We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Taylor

Save Saved
You added Riad Taylor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Taylor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Taht sour sghir -Zahouia Abbassia | Sidi Ghanem - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #393 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful atmosphere and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

The Riad has a wonderful atmosphere. The relatively large rooms are tastefully decorated. The small court yard and the roof top are great places to stay. The service from the two attendants could nor have been better. They took us on foot to remote corners of the medina, served us food late at night and breakfast on the roof top.
Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    3
    5
    8
See reviews for
6
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

I have just re-read what this hotel offers and apart from the flat screen tv, with non-working satellite, it is a different hotel than the one I've just spent a week at! This is not a five star anything, apart from disaster area. The food is terrible, the hamman does not exist, the pool is a puddle and the owner is one of the rudest, most arrogant peolple that I've ever met. We were also stung for "a holiday tax" as we left, £40!
Having arranged a trip through them, we were told over breakfast out trip would involve the scenic route, viewing the airport whilst we dropped other guests off, for which they were being charged. When we refused 'Basil' threw a wobbler and stormed off waving his arms at us as he left. An odd odd place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Hotel is very difficult to find in a maze of unfriendly back alleys and narrow streets. Does not feel safe at night - alleys and streets leading up to Riad poorly lit.
Hotel is supposed to be 5 Star - don't make me laugh.
Getting weary by end of holiday of local youths asking for money to show the way to Riad.
Marrakech is an amazing place to visit - but choose somewhere else to stay instead.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rtmarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Taylor, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Google Translation
Monsieur en réponse a votre commentaire
A Marrakech la médina est constitue d'une dedale de ruelles, il faut le savoir, il n'y a eu aucune agressivite envers les touristes, les eclairages sont partout pareil ,on vous conseil de prendre un chauffeur la nuit lorsque l'on rentre tard, mais ce n'est pas une obligation .
il faut savoir que les taxis ne sont pas tres fairplay ,et quand aux enfants qui vous demande de l'argent pour vous accompagner au riad ,cela existe dans tous les pays !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

We had one meal there which was vastly overpriced and not very pleasant, far better quality and value is to be had from the market stalls in the main square at a quarter of the price. The riad arranged an English speaking guide which was good but we had to endure 3 visits to shops with an agreement with the riad for a hard sell. Be firm at the outset that you are not interested in buying carpets and save yourself a lot of grief. Also dont say you want lunch as you are taken to yet another place that the guides obviously have a deal with, for yet more vastly overpriced chicken tangines. My booking clearly stated room only and we only had breakfast once but was charged at the end nonetheless. I was told 'it is always free and included', there is a tourist charge added and a credit card commission of about 5%. Do not book the driving tour with the riad as you can get this for a quarter of the price from an agency in the centre. Also, if you like to have a drink bring it with you unless you enjoy getting charged £5 for a very small beer, wine and spirits can only be afforded by royalty. The riad also seemed to have a particular liking for playing Celine Dion music day and night which by day 6 felt like torture.

PS: Th e riad taylor is very very very very far from the center of the city, and it's difficult to come back at night (no light in these area)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Rude and unhelpful staff that are soley there to squeeze as much money out of you as possible! They pushed and pushed us to book one of their organised trips. We had already arranged trips for ourselves through tripadvisor contacts before hand so politely declined and we got an hour long speech about how we knew nothing about how things work in Marrakech and would be very dissapointed if we refused their trips - a very pushy sell for having just arrived, exhausted, at the Riad!! Their trips were also hugely over priced, in fact, ten times what we had found ourselves.

The trips we organised ourselves were the big successes of the holiday - pre-book the Supratours 55dh coach to Essouira rather than pay Riad Taylor 2200dh (yes 2200, no typo) for a driver. We finally asked them for one thing - a taxi to a club, which is in their brochure - when we arrived the club was closed (it was a Tuesday, I still don't know why though - everything else was open, as were other clubs and bars) and we waited 45 minutes to be picked up again! We were charged 350dh (getting a marked "petit taxi" cab ourselves, the same distance cost 20dh) and it then turned out the woman at the Riad knew the club would be closed and she laughed when we told her we were angry about it!!

