We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad des Droles

Save Saved
You added Riad des Droles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad des Droles
Derb dabachi, Derb Jdid No23 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed 6 nights with our 6 yo and our stay was perfect, we were immediately made to feel at home. Our room was easilly large enough to have an extra bed and the en-suit beautiful. The Riad its self is small (3-4 rooms) but for us this was perfect. The roof terrace was always a favourite first thing in the morning watching the town wake up with the Atlas mountains in the back ground.

The Riad des Droles is well placed to explore Marrakech. Muriel and Didier were fantastic hosts and Ibtissam and Simo made sure that any of our questions or requirements happened. The breakfast prepared by Ibtissam seemed to get better every morning, a fantastic start to the day. The Riad is quite as is the surrounding streets.

A great place to stay. I would recommend that your take up the offer to be collected at the airport.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    23
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
60
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ijmuiden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I travel round the world, I stay 6 nights at Riad, close to famous Djema el Place, Souks 5 min walking distance.Room are clean, Ibtissam have make delicious Tajine and Simo was very helpfull to organising car rental with driver to go to Ait Benhaddou. I can recommend to book transfer from airport to Riad. Every thing is perfect organise. What you pay, what you got.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The room was tiny! Had to step on the bed to get in to it or to put something on the windowsill shelf!

It was also damp and cold though we were promised a heater by email one was not available until the second night after we'd frozen for a night.

The wardrobe shelves and coat hangers were covered in a blanket of dust so had to clean them with a wet wipe first!

The sheets smelled as though they hadn't been changed and were a skin crawling shade of grey but not sure they were supposed to be that colour.

If you arrive at night with the porter you won't see a thing as it's dark! In the daylight the Derb is littered and muddy.

The coffee was great and the rest of breakfast was Ok but the pancakes were frozen and reheated. The breakfast table was too big for the space and all had to stand to let people through to sit for their meal.

The bath mat looked as though it had been used before with what looked like a noodle stuck to it.

The free bar of soap was wonderful and so were the Moroccan staff.

This French owned Riad needs to polish up its act tres vite!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This Riad is located very close to the famouse Djema el Fnaa in Marrakesh. In a walking distance of about 6 minutes walk. The street is small but at night not always completely calm (people hanging arround during night). The Riad itself is quite nice and relaxing. The service is friendly. We liked very much to relax on the roof terrasse during the hot hours in the afternoon. Breakfast with home made crèpes, orange juice and jam was nice. The rooms are simple but lovely decorated. If the Riad is full, the guests are very close to each other because of all windows and doors going to the small joint patio. So don't expect too much privacy! Finally the cost/performance ratio is great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Found this Riad through other fantastic reviews on the trip advisor site. Located very close (2 min walk) to the main square. We were well looked after by Ibtissam and Simo who were always on hand to offer help and advice.

A lovely place of calm to come back to after a day exploring the city.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again and cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012 via mobile

The highlight of our stay in Marakesh was the Riad. Ibtissam, our hostess, fixed us a traditional dish for dinner all 4 nights of our stay, and they were delicious! Great breakfasts, Comfortable beds and well situated.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Riad des drôles was just perfect for our first visit to Marrakech.
It's only 2 minutes away from the town center ( Jamal Fna ), and you still have peace when you need it ( i did... )

Ibtissam and Simo welcomed us with a smile and ( the best ), mint tea! And they even took the time to take us around town for a quick and helpful introduction.

We had a gorgeous breakfast every morning with fresh orange, pancakes and yogurt with nuts.. Made each day start just that bit better.

Our room ( the red one ), cozy, comfortable and ( most importante for me...) very clean with beautiful decration.

The only bad thing i can say is that it was raining and a little bit cold ( quite normal in January, not much we can do about that...), so i couldn't use the terrace as much as i wanted...

I've told all my friends about your Riad des Drôles and i'm sure we will be back :)

Kind regards from Tavira, Portugal.

Emma & Edson

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad des Droles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad des Droles

Address: Derb dabachi, Derb Jdid No23 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the medina, 3 minutes from the Jemaa el Fna square , you will find in this riad converted into guest rooms (2 suites and 2 bedrooms charming and cocoon) any traditional ambience of the Red Town. Ibtissam, our housekeeper, will take care of you during your dream holiday. On the beautiful panoramic terrace, you can enjoy the moroccan sun and the view over the rooftops of Marrakech. We will advise you to make an enchanting stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad des Droles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad des Droles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.