We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
One free airport transfer
Ranked #102 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Niederglatt, null, Switzerland
1 review
“Great !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recomend "Riad Karmela" to everybody - its really worth to visit marrakesch, especially this Riad Karmela to stay ! The terraces are very nice, with beautiful flowers and we also liked the place inside of the riad with the orange trees and of cours the rooms (you feel like in 1001night!). The breakfast is very good and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    219
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
157
381
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This riad was truly a surprise on the really centre of Marrakech. The taxi service on the airport was pretty smooth, the reception was very attentions, the room was really spacious for 4 people and the cleaning was impecable. The common areas were also very pleasant, with a very local/typical look. The personnel was extremely helpful in every occasion we required there help. In summary, I can only recommend this place for everyone would come to visit the Medina in Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at Riad Karmela. Very comfortable place in a central location run by lovely helpful people. Don't miss dinner in front of a log fire, and try the fish - wonderful food and local wine. Plenty for breakfast and the buffet was kept well supplied. We would recommend a half day guided walk on Day 1, a trip to Essaouira, Jardin Majorelle, Maison de la Photographie (have lunch on their terrace) and save some time to enjoy the fabulous roof terraces at Riad Karmela. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The riad was full some days, but still quiet. Upstairs rooms in the courtyard beyond the breakfast b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lovely hotel. Lovely staff. This Riad is right in the centre of the Medina hard by the Souks. This may put some people off, but it shouldn't. Its an 8-10 minute walk to the main square of the Medina Jemma el Fna and from there the whole city is accessible. I found the general standard of cuisine disappointing though. I wouldn't say that Moroccan cuisine was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Yes. Everything that's been said before. Very well run and very nice hotel. Great staff, food, location, organisation, help when you need it. And very relaxed in the hotel, you can just help yourself to all sorts of beautiful areas inside, in the courtyards, on the roof.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Even before we arrived Joel was a wonderful help in promptly answering any questions I had. He arranged the airport transfer and on our arrival and throughout our stay he was patient, thoughtful and a great help to us. He assisted us with our plans for each day, booking great restaurants, tour guides, transport, horse & carriage trips, Hammans and Massages etc etc. He went out of his way to make it a wonderful stay. (There were 10 of us so, that's a lot of people to satisfy...which he did ...with ease!)
We stayed in the Petite Karmela which was just perfect for our group, with our own little courtyard to sit, chat, sip wine or mint tea and discuss the day's adventures amongst friends! The airport transfer (arranged by Joel) was efficient and the driver (Mohammed) very knowledgeable and friendly. The food and wine at the Riad was great (Also lovely touch of a birthday cake for desert!).
We had fun exploring and did not struggle too much with finding our way around....Joel explains this very well and the map is sufficient. I believe the location is just right and could not fault it. We adored your Riad Karmela!
Thank you Joel and staff for making our trip to Marrakech so very special and making it a 50th Birthday to cherish!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived in the warm sunshine at Marrakech Airport. We were collected by the transport provided by the Riad Karmela. After a short journey to the Riad we offloaded our luggage onto a cart and were escorted to the Riad through the bustling streets. There were many sights to see on our journey but these only added to the cultural experience of Marrakech.

When we arrived at the Riad were we given a warm welcome - along with mint tea! Joel took time to explain how we could get the best out of our stay and was able to recommend some excellent restaurants. We had our first meal in the Riad itself. The dining room area was very tranquil in keeping with the rest of the accomodation. The interior was beautiful with lots of different things to look at- including the tortoises! All of the staff were very welcoming and we really enjoyed the freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast time. The Riad was very clean.

When going out on to the streets it does take a little time to adjust to the hustle and bustle but once you become used to it you realise that it s part of the culture that makes Marrakech.

We would definitely stay at the Riad Karmela should we return to Marrakech.

The weather was also fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.