We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zouar

Save Saved
You added Dar Zouar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Zouar
14 Derb Marhouk | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #424 of 1,036 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at the Riad for two separate nights in the same trip, the second night was organised at the last minute and they were very accommodating. We stayed in different rooms and both were light, airy and very clean. Both breakfast and dinner were lovely, despite the early/late time we requested them.... service was excellent.
We would recommend this Riad for a stay in Marrakech for its location and value but mostly because it is a little oasis of clam and comfort in the heart of the bustling city!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    30
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
47
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed four nights at Dar Zouar. Truly a clean and quiet oasis within the bustling and, at times, tiring Medina. Thierry and his staff are helpful and friendly. The wifi can be at times spotty, and the breakfasts could have used more than just breads, spreads, and yogurt, but otherwise this was a delightfully unexpected luxury for our Marrakesh experience. The location is a bit hidden, but the folks nearby tend to have better things to do than bother you for a handout. There is a parking lot just outside the gate where a taxi can pick you up and drop you off.

If you're looking for an authentic Medina experience at a low cost, but without skimping on cleanliness or comfort, I highly recommend Riad Dar Zouar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

One of the best value deals you probably get in Marrakech. This riad is very hard to find on yourself. However, that does reflect the charm of the medina of Marrakech. It is located in an interesting, bustling part of the medina, away from the tourist trapping and hazzling people ("Square? Square! This way! - pointing the wrong direction). The location is authentic, staff very friendly and helpfull. When you're in Marrakech it is an oasis of rest and charm, including its roof top terrace and spacious rooms. And even the square (if you're interested) is in walking distance, as is - for example - the Jardin Majorelle in the new town.

The only downside I can think of in this riad is that you can easily hear the noise coming from other rooms (or people in different rooms communicating through the atrium). Unfortunately I got sick one of the four nights we stayed here. I can imagine I have woken up some of the other guests at least three times that night...

One night we decided to skip the crowds and have dinner in the riad itself (possible if you make the reservation earlier that day). Surprisingly, the meal was one of the best we had in Morocco! It was served - like the breakfast - in a living room like area of the riad which made us actually feel special guests with private service. :-)

Alltogether I would definately recommended this place to any couple seeking a comfortable and calm retreat in the middle of the medina.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed for one night in the Dar Zouar hotel in Marrakech, and didn't want to leave. This hotel encaptures some of the amazing contrasts to be found in Marrakech, from the chaos of the medina into the peace, style and comfort of this riad. The hospitality offered by Thierry and his team was wonderful, the delicious breakfast and coffee was the best we had in Marrakech. The room we had was so pretty and comfortable, and just sitting in the courtyard watching the birdlife was a pleasure. One outstanding feature was that on arrival my daughter had an upset stomach and one of Thierry's staff made her homemade thyme tea to help it settle. A home from home.

Room Tip: our room was stylish and comfortable, and we peeped in at the other rooms and found them to be simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

it was a short but beautiful stay. quiet and comfy..thanks to Thierry and his dedicated team. its not very far from medina too....and yes the people are always ready to show you the way....rooms are traditionally decorated. rooms with shower and lockers..rooftop garden .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is an excellent riad, with beautiful rooms. Good breakfast and nice welcome but the riad has 2 problems:
-position: as others reviews says, the riad is difficult to find, and if you are in Jema El Fnaa you have tio chose between 2 options: take a taxi that make a long trip to by-pass medina or try to walk through the medina for 45/60 minutes.
hot room: when in the city arrives the real hot weather a room without a/c is not good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We chose a riad as it was a first for us and we went with an open mind. It is a bit like living with friends for a few days as the house has a central atrium and you can hear what goes on around you. So beware if you plan a night of passion! The room was great and had it own shower room. Breakfast was freshly prepared every morning and was a simple affair of fresh home made yoghurt, warm crepes and bread with an assortment of jams. The coffee was hot and fresh which is important when you need it to start your day. It is a good 15 mins walk to town once you have your map and know where you are going. It felt a very safe neighbourhood and we never had any trouble even coming back late at night. On arrival we were given a map and an explanation of where we were and a card just in case we got a taxi back. Thierry was very helpful in explaining how to get to places and suggestions on what to do next. There was always the offer of mint tea and I think this was the best made in all of Marrakesh, Just a pity we did not have time to try the food he offers as I think it would have been excellent too. He organised the collection to/from the airport and this went without a hitch. When we came back at night we managed to have a couple of beers in the riad which was easier than finding expensive restaurants selling alcohol near the square. It is a fun environment to stay but if you are looking for somewhere with room service etc then go to one of the mainstream hotels. However, You will miss out on the friendly helpful and welcoming service that Thierry and his team provide.

Room Tip: Stayed on the ground floor and the room was lovely and spacious and bed was comfortable. The whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Zouar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zouar

Address: 14 Derb Marhouk | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #424 of 1,036 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the far end of a small quiet street in the serenity of the Marrakech medina; at the heart of the old quarter of Sidi bel Abbess; 5 minutes away from the infamous " Place Jamaa el Fna; the riad " Dar Zouar " (house of visitors) is an authentic and peaceful guest house, renovated with precision and flair in the Moroccan tradition. Dar Zouar has preserved the essential of the legendary Moroccan charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Budget Places so you can book your Dar Zouar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Zouar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.