We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to base a trip in the medina of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Houdou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Houdou to your Saves list
Riad Houdou
54 Derb el Hammam, el Moukef | Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent place to base a trip in the medina of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

the Riad was very comfortable - the Noujoum suite was lovely, the Warda room was comfortable and definitely adequate. Zahra who runs it was extremely helpful and friendly, but not imposing (even gave us a short tour down to the souk area). She definitely gave her place a very inviting atmosphere. And her kitchen staff, although we couldn't speak Arabic with her, was so very kind and helpful too. It was nice to be a bit away from the extreme hussle of the centre of the medina, but only a short walk to there. The meal our first night there in the riad, although a bit pricy, was superb.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Such a friendly charming ambiance - the service was impeccable - nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms are spotless and the food and wine was of the highest quality.

My highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Castie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed here as a group of 4 couples in our late 40’s early 50’s. The riad itself was a tranquil and calm haven hidden away behind an unobtrusive front door from the madness of the medina. We arrived in the early evening, we had arranged to eat at the riad on our first night; we were given a traditional soup, fish tagine, fresh fruit salad followed by coffee, the meal was served in a tastefully decorated room off the central courtyard, it was typically Moroccan and was an enjoyable experience, we were also very relieved to find that reasonably priced wine and beer was available in copious amounts if needed. We were met on arrival by the owner Sara/Zara who I can only describe as being extremely helpful and very ‘hands on’, she helped to serve dinner/breakfast, showed us around her riad and let us choose which rooms we wanted to stay in. On our first morning she told us about all the different activities that we could do whilst in Marrakech, she advised us on what prices to pay for different tourist attractions which came in extremely handy, she advised us on local restaurants and told us where we could find eating places that served alcohol. She took us down to the main square and showed us some of the main points of interest, nothing was too much trouble. On our second day the general ‘handyman / night porter’ at the riad offered to take us around the tannery which was 5 minutes away. Everyone at the riad was extremely helpful.

If you are looking for a luxury hotel then this riad is not for you; my husband and I have stayed in some really wonderfully luxurious hotels and we probably wouldn’t have stayed here out of choice but we were going away with a group of friends and we fitted in with what everyone else wanted to do. We were pleasantly surprised and it was very good value for money. We were not overly happy with the position of the riad (although some of our party thought it was great), it took about 10/15 minutes to walk back from the main square, at times we didn’t feel too safe and slightly uncomfortable in our surroundings, one of our party was ‘pick pocketed’ the police said they wouldn’t advise tourist to walk through the back streets after dark, having said that if you want to see the ‘real Marrakech’ then this is probably an excellent place to stay, just don’t carry any valuables with you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wood501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

It´s a charming place with a very nice decoration, lovely and cozy people and it have a perfect localion..Whithin the chaos of the Zocos, just a few minutes from the Jama Fna square, you find the Riad Houdou that ones you cross the main entrance you enter in a very nice, quiet,fantastic place to enjoy your stay in Marrakech... The rooms are all different with exquisite decaration and there are various terraces with fantastic views to the Altlas Mountains ... They serve a delicious tipycal marrocan food and I really recomend this place in every way to spend a nice time in Marrakech..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaPumarega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and felt like at home in this nice and small riad. A friendly and relaxing atmosphere in the heart of the chaotic old city.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intercoiffure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Easy to find, about a 5 minute walk from the gate. !/2 block from a street of stalls and daily life in the medina life. The lovely courtyard has lime and lemon trees, and there is a roof garden with lounge chairs and tables, a great place for drinks at night to see the stars unimpeded by bright lights of sky scrapers office buildings. And, they even have a tiny swimming pool , a wonderful treat to sit in after being out in the hot hot dusty, but ever interesting medina. Though we are both seniors, with difficulty climbing stairs, we were relieved to find that the one staircase to our room was easy to manage because the steps were not too steep, and the railings were very good. When the A/C in our room stopped working Habib, the friendly and attentive manager upgraded our room to their Suite. He also cooked the best lamb tagine dinner we had in our 2 1/2 weeks in Morocco!. Hassan, one of the owners was in residence the days we were there and he and Habib always had a crowd of guests sitting around the courtyard each night chatting away in many languages .

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tuknn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

The riad is not conveniently located. Its on the outskirts of the medina and unsafe to return after dark. For the price it charges, the quality of service is undelivered. There plenty of riads that offer better facilities for the same price. We ordered dinner which is way overpriced 18 euros pp! and when it came, we saw cockroaches scattering from the dish. We were horrified. There's also no TV and absolutely nothing to do in the riad after dark.

But the final let down is the attitude of the owner, a french woman who's only incentive is to milk as much money from your pockets as possible. They wanted to charge us 400 euros for a trip to the Sahara when the competitive price across all travel agents and hotels is 70 -100 euros. She was also extremely unreasonable and unsympathetic when we wanted to cancel the rest of the booking as a result of the let down in service. We argued with her for hrs and finally settled to pay for the nights we stayed at the riad instead of the entire booking period (which is only fair, as we dont believe in paying for services we are not going to receive) the transaction was complete there and then. But after I returned from holiday I saw that she charged me again! She took money from my account without consulting me and completely violated the agreement we discussed onsite. I'm planning to sue her for this. She is not trustworthy, extremely argumentative, very narrow minded and only has money rather than customer satisfaction in mind. This is not someone you want to receive service from. Please be warned.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank my_honest_opinion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
hello

I'm the new owner of the riad and I'm really sorry about your previous bad experience. I can understand your anger. Now the riad has changed and there is no more cockroaches because all the riad has been a treatment. On contrary I'm not agree with your opinion about the location. The riad is near the souks and photography musuem and coranic school, which are places very touristic. We are very concerned about the wellness of our guest, as you can write this on the recent review since one year, so if you come back in Marrakech, it will be a pleasure to receive you and offer you a dinner. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Houdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Houdou

Address: 54 Derb el Hammam, el Moukef | Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#152 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#167 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historical quarters and typical of the medina of Marrakech, the ryad Houdou is a masonry of the XVIIe century, middle-class old property of a rich family astronomers. Associating traditional architecture and a contemporary furnishing, the decoration of the riad reflects Morocco and our personality. Living on the place, we want to give again all his direction with the concept of guest house. Here, you will discover expatriation all while feeling you as on your premise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Houdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Houdou Marrakech
Riad Houdou Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing