We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we wann a come back, inshallah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
One free airport transfer
Ranked #107 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Stuttgart
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“we wann a come back, inshallah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Our 3rd stay in this lovely riad was like coming home.
it´s a fine hotel with a very gentle staff.
we want to return whenever it´s possible, inshallah.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    228
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
163
393
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Enjoying from day one until the last day, good organized, super friendly staff with a very good atmosphere extra thanks for the great service from Said. Owner Joel has received us very well give us much information about everything. In short, he has a beautiful riad and do it very well!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Our stay at the Karmela was a good one but not great. The riad is very pretty and in a great location. The owner was nice and welcoming. The roof top area is incredible but we only got a short glimpse as it rained our entire stay.

If I had to be critical at all, it would be around the sound. Since riads are set up in a square, the rooms let in a lot of noise from the main areas and even if another guest accidentally closes their door too loud.

We would recommend others stay here as we felt safe and secure and the location is great for exploring the souks.

Oh also don't trust the Internet maps of anything in Marrakech as it's wrong. Even trip advisors opinion of where the raid Karmela is, is not accurate. Just know that its about 10 minutes from the souks and main square area and is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We travelled as a party of 4 adults and actually stayed in the Riad El Nour which is basically an annexe to the Karmela and 3 steps across an alley way. Our first impression sticks with us most as we were picked up from trhe airport by a member of the Riad's staff and drove through the manically busy alley ways and streets, barely wide enough for a small car, competing with donkey carts, pedestrians, mopeds and other vehicles We parked 200 meters from the Riad and were led through a couple of streets to the door, which is down a quiet alleyway. As soon as the door was opened we stepped into an oasis of calm and luxury.

Although we were staying in the El Nour, all our services were provided from the main Riad and that's where we had breakfast and the couple of evening meals we had at the Riad. We also had the use of all the facilities at both Riads, including beautiful roof terraces and plunge pools. The staff were fantastic, happy to bring drinks across to our roof terrace.

We couldn't fault the facilities, cleanliness, friendliness and attention to detail.

In terms of location, the Riad is about a 10 minute stroll to Jamaa el Fnaa Square and that was an ideal distance for us it was central but still enjoyed a respite from the frantic atmosphere of the Souks and the Square.

We had evening dinner in the Riad a couple of times and again couldn't fault the cuisine and service. However we would recommend sampling some of the restaurants in town, including Cafe Terrace des Epices and especially Restaurant Marrakech, just on the square. We went there on our last evening and enjoyed traditional musicx and dancing provided by 3 musicians and the restaurant staff. Although slightly daunting from the street, with a narrow dark stairway leading to an upstairs restaurant, this was probably the best place we found to eat out. Excellent food and licensed!

One warning in general though is that whenever we arranged to do anything, such as a trip to the Atlas mountains or (nothing to do with the Riad) a jaunt round the city in a horse-drawn carriage, there were always extras such as payment for a guide.

We also ate in the Restaurant Argana on the lunctime and evening before it was bombed and our hearts and sympathies go out to the people who weren't as lucky as us. Whilst this clearly placed a cloud over the time we were there, the people of Marrakech rallied to stay upbeat and to beat the scum who would perpetrate such an atrocity. We did not feel any more threatened after the bombing than we would in any European city and would not let it stop us from going back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

My friend and I loved Marrakech and the Riad. Everyone was extremely friendly and went out of their way to accomodate us and make our stay enjoyable. We felt safe and comfortable in this beautiful little haven. The breakfasts had a great selection and dinner was amazing, well worth organizing for your first night there. My friend and I did the day trip to the Atlas and Imlil which was truly stunning and the Berber guide and his family were so friendly it made our trip very special. The highlight for us at the Riad was the Hamman, not for the typical shy English girl may I add, but it was lots of fun and very very relaxing. The Riad organised taxi's to and from the airport , this is definitly recomended. A truly wonderful few days.

Room Tip: Ask for room Khadeja
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our night in this riad and wished we could have stayed longer. The welcome you receive on arrival with tea and pastries served in a superb courtyard with tortoises wandering around really makes you feel you have made the right choice. The streets outside in the medina are full of life, lots of noise and activity which is great but it is nice to be able to enter such a haven of peace to recover and get ready for your next trip outside to see the fantastic sights which are close by. The souks are on the doorstep and the museum of marrakesh, the medersa, the tanneries and lots of other interesting places are just a walk away.Our room was superb, very spacious and nicely decorated with a comfortable bed and a great shower. The breakfast are great, lots of choice and eaten in the courtyard. We had a meal in the evening and that was excellent as was the local wine (not expensive)The service was excellent and the staff in general were very helpful. The roof terrace has good views and lots of space to sunbathe or chill out with a cold beer. It is not hard to find this riad - get a petit taxi to the Ben Youseff mosque and pick up a guide in the square who will take you and your bags to the riad(although if coming from the airport get a hotel transfer) There were trips to the mountains etc organised and seemed reasonably priced compared to those offered in other riads. All in all, a great place to stay, maybe too comfortable and peaceful as it could be easy to just relax there instead of seeing Marrakesh!

Room Tip: This is a quiet riad so any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chepstow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

This is a charming and very well managed Riad which offers a safe and peaceful haven amongst the confusion and fast pace of the Medina in Marrackech. Very tastefully decorated and adorned with plants and ample leisurely seating where you can enjoy the peaceful setting.

Joel provides excellent suggestions of where to eat and how to make the most of your time in Marrakech in a very friendly but unobstrusive manner. Likewise his staff are attentive without being overbearing. Breakfast was better than we expected and the Tagines were excellent.

Room Tip: Little difficult to locate without a guide!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.