff is very friendly and service minded. We can definitely recommend to have dinner at the Riad, it is just fantastic. We were a bit overwhelmed when entering the old town of Marrakesh, though once you are used to it it definitely has its charm. We anyhow liked to return to calmness and peaceful Riad every night. Don't let yourself be frightened about how to get there, it is a bit complicated the first time, but you will find your way soon with the friendly help of the staff. A very romantic place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited Marrakech for the first time in December for New Year........We picked Riad Karmella as the reviews were great and the location looked good. We made a great choice as we arrived in Marrakech and it was very busy and a little scary at first........We were taken to our Riad and instantly you were in a tranquil, beautiful setting which instantly relaxed. The team that worked at the Riad including Joel were very helpful at advising us good places to visit and tips on what to do and not do while in Marrakech.........We loved sitting up on the roof terrace in the afternoons sipping G&T's after a hectic morning exploring the markets etc......We also had a fantastic traditonal Hammam and massage one afternoon which I would highly recommend. This Riad gives you a great base while your exploring Marrakech to great food, great staff and lovely place to escape the hustle and bussle of the souks :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Joel & his staff are very serviceminded and kind. We were satisfied with their recommendations and bookings. Every member of the family thought the trip to Ourika-valley was exciting! The Riad is great, with a lovely roof terrace and beautiful interiors. We stayed in one of the apartments and it was calm and cosy. The breakfast and dinner were also great, and so was the local wine that could be served at the terrace or the log fire. The Riad is perfectly situated, close to the Medina and Djema el Fna.

We would very much enjoy going back to Marrakech and Riad Karmela again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niederglatt, null, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recomend "Riad Karmela" to everybody - its really worth to visit marrakesch, especially this Riad Karmela to stay ! The terraces are very nice, with beautiful flowers and we also liked the place inside of the riad with the orange trees and of cours the rooms (you feel like in 1001night!). The breakfast is very good and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This riad was truly a surprise on the really centre of Marrakech. The taxi service on the airport was pretty smooth, the reception was very attentions, the room was really spacious for 4 people and the cleaning was impecable. The common areas were also very pleasant, with a very local/typical look. The personnel was extremely helpful in every occasion we required there help. In summary, I can only recommend this place for everyone would come to visit the Medina in Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#97 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#97 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.