We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Sebban

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Sebban to your Saves list
Palais Sebban
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #144 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Having visited Palais Sebban for the 2nd time in October. After visiting with my mom in October 2011 we'd had such a fantastic time and decided to return.
The Riad can arrange a private transfer from the airport, which I would recommend especially if you are arriving at night in the dark, but this year we were quoted one price for the transfer and charged another price (more) so just be careful.
The riad is ideally located as it is just a 5 min walk to the main square in one direction and the souks in the other directoin and most of that walk is done on a well lite main road, where as some raids are located far down the smaller alley in the middle of the medina but this wasn't it was right by the edge of the medina near the city walls and wasn't too far down one alley. As we were 2 ladies on our own and a little nervous about the whole experience of the dark alleys the first year, we found this raid to be in such a good location.
The riad is just so quiet and idilic and it's mad when you step out of the main door the buzz of the city hits you.
Each time we have stayed we have had lovely rooms, both deluxe which means you get a room with more space. This year we were in one of the suites on the roof which was great as there were 3 of us, so we had a double bedroom and a large sitting room with 2 sofa beds in it, the only down side was it was a little noisy in the night with the call to prayer.
Breakfast and dinner are served in the courtyard which again so quiet and tranquil in such a buzzing and noisy city. We only ate dinner in the riad on the first night as it was a bit late to be out finding places to eat, but please do not stay in every night as there are some amazing places to try.
The Raid is very clean and well looked after. The staff are very friendly and happy to help you. There is an amazing smell throughout the riad as they have many oil burners going.
This year we tried the Hammam as there was a special offer on and it cost about £10 per person, its definatley an interesting experience and one worth trying.
Both myself and my mom were nervous the first time we visited Marrakech but having loved it the first year we were keen to go back this year. There are some amazing bars and restarants to try and so much to see and do we found ourselves out all day and hardly used the facilities within the riad.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra and getting a deluze room and if possible get a room in the main bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    99
    23
    13
    7
See reviews for
63
207
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I visited Marrakesh for the first time at the beginning of November with my friend for a girly few days chill and the Palais was exactly the type of stay we had in our mind. It is a beautiful traditional Riad filled with antiques, mosaics and tranquil spaces. So serene and peaceful - everywhere you turned there was a photo opportunity. Our room was probably one of the smaller ones but it was still quite beautiful and very quiet. Position is perfect for the souks, shopping and getting about and we had no problem being two women alone in a Muslim country contrary to much advice! We only ate at the hotel once and it was just OK I think there are much better places, especially MK Spa which is just around the corner and should not be missed it was fabulous!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Working in the travel industry, I have stayed in many places, good and bad but this was by far the absolute worst. My room was a small, damp bunker in the back of the hotel. It was 30 degrees warmer then the rest of the hotel, the AC didn't work and a terrible smell pervaded the whole place. The drain in the shower didn't work and the whole, I mean whole entire room flooded when I tried to shower. But this could all be overlooked if the bed hadn't been infested with bugs.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maylis A, Responsable commercial at Palais Sebban, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
hello,

Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about your stay.
I'm surprised you were not talking about your first coming when everything was perfect off the bedroom floor and you specifically asked for a room on the ground floor. We realize that these rooms were decorated in less you want and c is why we have given two rooms instead of one twin as you had booked and paid for.
Unfortunately you stayed at our worst week of weather and indeed the rain fall not stop. I phoned reception to let me know that you have discovered a bug on the bed, I beg you once again we escuser, it is understandable that you find animals africa delighted to bring to the shelter of the rain and rooms downstairs are not ideal to guard against this. This does not really being a lack of hygienne but rather a misfortune to bad weather. I remain surprised that someone tefois amateuse of trekking in the wilderness not only tolerates the intrusion of a funny bug.
We are currently working on this problem we experienced during exceptionnelllement these storms rare but real.Please kindly escuser and please trust us with your next stay to make you forget the inconvenience.
in anticipation of your visit, I remain at your disposal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Last minute decision to holiday in Marrakech, very apprehensive regarding accommodation and service, both were superb.
We were there for just 4 days but would be happy to stay longer.
Great location and very comfortable Riad with great (but limited) food.

