We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After the Chaos of the Medina a Door Opens to Peace and Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dallah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Dar Dallah to your Saves list
Riad Dar Dallah
107, derb El Cadi | Azbest - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #641 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“After the Chaos of the Medina a Door Opens to Peace and Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This was my second trip to Marrakesh and I could hardly wait to be back in the exquisite setting of Dar Dallah. Last here in 2007 I was equally pleased with this short visit. Due to heavy bookings of the Dar I only spent 4 out of my 11 days here but they were wonderful. Patrick the owner of the Dar is a gracious host with particular taste. Travelling solo this was a safe and comforting respite for me. For five days during my trip i attended a photography workshop through AWAI. Patrick exercised great care with the group and arranged special excursians through the contacts he made over the 20 plus years he has lived in Marrakesh. Beautiful and thoughtful decor. Tasty breakfast. Convivial and helpful staff. The only disappointment is Patrick did promise to find me a husband but alas that did not materialise.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
38
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

This sparkling, beautiful guethouse is within walking distance of the souks, museums, and the Jemaa El Fna, the city's main square. Breakfast is served family style on the rooftop patio, which offers urban views in the foreground and the Atlas Mountains in the distance. The rooms are clean, comfortable and combine modern styling with traditional touches like arched doors and puffy pillows. Best of all, Patrick, the Dar's owner, is a font of all things Marrakech, and will provide you with information, a map, a route to follow based on your interests, and encouragement to explore on your own this fascinating city.
Tip: Ask Patrick to show you his wonderful collection of photographs of the locals.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

When you travel thru the busy shopping streets, and turn down the narrow alleyway, you only hope it is going to be good & OK. Arrive at the diminished doorway, and enter a surprisingly eclectic, well appointed villa. Patrick the owner-proprietor loves what he does, and he does it well. He knows how to survive, get around, and guide you to through the Medina. Good breakfast on the open rooftop patio, after a long solar heated water shower in the morning. It's a place for a group of friends. The evening got cool, and the staff lit the fire in your room. Sleep with the door open and hear the sounds of the city....way beyond the walls of the safe and secure Dar Dallah...and Patrick will tell you the history of the city in your language of choice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We spent 3 weeks in Morocco in 12 different dars, riads and hotels, and without a doubt Dar Dallah was the best. The accommodations at Dallah are top notch. Patrick, the owner, is incredibly warm and takes all the time in the world to show you his Dar and his city of Marrakech. He is the epitome of a perfect host. The breakfast at Dallah was delicious, always hot water and clean rooms, very hospitable staff - could not give a better recommendation. In addition, the physical space is exquisite - from the courtyard to the rooftop deck, down to the artwork and all the beautiful artifacts that Patrick has collected. If you are going to stay in Marrakech, you must stay at Dar Dallah.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

This is such a beautiful riad and a great find. Patrick, the owner, is so kind and helpful and gave us lots of valuable information on where to visit and places to eat. Nestled in the heart of the medina, the location is great if you are looking for somewhere pretty central but quiet (although it was a little difficult to find at first, but Patrick gave us good directions). It was lovely returning from a busy day in the souks, to the quiet of the riad (and the best mint tea we had in a month in Morocco!) Free internet access is avaliable, and although there is no air conditioning, the riad stays nice and cool, even in the height of summer. I would reccommend this place to anyone... it's perfect!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Nestled in the labyrinthine alleys near the Djemaa el Fna, this was a truly fantastic venue for my surprise hen weekend, complete with 10 friends between the age of 25 and 35... My bridesmales wanted something a bit classier and more exotic than your average trip to the pub with learner plates, and this was certainly that! The décor is artsy and elegant - the convivial owner Patrick has made it into an enclosed gem, with the expected paradise garden, but with lots of lovely vintage touches and paintings & photos... the roof terrace, running along the edges of the riad, is amazing, with fantastic views of the cat-covered rooftops and the rising and setting sun. Can't recommend this riad enough; even the nitty gritty details - friendly and kind staff, delicious breakfast included, immaculate rooms and beds - stack up... VERY highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Me and my wife stayed in Patrick's Riad for our first stay in Marrakech. We were dropped by our taxi in our small square and were not sure what we were getting into as we wandered down several small alleys. To our relief and delight the Riad was an amazing place and beautifuly decorated in magnificiant detail. Our room was a home from home and very clean and spacious. Breakfast on the terrace is highly recommended.

Patrick is a fantastic host and took a great deal of time to explain the sites of the city to us and was always available to advise or help out in any way he could. Despite the crazy noise in the nearby streets (look out for the motorbikes) this place is always peaceful and tranquil. Best of all it is perfectly positioned in the heart of the city.

The Riad is worth a tour as it has some magnificiant art and decor. We really recommend that you stop here if you are coming to Marrakech. You won't be sorry as its such a nice change from traditional hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Dallah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dallah

Address: 107, derb El Cadi | Azbest - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #641 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Dar Dallah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dallah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.