We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Sebban

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Sebban to your Saves list
Palais Sebban
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €25 on select meals
Ranked #142 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We loved the traditional decor but noise & disruption from builders during our stay and irritating loud looped music drove us out of the pool and terrace. Food covers would've been a good tool to keep the flies off the breakfasts, which consisted mainly of breads, fruit, eggs and occasionally yoghurt.
The roof terraces were peaceful, romantic and quiet, the cries to come for prayer from the Mosques were both engaging and reassuringly rhythmic..lovely, calming, exotic.
Fantastic central location for exploring. We walked everywhere.
Rooms gorgeous, clean and comfortable beds. Again romantic!
Staff generally pleasant and helpful although I can't recommend an expensive, painful manicure & pedicure in the ill equipped, dirty, amateur Hammam. (she made me bleed!) and the varnish peeled off in 3 days!
Food in restuarant ok on the day it was originally cooked, but a re order from an unchanging menu 3 nights later felt "re heated" & not very well. No side dishes for expensive main course were given. Not permitted to bring any food or drink from outside the Riad makes subsistence pricey as all is hugely marked up!
Gorgeous smell of spicey orange in the Riad and overall we enjoyed our experience and would return (when building work is completed).

Room Tip: They're all gorgeous. We had the least expensive and it was still beautiful. There are lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    91
    22
    11
    6
See reviews for
52
190
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KINGSTON Upon HULL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here in september for our honeymoon, we were allocated the Berbere Room and it was breath taking. We had our own private garden with waterfall feature which was a great little place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the medina.

It is ideally located 5 mins walk from jemna el fna the main square and the souks.

The staff where great and always extremely helpful, the hotel had free wifi and the food was lovely.

I would certainly recommend the massage and spa treatments at a very reasonable cost.

Overall this was a great place to stay, very quirky which is what we like and the inside is beautiful.

Would 100% recommend you stay here if you visit marrakesh!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights break in this beautiful old Riad. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. It is a real haven and only a short 10 minute walk away from the madness of the centre. Mint tea served in the traditional way on arrival really set the scene for us. A beautiful pool / patio area. Candles and lanterns were lit at night. Free Wifi was available, (although not in all rooms.) Rather than staying in a modern hotel, the Palais Sabban really added to an authentic feel of life in Marrakech. A very atmospheric experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This place is truly stunning and feels absolutely authentic; it really is jaw droppingly beautiful. However one gets the impression that the owners are relying on the building's beauty too much and are forgetting about everything else. Our stay would have been even better if the pool on the roof was usable; It was half full with the electric light fitting floating in the water, still attached to the mains! No warning signs, not cordonned off but clearly unusable. When we asked the surly receptionist if it was under repair and when would be able to use it we simply got the standard shoulder shrug. The food was appalling. We ate in twice and it was bland and tasteless and the service was the worst I have ever experienced, anywhere (I've had better in the local restaurants in Gambia!!) To be fair it wasn't entirely the poor waiter's fault, he was always on his own & just couldn't cope. The breakfast in a a road side cafe would be better than the basic offering (covered in flies) that was served up here. The beds were uncomfortable and both my husband and I ended up with aching backs. I would still recommend the place as it ias a tourist attractin in itself, you just need to be prepared to accept the poor management and service. The staff seem to be extremely overworked and try to be as helpful as possible (apart from the receptionist, a rude and unhelpful French girl) so you can't blame them and feel you can't complain as it's not their fault.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maylis A, Responsable commercial at Palais Sebban, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your visit to our palace.
As you have reported all the staff is very involved to make your holiday run as smoothly as possible.
you criticize the fact that we don t maintain the jewels yet every day you could even people s bustling its maintenance.
you criticize the pool is not yet open to the public, we are actually doing the test.
It is clear that the staff of the reception you have said that the place was not open n not understand your insistence to know when traveaux completed.
and unfortunately you have reached their patience;
it is a pity that the food you did not like it.
it is unfortunate that we have failed no satisfy you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This beautiful riad is a welcome escape from the hustle and bustle of the souks and main square in Marrakech, the helpful and friendly staff make you feel instantly welcome with mint tea and Moroccan pastries and an abundance of indoor and outdoor chill out areas, including the stunning courtyard, pool and roof terrace. It is situated down a typical alley (derb) which is well lit at night, it is not accessible for cars. The bedroom was clean, comfortable and quiet, and the shower was great too. We ate breakfast at the riad every day and particularly enjoyed the freshly squeezed orange juice each morning. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this as a great place to stay for location, atmosphere and fantastic service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The first thing that strikes you when arriving at the Palais Sebban is the sheer beauty of the place. It's beautiful reception area leads onto a breathtaking courtyard complex with the most amazing architecture and plants. The room we stayed in was fairly small, but very comfortable. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you.
We ate breakfast at the hotel every day.... An extremely tasty array of different breads and pancakes, yoghurt, fruit salads and honey. The restaurant had a small but very tasty menu and comes highly recommended. The only thing to bear in mind is that all the food is freshly cooked to order, so waiting times are a little longer than you might expect (but when it comes the food is very good!).
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this delightful riad to anyone. I for one would definitely stay here again. The one piece of advice I would give is to arrange a transfer from the airport to the hotel before travelling.... It's not the easiest place to find, but when you do, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursledon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Upon entering the old walled city, you walk through a windy alley, and I must admit, 'Blurghhh, where have I come to' goes through your mind. That is until you enter the thick wooden door of Palais Sebban.... Oh..My..God! What an enchanting and beautiful place. The first thing that hits you is the perfume that permeates throughout the building. The intricate and ornate craftsmanship of the décor is simply outstanding. Our suite was beautiful and perfectly appointed. There is a small courtyard with trailing Azaleas surrounding a plunge pool, and steps that lead up to a roof terrace - which is private and secluded, and perfect for a spot of sunbathing.
We had breakfast there, which was quite limited, but certainly enough to start off the day.

Making your way to the main square, is a little confusing to start with - there are a myriad of alleyways, but follow the crowd and you won't go far wrong.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Sebban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sebban

Address: 43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#115 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Sebban 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner and former king in Sebban give his name to his beautiful Palace that has been care fully ma intained by his family for over a centery.In 2006 and efter 4 years of renovationand restoration, it became a Moroccan Andalusian architecture jewel. (Zellige,Marbre,carved plaster ,Berber carved wooden, ceilings and original ceilings (Glaoui period),Marbled fontaine ....Everything in this palace of a thousand and one night makes you dreaming and soak up the Oriental culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Palais Sebban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Sebban Marrakech
Palais Sebban Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Sebban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.