We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Save Saved
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
One free airport transfer
Ranked #103 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

if you are looking for an authentic place to stay, with friendly staff, always ready to help... look no further...
It has an amazing sun terrace with a splash pool (enough to cool down)... but if you want to go and have a proper swim the staff will direct you to affordable pools. The chill out areas (a few of them) are full of character... the room where I stayed with a friend was spacious and the bed very comfortable. I absolutely loved the shower area...
I will stay there when I go back... very good value for money... even with the small pool... but you are only a few minutes from the main square and all the souques

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    219
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
157
380
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carshalton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were very pleased with Riad Karmela, our room was spacious and clean and the staff were very helpful. There are so many nice places to sit and relax you could sit in a different place everyday. We stayed a week and found that you get a bit fed up with walking around the medina and the local areas, so would definatley recommend taking advantage of the trips available. I have to warn you that our first impressions of the surrounding area were not good, but I suppose that it all part of experiencing another culture. After a couple of days we found our feet and realised that there was nothing to worry about. If your fed up with the normal beach holidays and fancy a holiday you wont forget and a bit of shopping this is the place to go. Overall the Riad was well run and we were well looked after.

Room Tip: We booked a superior suite, it was the only room with a small balcony. Worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Large and nice decorated rooms.
On the roof, goergeous terrace with view to Medina and Atlas mountains.
Plenty of places in patios and on terrace to relax comfortable and quiet.
Hammam and massages are great !
Lovely and attentive staff, always ready to help and friendly advise about our stay in Marrakech.
We've been under the spell of this very authentic place, nothing to do with large luxury hotels.
We warmly recommend the riad as well for lovers as families or friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

This place has it all....5 mins walk to the main square, beautifully decorated rooms and chill out space, heaps of character, the friendliest staff/owners and an amazing rooftop terrace with small splash pool. We were made to feel really at home here, would definitely go back and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were looking forward exchanging our traditional December vacation for a new experience.
Our choice went to Marrakech and Karmela Riad.
Everything was OK. Our transfer from the airport had been pre-organized and our driver Kamal took us friendly to the hotel.
After a short walk through Medina hubbub, we entered a heaven of peace
Karmela is ideally located to get easily to "the Place" (barely 10 mn walk) and most sites.
We enjoyed helpful welcoming by Joel and his staff.
Great atmosphere, very nice food and cosy spa... we enjoyed everything.
Excellent quality-price ratio. A very good address.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We arrived in the morning straight from the airport. The owner gave us a very warm welcome and showed us some great places to eat but was very aloof after that. The staff were mixed, most were fantastic but a couple of staff, such as the ones around breakfast, were borderline rude.

The rooms was beautiful and the air conditioning was brilliant. The surroundings, couple with the resident tortoise, were fantastic and the hammam we booked was an extremely relaxing experience and well recommended.

The Riad can be quite hard to find, there are signs at 3 points for directions but we still had problems. However, if you want to be right in the medina then this a brilliant place to stay. The reception was not 24 hours which was also disappointing as we had to wait in the morning unnecessarily to clear up and move on.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed at the Riad Karmela last week along with a group of friends. Found all the staff to be very courteous and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Food was authentic and delicious. Transportation to and from the airport was very well coordinated. Location was very central. Tour guides, recommended places of interest and restaurants were very well seleced for us by staff . Should you be looking for a place to stay where you can truly experience Moroccan culture and not the usual mundane "hotel chain" type vacation, I would definitely recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.