Room Tip: How would I know ? I only had one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have to be honest, Marrakesh wasn't for me. I won't let that detract from this lovely Riad and the wonderful staff who work there. If you want to sit round a pool this isn't the hotel for you in my opinion. However, if you want to visit old town and do the Souks this is the best place. The hotel is stunning and the staff are wonderful. Was a bit unsure why they had no beef or lamb while we were there, but the food was good. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Palais Sebban early September and had a fantastic time.

We arrived late at night, which was a little bit daunting as the Palais is down a few winding roads where the transfer driver can't take you. But someone did meet us and guide us to the hotel.

We were upgraded free of charge to the Menzeh Suite which was absolutely incredible and had its own private roof terrace.

The food in the Riad is excellent. It is more expensive than outside the hotel but the quality is far superior. We also ate out at Pepe Nero and Gastro MK. The Riad is on par with these restaurants and a little cheaper. At the end of the day, its £10 for a main meal at most restaurants in the UK and the food is not half as fresh or tasty as what we ate at the Palais Sebban. You have to try the Tangia Marrakech! So delicious! It needs to be ordered with 24 hours notice.

The staff are fantastic. So friendly! Not all of them speak a lot of English but if you know a bit of French you will be fine.

The Riad is located close to the souks and the main square. However is is so quiet and tranquil inside, you totally forget about all the madness going on outside.

To top it all off it is totally stunning and I can't recommend it enough. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

After having read some of the more negative reports I have to say that I disagree with all of them. This riyadh lived up to more than expectations. It was a peaceful and tranquil place to stay, tucked away only less than 5 minutes walk from the hustle, bustle and madness of the main square in the old city and after only one trip out, is easily found again. The staff were friendly, attentive, always available and our trip started with a very polite and helpful gentleman packing our bags onto a cart to guide us down the alleyway and into the main entrance. Breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit, yogurt, pancakes, cake, bread, meats, eggs, tomatoes and more and as much as you could eat. Our room Telouet was gorgeous, more traditional style than regal with beautiful painted wardrobes and an amazing tiled wet room style shower having a balcony over the arches so we overlooked the garden and pool area. It was always beautifully cleaned, tidied and made up every day. Having sneaked a look at some of the other rooms I can say that each room was different, beautifully decorated and and an amazing feat of restoration. Stunning is the only word to describe staying here and every time I walked back through the door it took my breath away. The pool was wonderful and large enough for a dip to wash off the heat of the city and souks. Laying on the sunbeds under the arches reminded me of scenes from Indiana Jones! I spent an hour or two just walking round taking photos because you just could not describe the beauty of the place to anyone coherently. At night by candlelight the bar/restaurant/garden/pool area was just so beautiful and the staff were always eager to make sure that you had everything you wanted - even after the kitchen had closed. We never heard "noisy staff" in the mornings and in fact we slept so well in the comfortable bed that we did not even hear the call to prayer at 5am! I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone coming to Marrakesh and would definitely stay here again if I returned.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were beautiful but Telouet was quiet and had the added benefit of the balcony i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#173 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Riad Monceau
Le Riad Monceau
#334 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#104 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#61 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#86 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#164 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Sebban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sebban

Address: 43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#108 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Sebban 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner and former king in Sebban give his name to his beautiful Palace that has been care fully ma intained by his family for over a centery.In 2006 and efter 4 years of renovationand restoration, it became a Moroccan Andalusian architecture jewel. (Zellige,Marbre,carved plaster ,Berber carved wooden, ceilings and original ceilings (Glaoui period),Marbled fontaine ....Everything in this palace of a thousand and one night makes you dreaming and soak up the Oriental culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Palais Sebban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Sebban Marrakech
Palais Sebban Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Sebban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.