We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad in the heart of Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Sebban

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Sebban to your Saves list
Palais Sebban
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #176 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad in the heart of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. It is an amazing place.

Excellent location for exploring the city. Staying here, you get a true feel for the culture of Morocco.

Only 5 minutes walk away from the main square. Do not be put off by the winding alleys you have to negotiate on the approach to the Riad. You soon get used to them!

We ate here on our first evening, and although the menu appeared limited, the food was excellent.

We were upgraded on arrival to the Mogador Suite which was lovely.

The buffet breakfast was very good.

The pool and surrounding area are lovely, and it was great to return to use these after a day out around the hectic city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    75
    20
    11
    6
See reviews for
43
162
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This Riad is a beautiful oasis of tranquility in the the centre of Marrakech. The location is a few minutes away from the main square, yet inside the building is stunning. Our rooms were huge and decorated very traditionally. Downsides were the initial impression given by its location down a back alley and a less-than-friendly receptionist. However, these were soon surpassed by the amazing Riad and all the other staff couldn't do too much to help. Breakfast and the small pool were good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. The staff were mostly very friendly apart from one of the receptionists who wasn't. Luckily the Director of the company was staying and she couldn't have been more helpful when we wanted a late checkout which British Airways had said we had. The Dades room was spacious and the bathroom adequate. I was horrified to find a cockroach about 2 inches long under the hairdryer on the first evening and never really relaxed after that. The breakfast was OK but a bit of variation would have been good. Nisham the waiter was lovely and extremely helpful. We wanted lunch but there was only one menu which was extremely poor if you were eating there in the evening as well. The first day the chef made us a sandwich of tomato, cheese and egg with chips but refused to do so on any of the other days saying that he had his menu and would only stick to that. They really need to consider a lighter offering for lunch as it is hard to eat a huge meal at lunchtime in that heat. We ended up eating a plate of chips and a boiled egg. There are only so many tagines you can eat in four days! Lovely terrace to sit on in the evening which was very relaxing after visiting the horrendous Medina Square!!
The spa is the worst one I have ever seen abroad with one person available. I had a massage and had to lie on the same towel as the man that went in before me with wet trunks. They should really change the towels for each person. It didn't smell nice and there was no relaxing music.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We transferred to our new accommodation after the previous two nights in another Riad which was included in our tour. Thought we'd left and moved into the palace! The room was large with a good sized bathroom and separate changing area. The best breakfast we'd had in fourteen days! The staff were friendly and helpful. Good location close to the square. Luxurious surroundings, lots of areas to sit in, pool included.

Room Tip: We stayed in "kountabia" room-not sure if spelt correctly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights at the end of a tour of Morocco. The room was fabulous, the staff were all so friendly and the best breakfast we had the whole trip. Easy to get to The Square. We transferred from another riad and the hotel sent a porter to guide us to the location and carry the bags.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Palais Sabban and what can I say?
Our room was tiny with an in-room shower and sink plus a cublicle toilet, which was very annoying as we were two women traveling together and we each wanted privacy. They at least split the double bed into two twins! Wish they had told us when we booked.
The biggest shame: the NASTIEST receptionist who first said that as two women we couldn't go out to the suq alone and needed a hotel provided guide (NOT SO!) and then at check-out straight out accused me of trying to duck out of a bill as I was attempting to pay it! If that's the welcoming person, she should be hid behind the scenes somewhere. Never again! We needed the French manager to straighten that out.
We tried to book a 'hammam', but were told the person who worked in that was ill. Just one person? Too bad.
Finally, finding it was a real challenge - a guide was needed which in Marrakech means another handout.
Wait staff was alright, food average.
The upside is that the public areas of the Palais are gorgeous and quiet. Wish they heated the 'pool', which is really 'a dip after a hike' pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had the most wonderful trip to Marakech which was made perfect by our stay at Palais Sebban. We arrived late on a Friday evening and stood open-mouthed at the beauty of the place - if you want wow-factor you cant go wrong. It is truly Morrocan with very pleasant and amenable staff who although don't rush with servie, help you to unwind and take thigs at a slower pace. The atmosphere was fantastic, a limited menu but the one night we ate here it was good, the room extremely comfortable and there were lots of special touches - especially in the evening when lots of little candles and lamps are lit throughout the Rhad giving it such a magical beauty I could have sat for hours just soaking it up!

Room Tip: We chose a superior room to get the double bed although we noticed one on the other side which had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Sebban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sebban

Address: 43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#70 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Sebban 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner and former king in Sebban give his name to his beautiful Palace that has been care fully ma intained by his family for over a centery.In 2006 and efter 4 years of renovationand restoration, it became a Moroccan Andalusian architecture jewel. (Zellige,Marbre,carved plaster ,Berber carved wooden, ceilings and original ceilings (Glaoui period),Marbled fontaine ....Everything in this palace of a thousand and one night makes you dreaming and soak up the Oriental culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palais Sebban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Sebban Marrakech
Palais Sebban Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Sebban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.