We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in a different world” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dallah

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Dallah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Dallah
107, derb El Cadi | Azbest - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #593 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An oasis in a different world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Patrick the owner was away in Spain selling carpets. We were ably looked after by Monaim and his wife. He arranged a taxi to collect us from the airport. Because Dar Dallah is in the pedestrian (and moped) area of Marrakesh the last part of the journey was on foot with someone taking our cases on an old cart. It was the Volcano Ash period so the previous guests had been unable to leave. Monaim was able to provide additional accommodation next door until they could get a flight out. He also organised for someone to show us around and get our bearings free of charge. I say foc because you will never find anyone except a fellow tourist (or sometimes a local woman) who will show you the way without payment. The going rate seems to be 10 dirhams. Anything less is disdainfully described as "that nothing". If you look the slightest bit lost, even if you don't want to be shown the way you will find yourself surrounded by enthusiastic boys who lead you to wherever you are going and then demand money. The key is to walk slowly, get your bearings and NEVER look lost... although I have to say that is easier said than done. Marrakesh is a never ending rabbit warren which adds to the excitement.
The bedroom was a delight. All rooms have an en suite shower and overlook the courtyard. The huge breakfast was taken on the rooftop. Tea, coffee, fruit, croissants, rolls, toast, marmalade and eggs cooked anyway you like.
There was a mosque at the end of the road. The recording of the Immam calling people to prayer was set to go at 04:10 every morning. To be honest there are many mosques in Marrakesh so wherever you are you will be in earshot of the call which happens several times a day.. The sound spreading across the whole city is one of those moslem memories that you will treasure for life.
Monaim organised a personal taxi for the day to go into the Atlas mountains, supposedly to go where we wanted, but in fact there will always be preplanned stops along the way where you will be descended upon by people selling herbal remedies, jewellery, argon oil. If you don't want to do that you have to be extremely tough with your driver. Having said that we went along with his plan and had a great experience, even having lunch in the mountains with a genuine Berber peasant family.
All in all, once you have acclimatised to the way of life and perfected your bargaining techniques, the whole experience was never to be forgotten, and you could always call upon the services of Monaim to help out. We paid Monaim for everything at the end, even the taxi to and from the hotel and the day out in the Atlas Mountains, but they don't accept credit cards so it had to be in cash, either euros or dirhams. Getting cash was easy from ATMs or currency exchange booths.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
38
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I would not hesitate in recommeding this accomadation to anyone.

The Dar (small Riad) is charming and has been authentically and lovingly restored by the French owner Patrick.
Patrick is a true gentleman who has a passion for arts, photography and morocccan rugs. If you go their he will tell you the facinating story of how he bought and restored the property. Patricks infomation he gives on Marrekesh is extremely valuable he will also give you a map and mark places of interest and where to eat. I went with my wife and Mother in Law! and we were going to hire a guide but rightly Patrick said you do not need one and that they will probablly try and take you to their uncles rug shop etc.. to earn commission.
Patrick can arrange any trips for you at a reasonable price. Drinks are also reasonable in the Dar and bottled water and tea free. The roof terrace was a magical place to relax as the sun goes down. A good breakfast is served either on the terrace or if too cold around a olive wood log fire down stairs. I found all the staff very polite and freindly but spoke mainly French. Patricks English is very good though for us lazy brits.
Want to thank Patrick for such a warm welcome (met us at the taxi at 2 in morning) and good luck with your rug exhabition in Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This was my second trip to Marrakesh and I could hardly wait to be back in the exquisite setting of Dar Dallah. Last here in 2007 I was equally pleased with this short visit. Due to heavy bookings of the Dar I only spent 4 out of my 11 days here but they were wonderful. Patrick the owner of the Dar is a gracious host with particular taste. Travelling solo this was a safe and comforting respite for me. For five days during my trip i attended a photography workshop through AWAI. Patrick exercised great care with the group and arranged special excursians through the contacts he made over the 20 plus years he has lived in Marrakesh. Beautiful and thoughtful decor. Tasty breakfast. Convivial and helpful staff. The only disappointment is Patrick did promise to find me a husband but alas that did not materialise.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

This sparkling, beautiful guethouse is within walking distance of the souks, museums, and the Jemaa El Fna, the city's main square. Breakfast is served family style on the rooftop patio, which offers urban views in the foreground and the Atlas Mountains in the distance. The rooms are clean, comfortable and combine modern styling with traditional touches like arched doors and puffy pillows. Best of all, Patrick, the Dar's owner, is a font of all things Marrakech, and will provide you with information, a map, a route to follow based on your interests, and encouragement to explore on your own this fascinating city.
Tip: Ask Patrick to show you his wonderful collection of photographs of the locals.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

When you travel thru the busy shopping streets, and turn down the narrow alleyway, you only hope it is going to be good & OK. Arrive at the diminished doorway, and enter a surprisingly eclectic, well appointed villa. Patrick the owner-proprietor loves what he does, and he does it well. He knows how to survive, get around, and guide you to through the Medina. Good breakfast on the open rooftop patio, after a long solar heated water shower in the morning. It's a place for a group of friends. The evening got cool, and the staff lit the fire in your room. Sleep with the door open and hear the sounds of the city....way beyond the walls of the safe and secure Dar Dallah...and Patrick will tell you the history of the city in your language of choice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We spent 3 weeks in Morocco in 12 different dars, riads and hotels, and without a doubt Dar Dallah was the best. The accommodations at Dallah are top notch. Patrick, the owner, is incredibly warm and takes all the time in the world to show you his Dar and his city of Marrakech. He is the epitome of a perfect host. The breakfast at Dallah was delicious, always hot water and clean rooms, very hospitable staff - could not give a better recommendation. In addition, the physical space is exquisite - from the courtyard to the rooftop deck, down to the artwork and all the beautiful artifacts that Patrick has collected. If you are going to stay in Marrakech, you must stay at Dar Dallah.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

This is such a beautiful riad and a great find. Patrick, the owner, is so kind and helpful and gave us lots of valuable information on where to visit and places to eat. Nestled in the heart of the medina, the location is great if you are looking for somewhere pretty central but quiet (although it was a little difficult to find at first, but Patrick gave us good directions). It was lovely returning from a busy day in the souks, to the quiet of the riad (and the best mint tea we had in a month in Morocco!) Free internet access is avaliable, and although there is no air conditioning, the riad stays nice and cool, even in the height of summer. I would reccommend this place to anyone... it's perfect!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Dallah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dallah

Address: 107, derb El Cadi | Azbest - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #593 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Dar Dallah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dallah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.