We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Sebban

Save Saved
You added Palais Sebban to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palais Sebban
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
West Midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Palais Sebban early September and had a fantastic time.

We arrived late at night, which was a little bit daunting as the Palais is down a few winding roads where the transfer driver can't take you. But someone did meet us and guide us to the hotel.

We were upgraded free of charge to the Menzeh Suite which was absolutely incredible and had its own private roof terrace.

The food in the Riad is excellent. It is more expensive than outside the hotel but the quality is far superior. We also ate out at Pepe Nero and Gastro MK. The Riad is on par with these restaurants and a little cheaper. At the end of the day, its £10 for a main meal at most restaurants in the UK and the food is not half as fresh or tasty as what we ate at the Palais Sebban. You have to try the Tangia Marrakech! So delicious! It needs to be ordered with 24 hours notice.

The staff are fantastic. So friendly! Not all of them speak a lot of English but if you know a bit of French you will be fine.

The Riad is located close to the souks and the main square. However is is so quiet and tranquil inside, you totally forget about all the madness going on outside.

To top it all off it is totally stunning and I can't recommend it enough. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    64
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
42
150
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

After having read some of the more negative reports I have to say that I disagree with all of them. This riyadh lived up to more than expectations. It was a peaceful and tranquil place to stay, tucked away only less than 5 minutes walk from the hustle, bustle and madness of the main square in the old city and after only one trip out, is easily found again. The staff were friendly, attentive, always available and our trip started with a very polite and helpful gentleman packing our bags onto a cart to guide us down the alleyway and into the main entrance. Breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit, yogurt, pancakes, cake, bread, meats, eggs, tomatoes and more and as much as you could eat. Our room Telouet was gorgeous, more traditional style than regal with beautiful painted wardrobes and an amazing tiled wet room style shower having a balcony over the arches so we overlooked the garden and pool area. It was always beautifully cleaned, tidied and made up every day. Having sneaked a look at some of the other rooms I can say that each room was different, beautifully decorated and and an amazing feat of restoration. Stunning is the only word to describe staying here and every time I walked back through the door it took my breath away. The pool was wonderful and large enough for a dip to wash off the heat of the city and souks. Laying on the sunbeds under the arches reminded me of scenes from Indiana Jones! I spent an hour or two just walking round taking photos because you just could not describe the beauty of the place to anyone coherently. At night by candlelight the bar/restaurant/garden/pool area was just so beautiful and the staff were always eager to make sure that you had everything you wanted - even after the kitchen had closed. We never heard "noisy staff" in the mornings and in fact we slept so well in the comfortable bed that we did not even hear the call to prayer at 5am! I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone coming to Marrakesh and would definitely stay here again if I returned.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were beautiful but Telouet was quiet and had the added benefit of the balcony i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Me and my friend have just arrived home from our stay at Palais Sebban, we stayed for 4 nights and I have a lot of positive things to say about my stay;

The riad really is absolutely stunning and the pool area is a lovely and quiet place to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech

The staff were extremely polite, helpful, attentive and friendly, they really made our stay special and made us feel extremely welcome from the moment we arrived. I really would suggest that if you don't speak any French that you make an effort to learn some basics before you go as it is really appreciated! Our room was kept very tidy and clean by the maids every day, the air conditioning was very efficient and quiet and we heard absolutely no noise at night.

It is in a good location and only a short walk from the square so it doesn't take long to find your bearings!

