We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful and tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Sebban

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palais Sebban to your Saves list
Palais Sebban
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Ranked #180 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunningly beautiful and tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We (husband, wife and 2 teenage boys then aged 13 and 16) stayed here for 3 nights in the summer of 2013, and found it to be the most beautiful place we have ever stayed in, and an oasis of calm after the 'full on' experience that is Marrakesh. I know this review is being written 12 months after we stayed but I want to put on record that we had a wonderful time here and experienced none of the problems other reviews have mentioned, specifically regarding staff or food. When we stayed it was the middle of Ramadan but all the staff were never anything other than 100% helpful or courteous. We didn't dine here, preferring to explore the restaurants of the Medina, but the breakfasts were good and we never had any problems with service.

Would we stay here again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Can't remember the names of our rooms but they were sumptuous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    67
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
44
154
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Palais Sebban is a magnificent Riad which dates back to the 19th century. Of the several places my wife and I stayed during our journey through Morocco, Palais Sebban edged out the other Riads/Kasbahs as our favorite.

Palais Sebban is located in the old Medina of Marrakech and is a short walk to the Jemaa el Fna, the Koutoubia Mosque, a variety of souks and ATMs/banks. A few turns beyond the Bab Laksour leads to the entrance to Palais Sebban. The reception and sitting areas are very comfortable and well appointed with gorgeous mosaic tile work, vintage Moroccan lanterns and plenty of seating for guests.

The sitting area leads to the open courtyard which includes the restaurant and a pool. Rooms are located throughout the property. Our room, Telouet, was on the third level facing the courtyard. This was a great location which afforded our room lots of sun. Our room also included a terrace with seating and an umbrella. Since our room faced the courtyard, we were able to access the wifi signal which did not reach the interior guest rooms.

The rooms are all unique, but all have pottery, metal work and wall art decorating the rooms. Our room had an abundance of storage and was very clean. As with all but one of the places we stayed in Morocco, washcloths were not provided. There were plenty of toiletries provided as well as hand towels and bath towels. Note that there are no televisions in the rooms---not something that we missed with all of the live entertainment available 5 minutes away at the Jemaa el Fna!

Our first night in Marrakech, we had an excellent dinner at Palais Sebban. We started with a plate of cooked vegetables which included carrots and eggplant along with Moroccan bread. The entree was an incredibly delicious fish tagine. For dessert we were served a light orange pastilla which was outstanding. As with all of my meals in Morocco, I capped my meal with a glass of mint tea.

The staff at Palais Sebban are outstanding. To a person they were friendly and accommodating in assisting with our questions and requests. In addition to the great staff, Palais Sebban has a special "mascot"; an adorable cat who has the run of the house.

As much as we loved all of our accommodations in Morocco, Palais Sebban was very special and a Riad we certainly hope to return to one day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are sunny and have private terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stunning riad beautiful mosaics beautiful terraces. Lovely friendly, helpful staff. A lovely hotel to escape the madness of the city. Breakfasts lovely. Also had a wonderful evening meal here too. Would love to return!

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I loved this beautiful, quiet riad in the heart of Marrakech. It's a beautiful, tranquil place to escape to when the craziness of the city gets too much (and trust me, you'll want to escape), and when the summer heat is unbearable. The decor throughout the riad, on the courtyards and around the pool area is amazing. The entrance to the riad is quite unassuming, but once you're inside it's just so peaceful and calm. Our room was functional, quite big, but maybe a little dark - with hindsight I might have paid more for a room with a view of the pool area. Breakfast was plentiful and full of local specialities - everything is baked on the premises. If I could fault anything, it'd be the check in process when arriving late at night...the receptionist was friendly but seemed a little overwhelmed, especially when another couple with lots of bags were checking in at the same time.

You can walk from the riad to Jemaa el-Fna in about five minutes, where there are loads of restaurants, cafes, and of course the souks. Marrakech is easy enough to get around on foot if you're reasonably fit - we really loved the Marrakech museum, the Medersa Ben Youssef (don't miss this), as well as the palaces near Bab Aganou and the Saadian Tombs. We also ventured to Gueliz and the Jardins Marjorelles - worth a visit but try and avoid the crowds. I would really recommend hiring a local guide, if even just for a day. Try to get to Essaouria if you can - there are reasonably priced buses running every day and it's a lovely coastal town with a laid-back vibe. Loved Morocco and will return!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a window facing outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCoast
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a lovely spot, in the center of the medina and within easy walking distance of the main square and shopping in the souks. Once we got our bearings, we were quite comfortable on foot. This riad has several wonderful, internal courtyards, including one with a small pool. Our room was “compact” but very pleasant – with short door to bathroom. Just watch your head. (Room name was “Mamounia.”) We did eat dinner here one night, and the food was delicious and service fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A beautiful place with incredible decor. A very short walk from the main market and the souk.
Each of the rooms are individually decorated in their own particular style.
I would not hesitate to go there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Shower didn't work and room was damp and musty smelling. I had a hammam which is an exfoliation massage. I was told it would be 40 to45 minutes long. My massage was 25 minutes long. When I complained the lady was apologetic and told me she would see what she could do. She said then said she was sorry but there was nothing she could do since it is only when you have two people at the same time then it is 45 minutes. Other places we stayed the service was amazing. The gardens here are beautiful but there are plenty of wonderful riads. Save your money and stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Sebban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sebban

Address: 43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#72 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#109 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#133 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Sebban 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner and former king in Sebban give his name to his beautiful Palace that has been care fully ma intained by his family for over a centery.In 2006 and efter 4 years of renovationand restoration, it became a Moroccan Andalusian architecture jewel. (Zellige,Marbre,carved plaster ,Berber carved wooden, ceilings and original ceilings (Glaoui period),Marbled fontaine ....Everything in this palace of a thousand and one night makes you dreaming and soak up the Oriental culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palais Sebban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Sebban Marrakech
Palais Sebban Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Sebban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.