We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Auggy

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Auggy
129, Derb Snane | Mouassine - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 179 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

When we arrived we stayed at the Meridian for a couple of days to unwind (really lovely hotel) and then went to Rabat. On our return to Marrakech Michel had offered to book us a taxi from the train station for roughly £10, we originally agreed but changed our minds once we realised how overpriced it was - we ended up getting a taxi for 40 dirhams (just over £3). The rooms were clean (only saw two cockroaches) and the beds were reasonably comfortable but we both had trouble sleeping. Food at the Riad had to be booked in advance so we ate in the main square, the food was excellent and I'd highly reccommend the two stalls at the farthest end from the Riad. When we left we asked Michel to book a taxi for us to the airport, he told us we had to pay 100 dirhams to the driver and he would pay the man with the cart (the Riad is down narrow alleyways so the driver waits at the nearest road) but the driver insisted we pay the man with the cart on top of the taxi fare - this seemed as though it could easily be a regular scam? I emailed Michel to let him know what had happened and suggested he stopped using that driver - I did not get a reply. In my opinion it was overpriced at 80€ a night, the Meridian was cheaper than the Riad! I would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

My wife and I visited this riad on several times during April 2011. The owners visited us every morning and were exceptionally nice and helpful as were the other staff. A very welcoming group overall who certainly added to the pleasant holiday. They were also all eager to help in any way they could when we had different requests. The pictures of the riad are a bit misleading but the riad itself is very nice, clean, and the rooms are very nice. The air conditioning worked well too which was great since it was very warm when we visited. It is very close to the main square which is convenient even though trips out of the old town area were a nice break. Overall, I would definitely recommend the riad especially for the wonderful owners and staff. They were great, funny, and very kind.

Room Tip: All the rooms were equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Our Riad Auggy stay was perfect in every way. Michel and Anne-Marie had arranged an airport pick-up for us and the taxi took us to the Medina gate nearest the riad and from there our bags were taken by a hand cart through the cobbled streets. We were greeted with a warm welcome and mint tea and shown around the beautifully restored building. We stayed in room 1, on the ground floor just off the courtyard, which was lovely. Michel showed us the other rooms too and all of them are very impressive. Michel and Anne-Marie don't live in the riad, but one of them was there each morning and Abdul, Rita and Soumia looked after us perfectly. Huge breakfasts are served on the roof terrace and the peaceful lantern-lit courtyard awaited us on our return from the souks! This was our first riad experience but we can't see how it could have been better. Highly recommended! Jonny & Samera, London.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Seriously great Riad - clean, great location, very helpful owners, good value, plunge pool, very chilled courtyard and nice roof terrace, good breakfasts, close to ..el Fna square and souks. Stop searching any further and book this one, you won't regret it. We ate a meal in the Riad too and that was a nice way to spend the last evening (lemon chicken tagine).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Found this Riad via ilovemarrakech.com but booked directly with the Riad on the phone. Nothing was too much trouble from the moment I first contacted the owners Anne-Marie and Michel.
They arranged a local taxi to collect from airport ( I believe each Riad may have one or two trusted taxi drivers affiliated to their Riad ) which costs around £10, from the moment we stepped foot into this beautiful Oasis in the hot hot dusty city our every need was catered for.
The location could not be better only 10 minute walk from Place Jemaa El Fna ( the main square), right on the edge of the vast Souks, and within a short taxi ride of everything else, thogh it was alot more fun walking across the city to the places of inerest. The staff are very friendly, breakfast very filling, fresh and served impeccably either in the cool court yard or on the sun terrace.
The live in Manager was very knowledgable and advised us on local restaurants, and helped arranged for their affiliated taxi to be our personal driver into the Orika Valley and the foothills of the Atlas Mountains- a day well worth the early start and a bargain at only £50.
The lack of opportunity to buy alcohol throughout the Medina was a disappointment but we found that at the end of each evening a bottle of wine or two bought at the Riad and drank on the roof top terrace helped us un-wind from the hussle and bussle of Place Jemaa El Fna.
The street food served in the main square was fantastic and very cheap, but the stall owners may talk you into having the selection of fish which is by far the most expensive item. I was surprised to find that the visitors to the square at night seemed to be mainly locals and tourists seemed not so obvious which all added to the sense of adventure.
Other sights we visited were:
Jardin Majorelle ( £2 in taxi and £3 entry) which was very pretty and relaxing.
The Souks where a map is virtually useless and be prepared to haggle (we bought a cedar wood salad serving set which starrted off at £16 and was bought for £2),
Palais Badi and Tombeax Saadiens ( very cheap entry 25 min walk )
The Tanneries which was extremely smelly, hardly any tourists (free entry but the local "guide" will expect a couple of pounds for his troubles)
Madersa Ben Youssef - an old redundant Islamis College which was very interesting ( £7 entry and couple of pounds for an un-official guide).
Jardin Menera - don't bother very ugly and tatty basically an olive grove around a very dirty smelly resevoir.
A guide book is a must. we found the AA one very good.
Locals will spot you a mile off and attach themselves to you as an impromptu guide and will expect paying.
the Atlas mountains are well worth a visit - a full day in your own personal taxi and driver was £50 and with added bous of his own personal knowledge.

I have to say after a packed few days it was the Riad Auggy and it;s staff that made our stay as good as it was.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

This really was a great find. The Riad is just as it looks on the website and the owners are very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the service was excellent.
Transport to and from the airport was arranged and they even arranged our visit to the coast and the mountains.
The Riad is just a short 10 minute walk from the main square.
The rooms were clean and well decorated and towels were changed every day.
All in all a great experience!!

  • Liked — Quality, Hospitality, Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

My husband and I just returned from 3 nights in Riad Auggy. What a find. Our son actually found this riad as a present for us and we couldn't have found anything better ourselves. A great position just far enough from the square to make it an interesting walk. The owners Ann-Maria and Michel were there to answer any of our questions and made our stay very pleasant. The room we had was very Morrocan chic, not over the top but very clean and comfortable. We took breakfast on the terrace upstairs. A word of warning to anyone tall - bend your head before going up the stairs!!! I would not hesitate in recommending this riad and I certainly hope to go again. Why stay outside the Medina in an anonymous hotel when you can stay somewhere with such character.

  • Liked — Completely different to anywhere I had been before
  • Disliked — Pillows were too hard for me but I should have asked for a smaller one. My fault
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Auggy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Auggy

Address: 129, Derb Snane | Mouassine - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 179 Specialty lodging in Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Auggy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Auggy to your Saves list