We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamkast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamkast
Save Saved
You added Tamkast to your Saves list
10 Derb Sidi Bou Amar | Zaouiat Lahdar, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #874 of 1,064 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2007

A friend and I stayed at this place early January - it was absolutely devine. The staff were fantastic, very helpful, friendly and informative. We stayed on the bottom floor and had our own private terrace which was a little chilly in January but would be wonderful in the warmer months. The bathroom was huge, rather like our own private hamman. The roof terrace was gorgeous and a sun trap - we had breakfast there every morning and then lazed on the lounge chairs reading until midday - even in January we picked up a good tan. The riad is in the old town but an easy walk to the souks which we found enchanting - we had no problems walking back in the evenings. I would definitely recommend this riad especially at this price its a real find.

  • Liked — Friendly informative staff, roof terrace, huge bathroom, cosy bedroom,being in old town & close to souks
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

This lovely Riad is a serene haven a million miles away from the bustling souks (though actually only a couple of minutes walk!). We had our own tiled courtyard, bathroom and rooftop terrace as well as a shared balcony area. The Riad has been beautifully restored and has an air of total tranquility and luxury.
The Staff were all pleasant and friendly. We were greeted with mint tea and Moroccan biscuits and, for the two nights we were there, absolutely nothing was too much trouble. We had a delicious meal at the Riad on the first night and, for our last night, they recommended a fantastic restaurant.
I would definately want to stay here again - just need an excuse to return to Marrakech!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

After a disastrous week in Barcelona staying in an apartment that smelt like sewerage, we were apprehensive, particularly because Tamkast is so reasonably priced. We arrived at midnight and it was like something from a dream, a beautiful, spacious place with a courtyard, private balcony and roof. As there were 5 of us we had the whole first floor to ourselves. While the staff are very discreet they are extremely helpful. Tamkast is in the middle of the medina and next to the souk. Getting cabs to anywhere else is a bit difficult, even the small taxis have trouble in the tiny streets.

Highly recommended especially for families

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

Tamkast is a beautiful little riad in the northern end of the Medina. The owner is lovely and greeted us with mint tea and pastries our own private courtyard while talking us through a map of Marrakech and explaining how to find the place (which is a little tricky). He was also happy to arrange bus tickets for us and give recommendations for restaurants and nights out.

The riad is exactly as beautiful as the website suggests. It also serves food and alcohol (relatively cheaply) and the lovely staff are only too happy to take your breakfast tray up to the roof terrace. The only downside is that it does not have air conditioning which would be useful in the summer. Best of all it was only 55 euros a night which was a real bargain - it was the cheapest of the three riads we stayed in and also the nicest!

  • Liked — The building, location, beauty, staff
  • Disliked — Lack of air con
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamkast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamkast

Address: 10 Derb Sidi Bou Amar | Zaouiat Lahdar, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #874 of 1,064 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamkast is a familial guest-house located in the center of the medina of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tamkast Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamkast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.