We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, arty and well placed for wandering around the souks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dallah

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Dallah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Dallah
107, derb El Cadi | Azbest - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #594 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quirky, arty and well placed for wandering around the souks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our second time here and unfortunately we did not get to meet Patrick then or this time as I have read good things about the owner and would have liked to have met him. He has a great eye for detail and I love the way that he has decorated the Riad. Although, if you are someone who loves new things and perfection then I would not suggest that you would like or appreciate the Riad. The decor is so Ethan bohemian, and no that is not a nice way of saying it is shabby or old, it is well thought out and so clever in the detail. I love this place, I want to buy it. The Riad is well located for going to the souks and into guilez but may I suggest that you try out the route in the daytime and make mental notes of things you pass, signs and things that will remain stationary Ito the night as when you walk back from the medina and through the souks at 1am in the morning then it will be a challenge if you haven't planned your route and you are best not to get out a map!
The breakfast is lovely and served on the roof terrace, the beds are comfy and the showers lovely. The log fire was great in the evening. The only criticism was that I got very little sleep due to some very inconsiderate Spanish people who were shouting and laughing in the communal lounge until 4:30am! Really inconsiderate! I am not going to allow this to cloud my judgement or my review rating though. I can't believe that the staff at the Riad were so nice and accommodating to serve them all breakfast on the roof terrace at gone midday, once they had all rose from there heavy sleep!!! Now that shows how dedicated the staff are here as I would have told them breakfast was over. Do stay here, its worth the cost and a try.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
38
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We can definitely recommend staying at Dar Dallah, a lovely and friendly riad with charming rooms. Patrick, the owner gives you perfect tips on what to do and where to eat to give your stay in Marrakech a genuine Moroccan good feeling. The staff did everything to make you feel at home and at the same time very luxuries, for example the great breakfast on the terrace in the sun and the lit fire in you room when you got home after a day in the busy Medina.
Lottie and Lennart

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendborg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Dar Dallah is a very nice, clean and comfortable riad with tastefully decorated rooms and surroundings - including the terrace at the top, where you can relax in the sun or enjoy the very good breakfast served every morning.
The location is close to perfect - close to the souk's and the Jemaa El Fna-square, the Museum of Marrakech and the Ben Haddou Corane School just to name a few 'must's of Marrakech.
The host and personel at the riad are very pleasant and eager to hand out all kinds of advice and information about the city and it's sights.
Transport from the airport to the riad and back is possible which can be very practical.
The riad has separate bathsrooms in the rooms a shared toilet which is a small minus.
We've already recommended the Riad Dar Dallah to friends in Denmark and will do so again.
Annette and Søren from Denmark.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I highly recommend Dar Dallah if you are looking for an adventure with a great home base. I arrived in Marrakech with very little idea of what I should see or do and Patrick the owner opened up the city to me. Arriving in the middle of the Souke was a little confusing at first but made for an amazing adventure into actual life in Marrakech instead of a classic hotel life. Be sure to have his driver pick you up at the airport. Patrick recommended numorous great things to do while in the city and arranged a trip out of the city as well. The house is an amazing oasis with great funishing and an amazing staff. Breakfast on the roof every morning was an amazing bonus with a nice view and a great setting. The only drawback if there is one is that you might get lost finding your way home but thats where the adventure begins!
All in all, a great place to stay if you want to really get into the heart of the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Have just stayed here and it was amazing. Patrick who runs the Riad is the most helpful man and the area is beautiful. Use his driver Karim as it is near impossible to get close if you get your own taxi from the airport as we did, however at the nearby square he came and met us and walked our bags to the hotel by cart anyway. Rooftop balcony is beautiful and the walk through the souk to the main square, only 8min is lovely. Definately recommend to any friend to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011 via mobile

Just lovely - first time in marrakech and would definitely return. We preordered tagine on our first night and the setting and cooking was so good we did the same on our second night. Monaim could not have been more helpful and although our stay was brief we were made to feel at home and thoroughly spoilt at the same time. Hopefully we will get the chance to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

I've visited many places globally, on a local level, but I've never visited Medina, Marrakech before until last month.

You can read lonely planet, you can google Medina, you can base your preparation on scenes watched from movies (Sex and the City), however, you haven't lived and breathed Marrakech, till you've booked your stay at the Riad Dar Dallah.

I'm not going to take any credit here for choosing Marrakech as our short luxury getaway destination hobo style, nor finding Riad Dar Dallah, nor meeting the impeccable host and owner Patrick De Maillard who is responsible for creating this affordable haven for those with not only exquisite taste for adventure, but also catering creature comforts. I owe that to my boyfriend, who has all of that, plus a keen eye for style. This was his chosen destination for his birthday. Talk about breath taking Moroccan decor, wood burning fireplaces, rooftop breakfasts overseeing the city, aromatic teas, pancakes and the loveliest staff to help you settle in to this new culture with ease.

Can I even consider using the word "proximity," when I present the distance of this hideaway from Djemaa El Fna square? The best answer is Location location location - this place is in the heart of the buz,z the local colour and smells, the hustle and bustle from the people of the square, however, Riad Dar Dallah is stategically nestled peacefully within the life of this city, allowing guests to also enjoy a great nights rest.

Immersing in with the locals is one of my key elements of adventure. In the absence of this, you could very well be in any globally placed, all catered holiday. Patrick organised an array of visits for us, from a unique visit to walk in the Atlas mountains energised by a private cous cous feast prepared by a local family, to a Berbere Eco museum and back around closer home, to some exclusive photo galleries. Patrick also organised a special birthday celebration dining exerience for my bf at the Riad Dar Dallah, which was wonderful.

Riad Dar Dallah service, the suite we stayed in, the decor, the dining, the detail, the location, the hospitality and Mr. de Maillard made our visit to Marrakech a memorable one which comes highly recommended to anyone who is planning a trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Dallah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dallah

Address: 107, derb El Cadi | Azbest - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #594 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Dar Dallah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dallah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.