We also booked a tour and quad biking through companies given good reviews on this site (Maroc Expe Quad biking - the couple speak almost no English but didn't matter they seemed patiently to understand by terrible French and were so very friendly and the trip was brilliant!). We saved a huge amount doing it ourselves and I wouldn't trust Riad Taylor not to mess it up.

One last insult - on check-out they tried to charge us for the mint tea they give you as a welcome drink. We were completely shocked - they greet you, sit you down, give you tea and then try the big sell for their trips. We assumed this tea was complimentary as a welcome but they tried to charge 200dh (£17) for a cup of mint tea. We point blank refused and eventually they backed down.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rtmarrakech, Owner at Riad Taylor, responded to this review, September 17, 2009
In response to your comment on tripadvisor, here attached the comments you've left in the guestbook of the Riad " Amazing roof terrace and courtyard. Particularly enjoyed the one day trip
around the city with the driver, Very attentive and
freindly staff."
In response to your various reviews that I don’t accept, the Riad Taylor offers services and high-end trips, we provide you a complet information and prices and you're the only judge to accept or not, There is no forcing from the staff.
Also I am surprised of your comment, the club in question we have not advised it & it was closed because it is Ramadan and the distance from the Pacha club to the riad at 2 o'clock in the morning don’t cost 20 dhs.
In the delivery of Essaouira 2200 dhs does not include just a transfer Go & Back with the driver but more other benefit that you have not specified (perhaps by a lack of listening during the reception)
Regarding your famous insult I will not accept it because you have not been charged 200 dhs and I don’t know what you talking about!!
A mint tea outside the one of the welcome with the Moroccan pastries is charged 20 dhs (£ 1.56) & not 200 dhs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sardegna
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

There I found relief and relax, smiling faces, warm welcoming and everybody took care about me! I'm very impressed and I suggest you to discover the riad Taylor.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

I had already read the Tripadvisor reviews before going to the Riad Taylor so I already knew that the area surrounding the Riad was a bit rough and a bit 'undesirable'. However, it was still a bit shocking when I saw it for myself!

Upon leaving the airport and driving to the Riad, you immediately see the difference in your surroundings the more closer you get to the Riad. I also think that the fact we arrived at night time, in the dark, made it a bit more intimidating. It was relief to finally get to the Riad...once you step inside it is like you're in another world! This is a truly beautiful place to stay. It's like an oasis in the middle of madness. It's romantic and sumptuous, relaxing and picturesque and even better, the staff do everything in their power to make sure you have everything you need.

We stayed in 'Sultan' one of five rooms at the Riad. It was spacious, had a table, chairs, cable TV, a mini-bar, a beautiful bathroom (a rose on the sink and petals by the bath) and an inviting bedroom (the bed was made up so prettily you almost don't want to disturb it). Breakfast was served in the sunshine on the roof terrace and it just felt unreal! We all found it surreal to be eating pancakes, bread, yoghurt, fresh orange juice outside in such amazing surroundings.

I could write so much more about the sun loungers/chill out areas on the roof...about the need to keep your wits about you when stepping outside of the Riad but I think I might run out of space.

Overall. I'm glad I experienced the Riad Taylor what it was like to be in the 'real' Marrakech but at the same time, if I were ever to visit the city again, personally I think I will stay somewhere in a different part of town!

  • Liked — The roof terrace/sun loungers
  • Disliked — The location, its surroundings
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Taylor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Taylor

Also Known As:
Riad Taylor Hotel
Riad Taylor Marrakech
Riad Taylor Hotel Marrakech
Address: 20 Taht sour sghir -Zahouia Abbassia | Sidi Ghanem - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#152 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riad Taylor 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE RIAD TAYLOR, Riad du 18 eme siecle vous offre deux chambres doubles , une suite junior et deux grandes suites. Toutes les chambres sont entièrement climatisées et équipées de téléviseur écran LCD, lecteur DVD, chaînes françaises et étrangères et de mini bars.seche cheuveux produits d'accueil...Les amoureux du farniente peuvent se ressourcer, dans cet havre de paix, en dégustant le traditionnel thé à la menthe sur les transats de la terrasse aprés avoir gouter aux biens fait du Hammam, gommage et massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Riad Taylor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Taylor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.