We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad in the heart of the action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Houdou

Save Saved
You added Riad Houdou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Houdou
54 Derb el Hammam, el Moukef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #11 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad in the heart of the action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at Riad Houdou for 2 days and found it to be a welcoming and beautiful haven from the madness of the medina. Zahra the owner, created a very relaxed and friendly ambience, and the breakfast of homemade breads and pancakes with fig jam was delicious. Our room was basic but pleasant, and the main courtyard is stunning. Riad Houdou is well located close to the souks but we found it quite easy to get totally lost - all part of the fun/experience of Marrakesh. We must give a special mention to Mohammed who was always so cheerful and friendly and helped make it a fantastic stay at Riad Houdou.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    34
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
144
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

the Riad was very comfortable - the Noujoum suite was lovely, the Warda room was comfortable and definitely adequate. Zahra who runs it was extremely helpful and friendly, but not imposing (even gave us a short tour down to the souk area). She definitely gave her place a very inviting atmosphere. And her kitchen staff, although we couldn't speak Arabic with her, was so very kind and helpful too. It was nice to be a bit away from the extreme hussle of the centre of the medina, but only a short walk to there. The meal our first night there in the riad, although a bit pricy, was superb.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Such a friendly charming ambiance - the service was impeccable - nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms are spotless and the food and wine was of the highest quality.

My highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed here as a group of 4 couples in our late 40’s early 50’s. The riad itself was a tranquil and calm haven hidden away behind an unobtrusive front door from the madness of the medina. We arrived in the early evening, we had arranged to eat at the riad on our first night; we were given a traditional soup, fish tagine, fresh fruit salad followed by coffee, the meal was served in a tastefully decorated room off the central courtyard, it was typically Moroccan and was an enjoyable experience, we were also very relieved to find that reasonably priced wine and beer was available in copious amounts if needed. We were met on arrival by the owner Sara/Zara who I can only describe as being extremely helpful and very ‘hands on’, she helped to serve dinner/breakfast, showed us around her riad and let us choose which rooms we wanted to stay in. On our first morning she told us about all the different activities that we could do whilst in Marrakech, she advised us on what prices to pay for different tourist attractions which came in extremely handy, she advised us on local restaurants and told us where we could find eating places that served alcohol. She took us down to the main square and showed us some of the main points of interest, nothing was too much trouble. On our second day the general ‘handyman / night porter’ at the riad offered to take us around the tannery which was 5 minutes away. Everyone at the riad was extremely helpful.

If you are looking for a luxury hotel then this riad is not for you; my husband and I have stayed in some really wonderfully luxurious hotels and we probably wouldn’t have stayed here out of choice but we were going away with a group of friends and we fitted in with what everyone else wanted to do. We were pleasantly surprised and it was very good value for money. We were not overly happy with the position of the riad (although some of our party thought it was great), it took about 10/15 minutes to walk back from the main square, at times we didn’t feel too safe and slightly uncomfortable in our surroundings, one of our party was ‘pick pocketed’ the police said they wouldn’t advise tourist to walk through the back streets after dark, having said that if you want to see the ‘real Marrakech’ then this is probably an excellent place to stay, just don’t carry any valuables with you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

It´s a charming place with a very nice decoration, lovely and cozy people and it have a perfect localion..Whithin the chaos of the Zocos, just a few minutes from the Jama Fna square, you find the Riad Houdou that ones you cross the main entrance you enter in a very nice, quiet,fantastic place to enjoy your stay in Marrakech... The rooms are all different with exquisite decaration and there are various terraces with fantastic views to the Altlas Mountains ... They serve a delicious tipycal marrocan food and I really recomend this place in every way to spend a nice time in Marrakech..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

I went to Marrakesh with my family (2 kids 5 and 7 yrs old and my wife). This experience was unforgettablke. On arrival to the airport, riad manageress/owner picked us up. I think it is important that the manageress and the owner is the same person. We booked over the internet and even we researched we were not sure what to expect. It was a pleasant surprise when we arrived to the riad. It is oasis of calm and friendliness in the middle of busy medina-old town. the service and the staff at the riad are exceptional, always ready to help, advice or organise ant activity or trip which we wanted. We went to high Atlas mountains kids riding dunkeys, my wife went to beautifull hammam wit full body massage, dinners at the riads were excellent, all is met with the honest smile and chat from the owner/manageress. I was constantly surprised with atentivness and ready to help attitude that I would not hesitate to recommand this place to anyone. For kids they prepared "special" dinners with pasta or omlet. The roof terace was great, hot and comfortable, we drank mint tea and sunbath and watched red sunset while kids played quietly in the courtyard-perfect!! On the end, managress took us to the airport in her car and with a warm smile she was gone. It all looked a bit like a dream. The place is only 3 hours from london and we will be back-for sure!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and felt like at home in this nice and small riad. A friendly and relaxing atmosphere in the heart of the chaotic old city.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Houdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Houdou

Address: 54 Derb el Hammam, el Moukef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historical quarters and typical of the medina of Marrakech, the ryad Houdou is a masonry of the XVIIe century, middle-class old property of a rich family astronomers. Associating traditional architecture and a contemporary furnishing, the decoration of the riad reflects Morocco and our personality. Living on the place, we want to give again all his direction with the concept of guest house. Here, you will discover expatriation all while feeling you as on your premise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Priceline so you can book your Riad Houdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Houdou Marrakech
Riad Houdou Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Houdou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.