We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adds a delightful new warmth and insight to the riad experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mesc el Lil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Mesc el Lil to your Saves list
Riad Mesc el Lil
88 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #442 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adds a delightful new warmth and insight to the riad experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We've been going to Marrakesh for business and pleasure for many years and have stayed at some of the most exclusive hotels and riads. You never got away from the idea that you were a tourist. And, there are now quite a number of luxurious riads, that while very nice continue that relationship. At this beautiful and cozy riad, you feel that you are an integral part of the Marrakesh scene. First, there are only 3 rooms, each opening onto the beautiful tree- filled, fountain-gurgling, patio garden. The lovingly decorated rooms are all traditional riad sized and quite comfortable. The included delicious breakfasts, prepared and served by the two smiling girls, came replete with the likes of fresh fruit compote, fresh squeezed orange juice, the lightest crepe-like beghrir with honey or preserves and good, strong coffee. (Why can't I get breakfasts like that at home?) But, the icing on the cake of this delightful place is the wonderfully, literate, knowledgable, quirky owner, Patricia Lebaud, who lives on the premises and turned us on to such insider things as gallery openings, Andalusian music concerts, and farm visits, that were usually only known to Marakshi's. To begin, we were met at the airport by a taxi sent by Patricia. He dropped us at one of the gates to the medina, where we were met by a gentleman with a cart who loaded our bags and led us down the winding derbs (lanes) to the riad. Even after coming to Marrakesh for so many years we were fascinated by the colors and textures of the ancient walls and doors which we had never really taken much notice of before and proceeded to take hundreds of photos of them. If you're planning to stay there ask Patricia for a copy of the delightful email chronicle that I first came across which introduced us to this fantastic experience. We will return. Hope to see you there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    8
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Wiltshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

As my title suggests this is truly one riad that we shall never forget even after many trips to Marrakech on previous occasions. From the moment we entered the riad we were greeted by the charming owner and staff and we felt instantly as though we were returning friends rather than tourists.

Every wish was catered for throughout our stay, we didn't want for anything. The rooms are simply furnished but very comfortable and decorated in an Art Deco style. Clean towels were provided everday and fresh flowers in the room on arrrival was a lovely touch.

The riad itself is beautifully relaxed and tranquil set in the grounds of a garden of Moroccan tiles, fountain, white bourgainvillea flowers and hibiscus. Lots of green foliage offers total privacy whilst sitting outside in the sunshine.

Evening meals can be provided if ordered in advance. They are a real treat and were eagerly devoured by my husband and I after a busy day in the Souk. A Moroccan breakfast was included during our stay and put quite simply, was fresh and delicious.

All in all we both would highly recommend this riad to everyone. The staff are a real credit to the owner and we can't wait to return. Many thanks to all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights in Jan 2010. The location of the riad is handy to all the major attractions of Marrakech. It is a real little gem hidden behind the maze of alley in the middle of the charming medina. The whole place is beautifully presented with the owner’s personal touches. Patricia, the owner is truly a lovely host with massive knowledge about the surroundings, Marrakech and Morocco as well. Her staffs are professional and the meal they prepared for us is really delicious. We would definitely recommend this riad to anybody we know.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

I have just returned from staying in Riad Mesc el Lil on and off over a period of weeks in August /September .. I visit Marrakech every year on business from Australia and am very familiar with the always intoxicating ambience of Marrakech and the Medina and many other Riads. The beauty ,peace and serenity of this Riad away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina is perfect and a convenient location for me to return to every day . I love to trace my steps through the laneways of this ancient town with all of its intoxicating fragrances Patricia Lebaud , the owner was, as always a welcoming and caring hostess with a wonderful sense of humour who creates a magical atmosphere in order for you to relax and who is always willing to offer any help she can with advice or bookings if required. The decoration of the Riad , which she restored over several years -is in exquisite taste and unique in the Medina ... I sleep like a log as it is extremely quiet , which is important when I am working every day .. With its three large rooms opening onto a beautiful courtyard full of orange trees -this Riad is perfect for several friends or a family to rent out completely for total privacy when holidaying .
The cuisine is better than most restaurants and service is impeccable - warm relaxed and friendly - wonderful not to have to go to a restaurant every night .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

The riad is situated just a few minutes walk to the souks and the centre of town. Patricia, our host was most accommodating and was only too happy to suggest activities and places to see. She even organised a day trip into the Atlas Mountains, which was another highlight. The riad is small, only 3 rooms which open out on to the most enchanting patio with centuries old orange trees and angelic birds which add to the charm of the place. You almost forget that you are in the crazy, loud and in-your-face city that is Marrakech. The bedrooms are by far the most stylish I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Clean, spacious and very chic, but with a personal touch that only Patricia could offer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

This Riad is 5 minutes from the Place just in the middle of the Medina. The first time to find it is a little frightening, but once you are there it is a silent paradise just in middle of the Medina, very cool with the lemon trees in the patio. The rooms (only three) are decorated by Patricia as well as the salon with art deco and arabic soberb taste. A dream. The Maroccan cuisiniere is just an artist - we had the best dinner in the Riad, the other 2 nights we went to the Yacoute and the Fondouc restaurant,s supposed to be the best in Marrakech, but much better in the Riad. In the afternoon you van have (alcoholic) aperitif in the patio or in the loveliest small salon listening to all kind of music.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

My sister and I celebrated our 60th with husbands and friends. We booked the whole riad for 5 nights as there were 6 of us. It was the most amazing setting with candles and fairy lights through the garden and Patricia's chefs prepared a traditional Morrocan dinner for the occasion which was superb - adsolutely delicious. The girls served the most delicious breakfasts especially the apples cooked in orange juice with yoghurt and those pancakes and freshly squeezed orange juice and delicious coffee. Patricia could not have been more helpful to us in making us feel at home and organised day trips etc over the Atlas Mountains and to Essaouira. We used our driver to take us up the inland road to Meknes and Fes (stunning scenery and were impressed with the agriculture and cropping) and then Casablanca. This is the only way to travel. We spent 9 days in Morocco and absolutely loved it. Riads are the only way to go - good digs and the best food. Top spot.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mesc el Lil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mesc el Lil

Address: 88 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #442 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rare traditional 18th century Riad beautifully restored and elegantly decorated by the owner. All the cedar doors open onto the vast patio with 4 parterres planted with 7 old orange trees and other verdue around a marble fountain. Hidden behind the doors are three large bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms large salon with fireplace music salon dining room. The vast terrace is surrounded by trees and palms. A secluded peaceful romantic setting in the heart of the old Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Mesc el Lil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mesc el Lil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.