We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dallah

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Dallah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HostelBookers.com
Riad Dar Dallah
107, derb El Cadi | Azbest - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #536 of 1,032 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Have just stayed here and it was amazing. Patrick who runs the Riad is the most helpful man and the area is beautiful. Use his driver Karim as it is near impossible to get close if you get your own taxi from the airport as we did, however at the nearby square he came and met us and walked our bags to the hotel by cart anyway. Rooftop balcony is beautiful and the walk through the souk to the main square, only 8min is lovely. Definately recommend to any friend to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
38
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011 via mobile

Just lovely - first time in marrakech and would definitely return. We preordered tagine on our first night and the setting and cooking was so good we did the same on our second night. Monaim could not have been more helpful and although our stay was brief we were made to feel at home and thoroughly spoilt at the same time. Hopefully we will get the chance to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

I've visited many places globally, on a local level, but I've never visited Medina, Marrakech before until last month.

You can read lonely planet, you can google Medina, you can base your preparation on scenes watched from movies (Sex and the City), however, you haven't lived and breathed Marrakech, till you've booked your stay at the Riad Dar Dallah.

I'm not going to take any credit here for choosing Marrakech as our short luxury getaway destination hobo style, nor finding Riad Dar Dallah, nor meeting the impeccable host and owner Patrick De Maillard who is responsible for creating this affordable haven for those with not only exquisite taste for adventure, but also catering creature comforts. I owe that to my boyfriend, who has all of that, plus a keen eye for style. This was his chosen destination for his birthday. Talk about breath taking Moroccan decor, wood burning fireplaces, rooftop breakfasts overseeing the city, aromatic teas, pancakes and the loveliest staff to help you settle in to this new culture with ease.

Can I even consider using the word "proximity," when I present the distance of this hideaway from Djemaa El Fna square? The best answer is Location location location - this place is in the heart of the buz,z the local colour and smells, the hustle and bustle from the people of the square, however, Riad Dar Dallah is stategically nestled peacefully within the life of this city, allowing guests to also enjoy a great nights rest.

Immersing in with the locals is one of my key elements of adventure. In the absence of this, you could very well be in any globally placed, all catered holiday. Patrick organised an array of visits for us, from a unique visit to walk in the Atlas mountains energised by a private cous cous feast prepared by a local family, to a Berbere Eco museum and back around closer home, to some exclusive photo galleries. Patrick also organised a special birthday celebration dining exerience for my bf at the Riad Dar Dallah, which was wonderful.

Riad Dar Dallah service, the suite we stayed in, the decor, the dining, the detail, the location, the hospitality and Mr. de Maillard made our visit to Marrakech a memorable one which comes highly recommended to anyone who is planning a trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stylish and elegant riad with excellent breakfast on the terrace. Patrick was charming and took great care with his directions, recommendations and instructions. This enabled us to access the area with maximum enjoyment in a brief visit. No air conditioning in our bedroom which in very high temperatures could be a problem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

After picked up by the taxi and walking through the souks, our first impression of Marrakech was overwelming. But then we got to a frontdoor and Patrick says: "Welcome in my house, which is now for 6 days your house".
Dar Dallah is a place where you can relax after visiting the attractions of Marrakech or walking through the Souks. Great rooms, with excellent service for all visitors, good and fresh breakfast every morning. We never forget our experience here! Thanks for our great honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Patrick the owner was away in Spain selling carpets. We were ably looked after by Monaim and his wife. He arranged a taxi to collect us from the airport. Because Dar Dallah is in the pedestrian (and moped) area of Marrakesh the last part of the journey was on foot with someone taking our cases on an old cart. It was the Volcano Ash period so the previous guests had been unable to leave. Monaim was able to provide additional accommodation next door until they could get a flight out. He also organised for someone to show us around and get our bearings free of charge. I say foc because you will never find anyone except a fellow tourist (or sometimes a local woman) who will show you the way without payment. The going rate seems to be 10 dirhams. Anything less is disdainfully described as "that nothing". If you look the slightest bit lost, even if you don't want to be shown the way you will find yourself surrounded by enthusiastic boys who lead you to wherever you are going and then demand money. The key is to walk slowly, get your bearings and NEVER look lost... although I have to say that is easier said than done. Marrakesh is a never ending rabbit warren which adds to the excitement.
The bedroom was a delight. All rooms have an en suite shower and overlook the courtyard. The huge breakfast was taken on the rooftop. Tea, coffee, fruit, croissants, rolls, toast, marmalade and eggs cooked anyway you like.
There was a mosque at the end of the road. The recording of the Immam calling people to prayer was set to go at 04:10 every morning. To be honest there are many mosques in Marrakesh so wherever you are you will be in earshot of the call which happens several times a day.. The sound spreading across the whole city is one of those moslem memories that you will treasure for life.
Monaim organised a personal taxi for the day to go into the Atlas mountains, supposedly to go where we wanted, but in fact there will always be preplanned stops along the way where you will be descended upon by people selling herbal remedies, jewellery, argon oil. If you don't want to do that you have to be extremely tough with your driver. Having said that we went along with his plan and had a great experience, even having lunch in the mountains with a genuine Berber peasant family.
All in all, once you have acclimatised to the way of life and perfected your bargaining techniques, the whole experience was never to be forgotten, and you could always call upon the services of Monaim to help out. We paid Monaim for everything at the end, even the taxi to and from the hotel and the day out in the Atlas Mountains, but they don't accept credit cards so it had to be in cash, either euros or dirhams. Getting cash was easy from ATMs or currency exchange booths.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I would not hesitate in recommeding this accomadation to anyone.

The Dar (small Riad) is charming and has been authentically and lovingly restored by the French owner Patrick.
Patrick is a true gentleman who has a passion for arts, photography and morocccan rugs. If you go their he will tell you the facinating story of how he bought and restored the property. Patricks infomation he gives on Marrekesh is extremely valuable he will also give you a map and mark places of interest and where to eat. I went with my wife and Mother in Law! and we were going to hire a guide but rightly Patrick said you do not need one and that they will probablly try and take you to their uncles rug shop etc.. to earn commission.
Patrick can arrange any trips for you at a reasonable price. Drinks are also reasonable in the Dar and bottled water and tea free. The roof terrace was a magical place to relax as the sun goes down. A good breakfast is served either on the terrace or if too cold around a olive wood log fire down stairs. I found all the staff very polite and freindly but spoke mainly French. Patricks English is very good though for us lazy brits.
Want to thank Patrick for such a warm welcome (met us at the taxi at 2 in morning) and good luck with your rug exhabition in Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Dallah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dallah

Address: 107, derb El Cadi | Azbest - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #536 of 1,032 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Dar Dallah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Dallah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.