We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis to call home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mesc el Lil

Save Saved
You added Riad Mesc el Lil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Mesc el Lil
88 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #433 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“An oasis to call home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The maze of narrow alleyways leading to this Riad is at first daunting, and with a memory like mine, I was wondering if I'd ever get a handle on it. But strangely, it all fell into place very quickly and this quiet Riad at the end of the maze became a welcome home (after a hectic Marrakech day). Host Patricia and her charming helpers went out of their way to sense and meet our every need, the three rooms, salon and other areas were decorated with an eclectic mix of traditional Moroccan, Art Deco and assorted treasures collected by Patricia who has lived here for 13 years. All rooms open to the glorious courtyard, where a canopy of trees keeps the temperature cool, and provide a leafy home to an assortment of tuneful birds. A highlight was the tranquility of this garden at night, with the balmy air and candles lighting the foliage. Great place to read and relax.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    8
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Spent 4 days in Marrakech with friends. Already Patricia's riad had been recommended to us by friends from New Zealand, and we in turn are happy to pass on what a wonderful oasis Mesc el Lil is. We were met at the airport by Ahmed and this is where our adventure began. Patricia is a great; sharing some of her Marrakech secrets with us; not all I hope as we plan on returning and having some cooking lessons! The breakfasts were perfect. Everything was perfect. Thank you Patricia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This Riad was just lovely, extremely clean and tidy - flowers in our room. Three rooms available - and extremely quiet. Patricia arranged for us to be met at the airport. She goes the extra mile by ensuring you know where you are going and is full of handy hints of where to shop. She has a wonderful list of great restaurants - we are also sorry we didn't arrange to have a meal at the Riad as the breakfasts were great. Highly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were 3 couples of grown-ups from Denmark. We stayed a week at a riad by Patricia in the middle of the Medina in Marrakesh.
It is a wonderful place ! beautiful decorated with great taste. There are 3 bedrooms with separate bathrooms – all very nice and big clean towels every day. Fresh roses in the vases everywhere. The breakfast – which is included – with Arabic pancakes, fresh orangejucie, fresh fruit, coffee and the as you like. Patricia will everything to help you – finding good restaurants, tours out of town and what so ever.
Marrakesh is not a cheap town, so the prices are a bit high as to what you expect it to be in a poor country as Marroco. But we can highly recommend it if you want quietness, beauty and friendliness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This Riad is an oasis within a very short distance of the hustle and bustle of the souks and the splender of the Medina. It defies belief that you can enter into a completely different world that this Riad offers. It is a world of calm, sophistication and mystic; a true oasis that provides relaxation and a chance to catch your breath and re-live the excitment of the day or night. The Riad has fantastic accommodation - very tastefully, and authentically, decorated and set out in a way that provides any level of privacy that you desire. The garden setting is magical, the roof terrace is welcoming, the gentle background haunting music sets the scene and helps you to live the dream. Breakfast in the garden is a real pleasure and a superb start to the day. This place is a real gem and so too is the host, Patricia, who brings a wealth of experience and knowledge to ensure that your stay, both in and out of the Riad is optimised. Get to know her; she really adds value and is as good a host as your will find anywhere. I never return to the same place........for Riad Mesc el Lil I will make an exception........I definitely plan to return. "Excellent" does not do this place justice.

Room Tip: Three rooms available; it doesn't matter which one is allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is the place to stay and experience the real Marrakesh - you won't be disappointed. Patricia arranged for a taxi to meet our bus from Agadir and a porter to take our bags through the winding alleyways to her Riad where she gave us a warm welcome. What a great place - it exceeded our expectations. Lovely big rooms, beautifully furnished, big windows and doors that open on to the central garden area where breakfast was served each morning. It was lovely to have such a nice place to retreat to in the afternoons when it got too hot. A highlight was the cooking class that we had there - a local lady showed us some dishes she cooks at home and then we had what we cooked for our dinner in the garden. Staying with someone like Patrica who has such good local knowledge is a real bonus - she even went out and bought us spices on the last day while we were on a trip to the base of the Atlas mountains - which she also organised. I hope to get back and stay there again some time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tema, Ghana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

After braving through an unfamiliar maze of alleys and finally coming to a stop in front of a massive carved wooden door, it was a pleasant surprise to find the oasis that lay beyond it. The rooms were exquisite and all the original architecture made us feel like we'd been privileged enough to rent out a part of Moroccan history. It was as serene in the mornings as it was beautiful at night. The central garden, the absolute privacy and the precious house cat(whom I sorely miss) were some of the many touches that made the Riad feel like home even after only a two week stay. Even the alleys( absolutely safe and easier to navigate everyday) began to feel like an extended corridor. It was an added bonus to have our incredibly fun hostess double as the "souk whisperer" in leading us to the many nooks and crannies of the nearby souk, getting us fair prices for our various purchases and offering us the insider scoop on how to maximize the quality of our experience. The wonderful food, the delightful staff and our hostess' timeless music collection, made the whole experience that much more sublime. I recommend the Riad Mesc el lil to anyone looking for a classic Moroccan experience minus the synthetic feel of a typical hotel. Given the choice, I'd be back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mesc el Lil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mesc el Lil

Address: 88 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rare traditional 18th century Riad beautifully restored and elegantly decorated by the owner. All the cedar doors open onto the vast patio with 4 parterres planted with 7 old orange trees and other verdue around a marble fountain. Hidden behind the doors are three large bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms large salon with fireplace music salon dining room. The vast terrace is surrounded by trees and palms. A secluded peaceful romantic setting in the heart of the old Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Mesc el Lil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mesc el Lil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.