We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit to Riad Darhani” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darhani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Darhani
Save
You added Darhani to your Saves list
32 Derb Waihah | Qtr Sidi Abdel Aziz, Marrakech 46001, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 1,126 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great visit to Riad Darhani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our visit to Riad Darhani (June 23-26, 2013) was perfect. Don’t be put off by the dusty derb – once you pass through the door to #32 you will be in an oasis. . The riad itself is beautiful. It’s an easy 10-minute walk from Jema al Fnna, less than that to the Musee du Marrakech, the madrassa and the souks. There are also many neat restaurants within a 5-minute walk (we liked Le Bougainvilliers and Terrace de Espices). We stayed with our two kids (ages 12 and 9) in the Walnut and Twin rooms, which was a great setup for us. We all loved the pool and the rooftop terrace. It was HOT in Marrakech during out visit (between 108F – 120F), so we plunged into the pool in the afternoon, and ended the days on the terrace late at night when the air cooled off.

The best thing about this place, though, is the people. Mustapha was extremely helpful and responsive. When we arrived at the train station after a long, hot ride from Casablanca, I sent him a text message, received an immediate response, and a driver was there to pick us up 15 minutes later. He answered all our questions quickly, handled the billing/accounting professionally, and even went out of his way to secure our train tickets back to Casa for us. Abdul – what can I say about Abdul? He was gracious, welcoming, charming, and he immediately connected with the kids. His service at meal times was impeccable. We already miss him (and the French press coffee that he brought us every morning at breakfast!).

Riad Darhani gets 5 stars, but only because the scale doesn’t go up to 10.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    41
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
74
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was so happy we chose Darhani to stay in after lots of research. Omar and Abdo are wonderfull kind, patient and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. It was our first trip so we were a bit anxious but everything was planned by Omar and ran to plan. To think you are effectively staying in a B&B (UK equivalent) the service you get is exceptional. We stayed in the Walnut room which was great being slightly larger as we were there for 3 nights. Breakfast was wonderful and fresh and they are happy to serve you on the roof terrace despite all the stairs. Yes you will hear morning prayer but bring earplugs if this will bother you. The beds are hard but not uncomfortable and the rooms are very clean and the toiletries supplied and added bonus. Location is perfect - just 10 mins to the central square and just 5 mins from Cafe Arabe and Cafe Bougainvillea. We booked a guide for our first morning and I highly recommend this. Yes he will take you to shops where he will get commission but we never felt any pressure to buy and actually enjoyed the experience. AND you will also see areas you might not normally venture to. A great Riad that I highly recommend - location, price and service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor are quieter than the courtyard where the kitchen and entrance is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darhani, Owner at Darhani, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I would always recommend a tour guide to travellers to Marrakech. I have been to Marrakech many times but I still occasionally use a tour guide since they show you things that you would never find on your own, and for me this is still enlightening. Marrakech is just so interesting and tour guides are quite cheap. If booking a tour guide from Darhani or any other riad in Marrakech state your preferences e.g. avoid carpet shops etc and they will do this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Darhani for three nights in the middle of May. we had the most wonderful time. The staff were so friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. When we arrived a kind lady offered us a drink and cakes and the manager (who wasn't there that day) rang the Riad specifically to talk to us and check that everything was ok. We stayed in the Walnut Room which was lovely, and the bathroom especially was a real treat. The Riad is in a good location, only a ten minute walk from the main square. Breakfast was lovely everyday, and though we never ate a full meal in the Riad I am sure it would be delicious. My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it and are recommending it to all our friends and family. Thank you! Mark and Amelia

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Wonderful stay at Darhani - everything just perfect. The riad is just beautiful and in a fantastic location. Nothing was too much trouble for Omar or the other members of staff - we were thoroughly spoilt, from the mint teas on the roof terrace to the rose petals sprinkled in our rooms. As others have commented, the riad is such an oasis of peace and calm in the midst of the frenetic medina. A very, very special place, cared for by people we will have fond memories of. Our only regret was that we didn't eat at the riad more; we had lunch and dinner there on the day we arrived and the food was fantastic - the chicken pastilla is especially recommended! Fell in love with Marrakech and Darhani - very grateful for all at the riad for making it so memorable for us. Hope to return one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our wonderful memories of Marrakech began at the airport with a taxi driver, sent by the Riad Darhani, patiently awaiting our delayed plane. After winding our way through the narrow alleys of the Medina, we were welcomed into the beautiful Riad Darhani. And, for the next ten days we were the grateful recipients of Moroccan hospitality by an excellent Darhani staff.

Each day opened with a nice breakfast and ended with a relaxing cup of mint tea in one of the setting rooms or on the rooftop. Omar, Khadija, Abdo and Fatima took great care of us and will be remembered fondly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

From the warm welcome to the fresh breakfast and the rose petals in the bathroom, I cannot fault Dar Hani. As my title indicates, this i my fourth visit and its always an absolute pleasure to meet Omar and to enjoy the hospitable and relaxing environment they create. Perfect location next to my favourite place, Cafe Arabe too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were made so welcome at Riad Darhani by the team. Khadija cooked us a lovely meal on our first night and the welcome introduction by Abdo was really helpful and made us feel relaxed. The room was clean, tidy and a comfortable escape from the busy Souks and Medina just a street away. Omar organised us a day's cooking course with Gemma at SoukCuisine which we would totally recommend. Darhani has a several excellent places to eat nearby including Cafe Arabe (roof terrace must be booked for evening bookings), Souk Cafe and Terrasse des Epices.

Large fresh towels, and maid service each day made us feel like we were in a 5 star hotel, and Fatima our house keeper always welcomed us home with big smile and was on hand after a busy day shopping and sightseeing. The breakfast was always fresh and more than adequate, with fresh fruit salad each day, pastries and selection of other treats.

We'd also recommend a day using the pool and a extra special buffet at the Sofitel, a 20 minute walk away just for a complete contrast to the Medina. Hope to come back soon, and would recommend Darhani for a more authentic taste of Marrakech.

Room Tip: 3 of the 4 rooms are on the first floor. Not a huge problem but any noise from anybody arriving lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Darhani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darhani

Address: 32 Derb Waihah | Qtr Sidi Abdel Aziz, Marrakech 46001, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 1,126 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant riad in the heart of Marrakech Medina. Centrally located. Air conditioned, en-suite bathrooms, Vegetarian and traditional Moroccan cuisine. Courtyard pool, amazing terrace, afternoon tea and cake. English and French speaking manager. Excellent reviews. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darhani Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darhani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.