We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verheyen Erik Yasmine and Fa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Houdou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Houdou to your Saves list
Riad Houdou
54 Derb el Hammam, el Moukef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Dilsen-Stokkem, Belgium
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Verheyen Erik Yasmine and Fa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

It was a lovely Riad to stay. Every thing was taken care of. It is strange but true there is nothing I can say that was not good. We enjoyed everything. The hamam and scrub. Massage. The company of Erik, Didier. The food of Rajaa en Fatima Zahra and the big smile of Azziz. O sorry I nearly forget the king of the Riad WARID. A place I certainly recomend to our friends. We will go again.

Room Tip: We had the suite which was a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet your family. We have spent a lot of very pleasant evening in your company. And of course our little Wahid missed Yasmine! We hope to see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    36
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
93
171
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Accra
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Throughout our holidays in Morocco we enjoyed many different accommodations amongst them a number of Riads in different cities. But without hesitation we can say that the Riad Houdou has been the most inviting, wonderful, inspirational place that we stayed at. It was as if being at home: An oasis in the heart of Marrakech's Medina and our hosts would be available for help whenever necessary. Fabulous!


Thank you! We'll be back - that is absolutely certain and a promise!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello Doris. It is an honor for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our riad. Thank you so much for this very warm and enthusiastic review. It will be a pleasure to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights in Marrakesh, what an experience with its bustling, energetic lifestyle! But thank goodness for Riad Houdou's calm and relaxing atmosphere. Didier and Eric could not have been more welcoming, they went out of their way to ensure we had everything we could need or want. The refurbishment has been done so well and the food was sublime, we high recommend staying here if you get the chance and you want the best experience in Morroco.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind review. It is an honor to read that for you, we are the best riad in Marrakech. We continue to do our best to keep this award!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aljezur, Portugal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our first trip to Marrakech and on arrival my wife and I hadn't slept for 24 hours, tense and not knowing what to expect we were greeted by the immaculate and elegant Eric and Didier who made us feel welcome and immediately at ease, during our three day stay they helped us at every turn, their willingness to answer questions and assist made us feel comfortable about asking more.

The interior design of this small romantic Riad is breathtaking, it's heart is Moroccan but there are other influences to be found. All that you see, touch and smell within is beautiful and interesting. The warmth, love and life experience not to mention hard work that went into the recently completed refurbishment (undertaken by Erik and Didier) is inspiring. The food is superb, breakfast hours flexible (we had ours at 11.30 one morning after an enjoyable evening with our hosts) the staff very well chosen, beds are extremely comfortable, and its well situated inside the Medina.
my wife and I enjoyed Marrakech a great deal and we are already planning our next trip, Neither of us would consider staying anywhere else but the Riad Houdou.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Alastair. It was a real pleasure to receive you and Elena in the riad. I'm very touched by your review. We try to receive our guest as if they were friends, and it's very grateful to realize that you feel it. We hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We arrived by car and got perfect directions. The Riad is completely refurbished last year and it shows, lovely rooms and common area's, a small pool and a roof terrace. Our suite was perfect for a family, spacious and cosy.The dinner provided is great and freshly made everyday. Ask for the local speciality, Tanger, which is simmered in te Hamman ovens over for 7 hours.
Didier was very helpful but never to much. Next time in Marrakech we will definitely stay inn Riad Houdou.

Room Tip: We had the suite, very spacious and 4 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family. It is important for us to help you to discover somme specialities of Marrakech as the tanjia. i'm happy that you enjoyed this meal. We hope to see you and Wahid, the cat, missed sophie's caress!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duiven, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Riad Houdou is really exceptional! Its a small, romantic and warm place to stay in the centre of the Medina of Marrakech. Very warm and friendly owners who are willing to make you feel at home. If you want you can also take the lunch or dinner, really wonderful maroccan food.
We will return one day.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much for this kind review. You come back when you want, the maroco sun you enjoy so much will wait for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genova
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

For my 50 years birthday, my wife organised a 3 days trip in Marrakech and reserved the suite of this beautiful riad.
The small street leading to the riad is awful, but once you're there ... it's a world apart : rarely had I seen an hotel where each corner, each piece has been selected or decorated with so much taste and care.
The owners and the personnel are warm and kind, and take care of your wishes : Didier, one of the owner, even brought us to a short night tour of Marrakech (the riad is in the heart of the souk, few minutes from place Jemal El Fna).
There is no restaurant in the riad, but dinners can be arranged on demand ; we had a dinner in the patio with a great tajine lamb.
Not to forget also Aziz's mint tea and the breakfast in the terrace.
Last but not least : it was end of April, sunny and 30° in the day. More than a holiday, was a privilege...

Room Tip: The suite is really superb. Ask Didier to collect you at the airport, otherwise getting to the riad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Massimo. It was an honor that your wife choose our riad to celebrate your birthday. We are very happy that you enjoy your stay. You know, it is the principle of the riad to be a peaceful house preserved from outside. It is a little bit strong to say that the street is awful… In the medina, all the derb seems poor, but for example our familial derb is also shinny when the sun reflect on the marrakech red wall.
We hope to see you again. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Houdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Houdou

Address: 54 Derb el Hammam, el Moukef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historical quarters and typical of the medina of Marrakech, the ryad Houdou is a masonry of the XVIIe century, middle-class old property of a rich family astronomers. Associating traditional architecture and a contemporary furnishing, the decoration of the riad reflects Morocco and our personality. Living on the place, we want to give again all his direction with the concept of guest house. Here, you will discover expatriation all while feeling you as on your premise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Houdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Houdou Marrakech
Riad Houdou Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Houdou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.