We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would highly recommend this Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Houdou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad Houdou to your Saves list
Riad Houdou
54 Derb el Hammam, el Moukef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We would highly recommend this Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a lovely holiday in Marrakech largely due to this wonderful Riad. In the Centre of Medina with all its hustle and bustle the Houdou really is a haven. Didier and Eric really enjoy running the Riad and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food was excellent (whereas the food in Fina Square was very disappointing - get them in and ignore them seemed to be the idea- treating tourist with real disdain). The attention to detail in the Riad is amazing and there are quirky and distinctive touches everywhere. We also had a massage which was very relaxing.

Its reputation is well deserved and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello Billie! Thank you for this review and to have chosen us for your first stay in Marrakech. I'm very touch to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our place. I hope that we will have the pleasure to receive you another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    35
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
89
164
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Right from the moment you arrive till the moment you reluctantly depart, there is nothing that is too much trouble for Didier and Eric and the amazing team. The Riad is removed from the rest of the tourist area and this is part of its charm. It definitely helps give you the genuine Marrakesh experience. Without exception, every meal was fantastic and the guys are a great source of knowledge of what to do and see during your visit. Aziz is unobtrusively on hand for anything you might need and by the time you leave, it will feel like home. If you get the chance, do the trip with Ali into the Atlas mountains. Like everything else, it was... faultless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you, Gus, for this very warm review. It was a pleasure to meet you and we will remember of your stay. I say to Ali that you have enjoy the excursion in Amizmiz. I hope to have the pleasure to receive you another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

All the staff was impeccable, always willing and looking sate all our desires. The friendliness of the owners of the riad, Didier and Eric, the delicious food prepared by Rajid and Aziz's contagious sympathy, made ​​our stay very enjoyable. The location of the riad, about 10 min walk to the Jemaa el Fna, was perfectly acceptable. Our way to the square and back to the riad was easy to find, after a first tour provided by Eric. If we ever return to Marrakesh, I will stay in this riad, no doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much Hugo to have chosen our riad for your first stay in Marrakech and for this so kind review. We know that, when we are not used to Marrakech, the medina can be difficult and that's why we always go with our guest on Jemaa El fna, to show the way.
It will be a pleasure to receive you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a wonderfull stay in Riad Houdou. We were warmly welcomed by the owners. They gave us all the necessary information to plan our city trip in Marrakech, they even walked with us to the place Jemaa-el-Fnaa so that we won’t get lost. The breakfast was very good, the riad is beautiful, the owners and staff extremely friendly. Don’t hesitate to book this Riad!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you dear Sofie to have chosen our riad and for this very kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you and we are very happy that you enjoy your stay in Marrakech. If you want to come again it will be a pleasure to have you as guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Service was super at this delightful riad. Even before we arrived, the owners had tracked our plane, realised that it had been diverted to Agadir because of a sandstorm, and rearranged the lovely evening meal to account for our late arrival. And the following day, we were escorted to the main square so that we could find our bearings in this complicated city.

The hotel was a true respite from the hubbub and, when we visited in August, the heat of the medina. As the temperature rose, we would return to the hotel to relax and read around the pool, ready for the evening's outing.

The rooms and the courtyard were beautifully decorated, more a home than a hotel. Breakfast was lovely, with home-cooked Moroccan food.

I'd thoroughly recommend staying at the Riad Houdou; the owners have created a tremendous riad and couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you, dear Vaughn, to have chosen our riad for your stay in Marrakech and for this great review! It was a pleasure to have you for our first birthday. I'm very happy to see that you were satisfied of your stay in our riad and I hope to have the pleasure to receive you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

A fabulous riad in amidst the busy streets of the Medina.
The rooms are spotless and designed to a high spec. The bathrooms are beautiful and well-equipped. The whole riad exudes clean cut design against the more traditional features of a moroccan home.
The owners and staff are exceptionally helpful, friendly and only fools would miss an opportunity to stay here...I cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Françoise, thank you for this kind review. It was so great to meet you and the other girls and such a pleasure to find you during your 3 stop in Marrakech! We can still hear our enthusiasm and your laughing in the riad. To the pleasure to receive you for another trip in Morocco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aljezur, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited after a friend recommended us for my boyfriends 50th. We arrived early in the morning with a warm welcome and unexpected gorgeous breakfast. After we went straight for a nap! On awakening we were guided to the square, also unexpected. We had splashed out and the room was beautiful, we didn't really want to leave it! It was brilliant to be able to head back to the calm and beautiful surroundings when the busy streets became to much for us. There we would re charge before we'd head out again. it was close enough to be able to do this easily.

I had noticed on the website (though it has now changed) that vegetarians were also welcome. As a vegetarian, I felt VERY welcome, which makes a refreshing change. The meal here was by far the best of my whole trip. (shame it was the first night. Next time I would leave it till the last!) Everyone else also survived with out the chicken! So maybe now it has been taken out of that option...?!

Everyone there, and the surroundings, made my boyfriends 50th one he'll never forget. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello Michelle! It was a pleasure to receive Johnny and you and we were very proud that you have choosen our riad for Johnny birthday.
In the riad Houdou, vegetarians are of course always welcome!
I hope to see you another time
Friendly regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Houdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Houdou

Address: 54 Derb el Hammam, el Moukef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historical quarters and typical of the medina of Marrakech, the ryad Houdou is a masonry of the XVIIe century, middle-class old property of a rich family astronomers. Associating traditional architecture and a contemporary furnishing, the decoration of the riad reflects Morocco and our personality. Living on the place, we want to give again all his direction with the concept of guest house. Here, you will discover expatriation all while feeling you as on your premise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Houdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Houdou Marrakech
Riad Houdou Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Houdou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.