Thank you Palais Sebban!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We arrived quite late, so after checking in, we left our luggage in our rooms and went down for dinner. 10 minutes later, I returned to the room to collect something I had forgotten only to find the porter in the room. When questioned, he claimed that he was looking for a cat. We found that very bizarre !!
It is veryyyy expensive and the food is average. It is a very pretty place but nothing else is good about it. The breakfast is very poor and when you ask for more juice then they want to charge you extra. I have not come across any 5* hotel in the world when they do this.
There is no air-contiditoning anywhere except in the bedrooms and the pool is the size of a jacuzzi .
I would not come here again. Not worth the money.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maylis A, Responsable commercial at Palais Sebban, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
hello,
we thank you for taking the time for giving your opinion.
I find it a shame that you do not garlicky m talking about the story of a cat, it would be nice to know what it was like the person who told you that.
Once your luggage is filed, the client retrieves the keys and therefore we can not rerentrer in the room, except the maid the next day under the responsibility dde governess
for the price of the restaurant prays vary from 60 to 180 drinks from 20 to 180 also, if I Donnier your travel dates, we could understand why it does not like you and so correct.
for the pool you have noticed during your stay as we contruisons second.
it's really unfortunate that you do not hate it m talking during your stay and we sincerely regret having been n satisfy you.
Remaining at your disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A calm and tranquil retreat from the bustling medina-this riad is superb.The staff were all lovely-especially the man who met us outside the medina and carried our cases there. We were upgraded to a suite with a private terrace-our sons had a standard room which was also great. The best thing was the roof terraces-great views and comfy sofas and chairs dotted about to provide privacy. Small pool but deep and cool-in a beautiful position with amazing tiles (actually-amazing tiles throughout!) on the ground floor courtyard.
Food was served here-had breakfast and one dinner-v good with helpful staff.
This felt like staying in a friends (very very) smart house-highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maylis A, Responsable commercial at Palais Sebban, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
hello,
we thank you for taking the time to put your Chill on our Palace. It is important for us to meet and are happy to help you relax.
We commended the gacon you waited, you appreciate your attentions.Nous remain at your disposal, and we wish you a good life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Riad itself is beautiful and a very comfortable place to stay. It is very well located and the pool and terrace are excellent. We had a wonderful stay. However, on returning home, I found that a number of valuable items had been taken from my bag whilst it was left with the reception staff on the last morning. I was extremely disappointed that this had happened and hope the staff will address this.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maylis A, Responsable commercial at Palais Sebban, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hello,
you have booked a standard room and you had an upgrade in prestige.
You stayed with us until Friday, August 10.
Rooms are assigned to clients from 14h to 12h.
You stayed with us until Friday, August 10 and all is well spent.
You have left the hotel at 11:30, you could have left your luggage in your room, if you go down the reception it remains your responsibility as it is displayed in the lobby.
You called to report two hours later that you forgot on the terrace or poolside a scarf that we have indeed found in the pool with a book that we wish you the second time you were talking about a scarf, a book and 200 pounds, the third time after 1/2 hour you were talking about a lack of headscarf and cosmetics.
The fourth call on Aug 12, around 18:30 hours (local) you called to demand the absence of a scarf (that you forgot at the pool) in cosmetic products, a shirt, and a book.
Finally, today you're saying that you noticed the lack of make-up once we arrived home.
Finally today, you are missing a necklace so important that you set for four days you notice his absence.
I am surprised that your list grows relentlessly.
The Palais Sebban is a serious enterprise with a dedicated staff, it is incomprehensible that an employee can put games in the loss of its use for the object of no interest to them.
We never them this kind of claim, please kindly send us your instructions to get your scarf and your book. We are sincerely sorry that you can believe that we could come to your abused.
there are very important to us that you believe in our honesty, the whole team is old and serious, and was really shocked that you may have suspicions about their honesty.
We hope you eventually find your items, at least here only your scarf and your book unsupported by quequ'un but forgotten by you is at your disposal.
Professionnaly dedicated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The staff here are the friendliest and most helpful I have ever come across. As soon as my boyfriend and I arrived we were given five star service. We were meant to be in the Mogador suite but we were actually upgraded to the jaw-dropping Berbere suite which has its own large private terrace. Not that you would need it as the roof top terrace is very large, stunning and almost always secluded. I was celebrating my 21st birthday at the Hotel and the management organised a special dinner for my boyfriend and I on the highest part of the roof terrace. They scattered flowers up the stairs and lit candles everywhere and even carried a sound system up so we could have music playing! We were made food off the menu which was completely delicious. Our main course was actually a dish made only at moroccan weddings! I would recommend having a few meals at the hotel, the food was the best we had tasted in Morocco and also get one of the lovely massages. The management was helpful in every single possible way they could. They went beyond themselves to give us a great experience. Thank you Palais Sebban! Hopefully see you soon.

Room Tip: Berbere suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Sebban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sebban

Address: 43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#82 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#129 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#155 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Sebban 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner and former king in Sebban give his name to his beautiful Palace that has been care fully ma intained by his family for over a centery.In 2006 and efter 4 years of renovationand restoration, it became a Moroccan Andalusian architecture jewel. (Zellige,Marbre,carved plaster ,Berber carved wooden, ceilings and original ceilings (Glaoui period),Marbled fontaine ....Everything in this palace of a thousand and one night makes you dreaming and soak up the Oriental culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Palais Sebban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Sebban Marrakech
Palais Sebban Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Sebban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.