We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marrakech Memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darhani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Darhani
Save Saved
You added Darhani to your Saves list
32 Derb Waihah | Qtr Sidi Abdel Aziz, Marrakech 46001, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marrakech Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our wonderful memories of Marrakech began at the airport with a taxi driver, sent by the Riad Darhani, patiently awaiting our delayed plane. After winding our way through the narrow alleys of the Medina, we were welcomed into the beautiful Riad Darhani. And, for the next ten days we were the grateful recipients of Moroccan hospitality by an excellent Darhani staff.

Each day opened with a nice breakfast and ended with a relaxing cup of mint tea in one of the setting rooms or on the rooftop. Omar, Khadija, Abdo and Fatima took great care of us and will be remembered fondly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    38
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
64
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SE London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

From the warm welcome to the fresh breakfast and the rose petals in the bathroom, I cannot fault Dar Hani. As my title indicates, this i my fourth visit and its always an absolute pleasure to meet Omar and to enjoy the hospitable and relaxing environment they create. Perfect location next to my favourite place, Cafe Arabe too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were made so welcome at Riad Darhani by the team. Khadija cooked us a lovely meal on our first night and the welcome introduction by Abdo was really helpful and made us feel relaxed. The room was clean, tidy and a comfortable escape from the busy Souks and Medina just a street away. Omar organised us a day's cooking course with Gemma at SoukCuisine which we would totally recommend. Darhani has a several excellent places to eat nearby including Cafe Arabe (roof terrace must be booked for evening bookings), Souk Cafe and Terrasse des Epices.

Large fresh towels, and maid service each day made us feel like we were in a 5 star hotel, and Fatima our house keeper always welcomed us home with big smile and was on hand after a busy day shopping and sightseeing. The breakfast was always fresh and more than adequate, with fresh fruit salad each day, pastries and selection of other treats.

We'd also recommend a day using the pool and a extra special buffet at the Sofitel, a 20 minute walk away just for a complete contrast to the Medina. Hope to come back soon, and would recommend Darhani for a more authentic taste of Marrakech.

Room Tip: 3 of the 4 rooms are on the first floor. Not a huge problem but any noise from anybody arriving lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Marrakech is more of an experience than a holiday:it is lively, colourful, different and interesting. And Riad Darhani is the peace and calm from the chaos of the city.

Riad Darhani was recommended and booked for us through Travel Counsellors.

The staff were delightful, so friendly and so helpful, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Omar and Abdu were there at all times for advice and service; a mobile phone was even provided in case you were lost amid the souks. The housekeeper was very attentive, everything was very clean and there were vases of roses in abundance. I have to say a big thank you to them all for making my special birthday very special indeed.

We ate at Riad Darhani on our first night in Marrakech. The cook prepared hariri (traditional soup), lamb tagine, and oranges with cinnamon which was delicious. We ate elsewhere on other nights but It was certainly the tastiest food we had throughout our 5 night stay in Marrakech. Ensure you have a good appetite to do the food justice as they are very generous portions.

Breakfast, served in the dining rooms or on the sun terrace, is continental style and the French influence is shown in the light fluffy croissants/pastries served along with Moroccan pancakes, fresh bread, jams and honey, freshly squeezed orange juice and tea/coffee.

Riad Darhani was heaven to return to after a day's sightseeing, and the afternoon mint tea was so refreshing. Whether you wanted to sunbathe on the sun beds or lounge in the Bedouin style tent and settees/cushions on the sun terrace or relax by the pool in the cooler parts of the riad, it was always welcoming. Riad Darhani is definitely worth knowing about. A&A

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Every part of my stay at Darhani exceeded my expectations and I would struggle to think of how it could be improved. Beautifully decorated, bedrooms & lounge areas very comfortable, delicious food and staff that couldn't do anything more to be polite and helpful. The terrace has a shaded sofa area which provides some much needed cover from the intense sun, and it was very nice to have a cool dipping pool on the ground floor when you've gotten a little too warm.

An amazing riad with wonderful staff, what more can I say?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Riad Darhani was wonderful. It provided a peaceful and calm atmosphere after the days getting lost in hectic Marrakech. Omar, Abdul and the lovely maids were all welcoming and helpful. They helped us make restaurant reservations and also called to make some enquiries about some other places we wanted to visit. The Riad was always spotless, breakfast on the terrace was amazing (pancakes, croissants, yoghurt, breads and spreads, tea/coffee and fresh orange juice!) and the location is brilliant - right in the heart of Marrakech. It did take a day or so to get used to the route to and from the Riad as it is down some winding alleyways - but we always felt safe nonetheless. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our three nights here - friendly staff, great service, quality rooms, and excellent food.
There are only four rooms in this riad, we took two - the mistress room was nicely done out, nice bathroom with really nice jasmine scented shower gels and soaps.
We really enjoyed the roof terrace, particularly sitting up there in the sun after a hard day's sightseeing, and taking our breakfast and dinner up there.
The food was excellent. Breakfasts included great orange juice, coffee and tea, great pastries that changed every day, good bread and vache-qui-rit, and delicious homemade pancakes with honey. It was so nice to sit up on the terrace in the sun! We ate here once for dinenr, the best meal in Marrakech by a long way, all home cooked and delicious. The harira soup was fantastic, veg tagine and veg couscous really tasty.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and answered all our questions, going out of their way to help us.
When you arrive it may seem like you'll never find your way back but you soon get the hang of it! They even give you mobiles just in case you get lost in the labyrinth of Marrakech.
Great value and we would definitely recommend a stay at Darhani.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Darhani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darhani

Address: 32 Derb Waihah | Qtr Sidi Abdel Aziz, Marrakech 46001, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant riad in the heart of Marrakech Medina. Centrally located. Air conditioned, en-suite bathrooms, Vegetarian and traditional Moroccan cuisine. Courtyard pool, amazing terrace, afternoon tea and cake. English and French speaking manager. Excellent reviews. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darhani Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darhani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.