We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming paradise in the heart of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Houdou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Houdou to your Saves list
Riad Houdou
54 Derb el Hammam, el Moukef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A welcoming paradise in the heart of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

What an incredible experience thanks to Eric and Didier! These passionate hosts will welcome you warmly into their riad and you won't want to leave. Their level of service and hospitality was absolutely wonderful; from walking us into the main square so we get to know our neighbourhood, to sitting and chatting over mint tea on the rooftop terrace upon arrival, to warm communal dining with the other guests. The riad itself if top-notch - authentic and charming decor with all the creature comforts such as airconditioning, lovely bath products and complimentary water and sweets. There's a refreshing plunge-pool for the hotter months, and dining under the lemon and lime trees is heavenly at any time of year. Their staff are also exceptional - nothing is ever too much trouble. I also travelled with two coeliacs, and they went above and beyond to cater for gluten-free needs (unheard of in the rest of Morocco!). As someone who has been to Morocco 8 times, Riad Houdou is the only place I will revisit and bring my family and friends to, without a doubt. Thank you Eric and Didier for the most wonderful stay in Marrakech!

Room Tip: The family room upstairs (one queen bed and two single beds) is absolutely wonderful for a family or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houdou, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Anne

Thank you to have chosen our riad and for your so nice reveiw! We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and more to know that you want come back! It is a great honor from a connoisseur of Morocco such as you! Rajaa tries to satisfay the guest who want o avoid gluten, and I'm happy to read that you have appreciate.
Friendly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    37
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
95
171
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were lucky enough to have had Riad Houdou recommended to us by a friend who had stayed there last year and we were't disappointed!
The decor is gorgeous and Eric & Didier have an eye for detail which results in tasteful, eclectic rooms which are a pleasure to be in. One of the highlights of our stay was our Hammam and massage afterwards, made all the more pleasurable as we didn't have to leave the RIad.

Eric & Didier were perfect hosts and we had a fantastic evening with them and other guests enjoying a beautifully prepared meal showcasing the best of Morrocan cuisine.

It was only a short walk to the main square and once we were shown the way by Didier, we found it easy to navigate our way through the Medina. Eric and Didier are the "Go To" for local info and anything you want to know, from where to eat, what to pay and how much things should cost. This
was invaluable.

The staff are great, so friendly and helpful which really makes a difference and the cook makes all her own homemade preserves etc which we loved, especially the cherry jam, delicious!

There's just nothing bad to say so get your stay booked now!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houdou, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Rebecca
Thank you very much for your enthusiastic review. We are so hoppy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and what we purpose. A lot of guests like the hammam with Sherazade and the massage with Khadija.
It was a pleasure to receive you and we hope to see you another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Riad Houdou was our base of operations during a four day trip to Marrakech. The rooms are a bit smaller than some of the other riads we stayed in but the pool and fruit trees in the courtyard add to the beautiful setting. Since we had an upstairs room, we were able to leave the doors open while we lounged around. I would recommend that guests take the hotel up on their offer to pick them up from the square as the hotel seemed impossible to find. We were three seasoned travelers, with great senses of direction, and we had a hard time locating the riad, especially at night. But I would not let that deter me from staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houdou, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for your review and to have chosen our riad for your stay in Marrakech.
You have to know that in Marrakech a lot riad have small room (on contrary to Fez) and our riad have different size of room (one is 33 m2, ideal for family). So I'm sorry to read that your room was too small for you.
And for the location, of course it is not easy to find the way in the medina. But even if our guests doesn't chose our pick-up, I give all the information to reach the riad. And honestly, our riad is very easy to find if, as I suggest, you arrive on the Moukef square. You forget to precise that after your arrival we always go with you to the main square to show you the way and avoid the fake guide.
I'm happy to read that in spite of your lack of orientation, you want to come back in the riad. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I spent five nights at the Riad Houdou last month with three girlfriends. I cannot say enough about how special Didier, Eric and their staff made our stay. No small detail was over-looked. We loved the location, food and company of everyone at at the Riad Houdou. We especially loved the mountain excursion that was booked for us. Marrakech can be overwhelming at times, and it was always nice to return to the Riad in the evening. I would not hesistate to recommend Riad Houdou to anyone, and hope to return someday!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houdou, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Jenny

It was a pleasure to meet you! Thank you very much for this great review. We hope to see you another time. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Spent a relaxing seven nights in Marrakech and stayed at the wonderful Riad Houdou for one of those. Upon arrival we were greeted with drinks and nibbles, and had an enlightening chat with one of the friendly owners. The room and roof terrace were marvellous, as was the evening meal.
In the morning we were provided with a hearty breakfast, before saying our goodbyes and departing.
I would most definitely recommend the Riad Houdou.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houdou, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. The room on the roof terrace is often appreciate for this; it is great to have a private breakfast on the sun! We hope to have the pleasure to see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Riad Houdou a couple of weeks ago and had a brilliant time. The riad is in the perfect location for sightseeing - walking distance from plenty of sights whilst also being convenient enough to get cabs. The rooms, while not the height of luxury, were clean and comfortable. Didier, Eric and all their staff could not have been more helpful. All in all, the ideal place to base yourself in Marrakech. I will definitely stay here if I visit the city again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houdou, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you to have chosen our riad to stay with your friends. And thank you for this review! We hope to see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have just returned from four nights at this beautiful Riad in Marrakech. We could not fault the whole experience. We loved the décor in all the areas, lots of interesting details with a true feeling of Morocco. Didier and Eric and the team make sure that each guest feels special and nothing is too much trouble.
The food was excellent. The homemade yogurt was delicious! We would certainly choose to stay here again if we return to Marrakech.
Many Thanks to you all!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houdou, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Valerie
It was a pleasure to meet the 2 of you and we are very happy that you have appreciate your stay. Thank you for this review and it will be a pleasure to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Houdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Houdou

Address: 54 Derb el Hammam, el Moukef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historical quarters and typical of the medina of Marrakech, the ryad Houdou is a masonry of the XVIIe century, middle-class old property of a rich family astronomers. Associating traditional architecture and a contemporary furnishing, the decoration of the riad reflects Morocco and our personality. Living on the place, we want to give again all his direction with the concept of guest house. Here, you will discover expatriation all while feeling you as on your premise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Houdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Houdou Marrakech
Riad Houdou Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Houdou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.