We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay to discover Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aubrac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Aubrac to your Saves list
Riad Aubrac
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Derb Ben Allal | Ben Salah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #269 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay to discover Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed for two nights in Riad Aubrac Oriental (the second Riad operated by the Riad Aubrac owners and situated nearby) for two nights and had a great experience.
This Riad is very well located in the heart of the Medina, approximately 10 minutes walking from the central square and on walking distance from most of the monuments. A pick up by staff from a meeting point can be arranged at first arrival which is highly recommended. Once you know the location it is however easy to find back the Riad.
It is an amazingly quiet place to stay. No noice at all from the busy medina streets. The nicely decorated central atrium with open roof (where breakfast and dinner are served) makes it a special and very attractive environment. One would not expect to find this "palace" style after an entrance door at the end of a narrow street but this is Marrakech ...
Rooms are comfortable and clean and correspond to the description on the website.
Staff is very friendly and helpfull but the main reception is at the other Riad.
Meals are of good quality but should be ordered in advance (something went wrong with the reservation of our first dinner but as an alternative they guided us to a good restaurant and offered us a bottle of wine). A lot of services (eg . hamman, airport transfer, assistance for reserving a city guide .....) are available but not cheap.
It is certainly a place I would recommend for anyone liking to stay in the medina for visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: Look at the website - the rooms are well described.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    68
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
227
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here in September having taken advantage of a great special offer for that month. Everyone here is so friendly and helpful. A working knowledge of French is recommended but we got away with the bits we remembered from school! Room was comfortable and spotless. 5 minutes away from Jemaa El Fna once you know the way! We got horrendously lost on the first day but lovely Abdul from the riad popped up out of nowhere and guided us on our way. The food here is amazing, breakfasts so tasty and filling we did not need lunch, and we ate our best meals in Marrakech here. The local beer they serve here, Flag, is very tasty. We also went to Riad Oriental for massage and hammam and it was fantastic. The riad is laid out beautifully with lots of little comfortable snug areas you can hang out at in the evening. Highly recommended, my only regret is that I didn't stay for longer.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Loved everything about the Riad Aubrac,I can't think of a negative thing to say about it.

The location is great, near to everything and yet far enough away from the madness of the square. The rooms are spacious and air conditioned which is a must when it is so very hot outside.

Breakfast on the terrace is amazing and yoghurt to die for.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at Riad Aubrac Oriental in the Jaquaranda room for four nights and it was by far the best place we stayed in Morocco. The riad is centrally located and you're right in the hustle and bustle when you step out. The riad it's self is a tranquil retreat from the crowds and heat. The riad is decorated lovely and the smell of incense drifting throughout was great. The room itself was large with a quirky bathroom. There was a roof terrace for relaxing with a dipping pool which was great for cooling off. The breakfast was pancakes, yoghurt, bread and jams and freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee - delicious! We also ate in the riad on the final night, we had the lamb and prune tagine and the meal was amazing - I would highly reccomend it!

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again when we return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Very nice Riad, tastefully decorated, in a quite location in the best part of old Medina, close to the main square. Breakfast on the terrace, nice view.
Excellent services. Annie would do anything to help, she even gave me some medicine for my stomach (be careful of what you eat in Djemaa el fna square...).
All in all highly recommended.

Πολύ προσεγμένο ριάντ, μικρό, καθαρό, ήσυχο, διώροφο με εσωτερική αυλή και ταράτσα, κιόσκι, πολύ χαλαρωτική ατμόσφαιρα, άρωμα ανατολής. Η ιδιοκτήτρια εξυπηρετικότατη, το προσωπικό ευγενέστατο.
Έχει δύο ανεξάρτητα κτίσματα, εγώ έμεινα στο πιο σύγχρονο. Πρώτη φορά είναι λίγο δύσκολο να το βρεις, όπως και οτιδήποτε στη μεδίνα, ειδικά χωρίς χάρτη, καλύτερα να κανονίσεις να σε παραλάβουν αυτοί.
Πολύ ευχαριστημένος, το συνιστώ ανεπιφύλακτα.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Why Riad Aubrac(Oriental)? It was a honeymoon present and a well chosen choice. Riad Aubrac had many good reviews and the location was great.
Location: We couldn't stop rattling on about how central Riad Aubrac was in the Medina The Room: We stayed in the Olivier Suite which had superb storage space, facilities, decor and a much needed controlled A/C for the 40c heat. The room was very clean when we arrived and was cleaned everyday by an amazing staff member Hafida. Every time we would leave the beautiful smell of amber incense would welcome us back to our suite. Food: Food was MARVELLOUS!! I would highly recommend the Lamb Cous Cous Royale (250dh ) which is for two and is a feast for ~£18. We were offered a Morrocan Gris wine on the house which worked a treat. :)
Services: 5*...We had an amazing hammam and massage and a private tour to the atlas mountains. The staff went out of their way to get us the best!!

Room Tip: The Olivier Suite is one of the largest room in the Riad Aubrac (Oriental) its stylish and really qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Fantastic Location. 5 Min walk to jemaa el fna. Very welcoming and knowledgeable staff. Great Value. Great breakfasts and dinner if you choose to eat at the hotel. Would recommend you arrange airport transfer through the hotel as a new visitor would find it very hard to find. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aubrac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aubrac

Address: 29 Derb Ben Allal | Ben Salah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Aubrac 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Riad Aubrac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aubrac Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aubrac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.