We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a tranquil haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamkast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamkast
Save
You added Tamkast to your Saves list
10 Derb Sidi Bou Amar | Zaouiat Lahdar, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #888 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“a tranquil haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

This small and secluded riad lived up to all the reviews. I was travelling with a female friend so we were given the twin room on the ground floor, the room itself was small but it came complete with its own courtyard, set out for lounging when the weather permitted, and a huge bathroom. The riad was cleanly decorated to accomodate european tastes, but still had all the touches of traditional morrocan riad and our hosts were very friendly and helpful, though I would suggest brushing up on your French as this is sometimes better understood than English. Breakfast on the roof is a lovely experience and the mint tea is delicious! I would definitely stay here again if I go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed at this place for one night in October. We found the staff very accomadating and friendly and the riad was very beautiful.
The only advice I would suggest is that you get someone who knows where it is to lead you because it was quite tricky and we got lost many times. It was about 10 minutes from the place however it could take waaaaaay longer if you didn't know where you were going (which we didn't most of the time).
This riad was more traditional than others we stayed at. For this reason we appreciated it all the more.
The best part was waking up in the morning for the calls to prayer because it is so close to the Ben Youssef mosque.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

After doing quite a bit of research on riads in Marrakesh (and being on a bit of a budget) I chose Tamkast due to all the great reviews.

After an "exhilarating" taxi from the airport with an understanding of why no cars there have wing mirrors we arrived at what looked like a donkey depot! Being led through dusty dark alleyways and thinking what I had got myself into we arrived at a small door.

This opened to another universe! We were greeted warmly and shown around this beautiful riad. It had been immaculately kept, cleaned and presented. The roof terrace was wonderful and our room was delightful. The silence inside the riad was amazing, despite the pandemonium going on outside!

We were the only guests in the riad at the time so had the run of the place to ourselves. We were left in peace but hunting out one of the staff was never an issue and they could not do enough for you.

Breakfast (on the terrace) was super and mint tea upon your return from exploring was always available.

The riad is a little out the way and maps are next to useless here, so I may have found it difficult to find my way home had I not been with someone with excellent navigational skills but getting lost here is half the fun. It is away from the touristy parts (another bonus) and getting back late you do seem to be the only visitors around but I generally felt safe and had no issues.

Tamkast - one of my top places!

  • Liked — Tranquility and style of the riad
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2007

A friend and I stayed at this place early January - it was absolutely devine. The staff were fantastic, very helpful, friendly and informative. We stayed on the bottom floor and had our own private terrace which was a little chilly in January but would be wonderful in the warmer months. The bathroom was huge, rather like our own private hamman. The roof terrace was gorgeous and a sun trap - we had breakfast there every morning and then lazed on the lounge chairs reading until midday - even in January we picked up a good tan. The riad is in the old town but an easy walk to the souks which we found enchanting - we had no problems walking back in the evenings. I would definitely recommend this riad especially at this price its a real find.

  • Liked — Friendly informative staff, roof terrace, huge bathroom, cosy bedroom,being in old town & close to souks
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

This lovely Riad is a serene haven a million miles away from the bustling souks (though actually only a couple of minutes walk!). We had our own tiled courtyard, bathroom and rooftop terrace as well as a shared balcony area. The Riad has been beautifully restored and has an air of total tranquility and luxury.
The Staff were all pleasant and friendly. We were greeted with mint tea and Moroccan biscuits and, for the two nights we were there, absolutely nothing was too much trouble. We had a delicious meal at the Riad on the first night and, for our last night, they recommended a fantastic restaurant.
I would definately want to stay here again - just need an excuse to return to Marrakech!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

After a disastrous week in Barcelona staying in an apartment that smelt like sewerage, we were apprehensive, particularly because Tamkast is so reasonably priced. We arrived at midnight and it was like something from a dream, a beautiful, spacious place with a courtyard, private balcony and roof. As there were 5 of us we had the whole first floor to ourselves. While the staff are very discreet they are extremely helpful. Tamkast is in the middle of the medina and next to the souk. Getting cabs to anywhere else is a bit difficult, even the small taxis have trouble in the tiny streets.

Highly recommended especially for families

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

Tamkast is a beautiful little riad in the northern end of the Medina. The owner is lovely and greeted us with mint tea and pastries our own private courtyard while talking us through a map of Marrakech and explaining how to find the place (which is a little tricky). He was also happy to arrange bus tickets for us and give recommendations for restaurants and nights out.

The riad is exactly as beautiful as the website suggests. It also serves food and alcohol (relatively cheaply) and the lovely staff are only too happy to take your breakfast tray up to the roof terrace. The only downside is that it does not have air conditioning which would be useful in the summer. Best of all it was only 55 euros a night which was a real bargain - it was the cheapest of the three riads we stayed in and also the nicest!

  • Liked — The building, location, beauty, staff
  • Disliked — Lack of air con
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamkast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamkast

Address: 10 Derb Sidi Bou Amar | Zaouiat Lahdar, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #888 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamkast is a familial guest-house located in the center of the medina of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tamkast Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamkast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.