We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Chouia Chouia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chouia Chouia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Chouia Chouia to your Saves list
Riad Chouia Chouia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 rue Fahl Zefriti Ksour | Djemmaa el fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Riad Chouia Chouia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Riad Chouia Chouia in December, right before Christmas, and had a great 3 night stay. We stayed in the Ohcooq room which I highly recommend for a couple! It's the most private of all the rooms as it's on the highest floor of the riad. Your door opens right up onto the top level of the riad (open air) and it's just a half flight of stairs above you to the terrace where breakfast awaits. We spent an entire morning after breakfast lounging around reading - we had the entire terrace to ourselves. Beautiful view of Atlas Mountains, the Koutobia mosque, and the rest of the city. You can hear the hum of music and life from the square (D'jemma al Fna) nearby. Wifi isn't great in our room but works well in lobby. We had Mo Mo book us a driver to take us "to the mountains" for the day and it was a great chance to see more of Morocco and get out of the city, but in retrospect, it wasn't really on "off the grid" experience that we were hoping for - pretty touristy, lots of stops for camel rides (15 mins back and forth on a trail, underwhelming - don't do it!), rug shop, "pay the guide to take you to the waterfall". We grabbed lunch in the town at the end of the road and then walked around ourselves before heading back to M-kech. Our driver was very nice however to take us to the train station on our way back so we could purchase our train tickets to Tangier - saved us a ton of time and hassle! We loved walking into D'jemma al Fna at night and getting dinner in the food stalls - get ready for aggressive men peddling identical menus. Quite the experience! Followed by mint tea on the balcony of one of the square restaurants. All in all, we loved our Marrakech experience and really enjoyed the Riad Chouia Chouia - we'd book again!

Room Tip: We loved the Ohcooq room! Very private, 3rd floor - top floor of the riad (only room on the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tupastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed for one night, but was made to feel very welcome by Mahood and his team!
The location is very convenient for the main square and although at first the small alleyway to the hotel appears a little worrying it is actually perfectly safe. The room was very nice and the breakfast taken on the terrace was exceptional

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorel-tracy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very well situated near the J'Maa Ef'Na PLace. Good service. Nice breakfasts on the roof top. It's a good place to stay.

Noisy Inside the rooms. not much privacy, like in most riads I've been to in the Medina.
Very clean place with good food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophieSorel_tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I went here for a night together with two friends when we took a trip away from Agadir where we stayed for the rest of the week and boy were we satisfied with the choice.

We hadn't made a reservation before, but had a list of places that we had looked up. I would make a reservation so that you can get help finding your way there the first time. The gate to the street is generally locked and it is very hard to find the first time, when you know the 4 turns to make after leaving Jemaa el Fna it isn't very hard at all.

The staff are very helpful and really kind.

I believe the best part is the roof terrace where breakfast is served. Just wonderful.

It is just as pretty as in the pictures on the website, which I believe says alot about the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank In_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Booked through Hotel.com and the address wasn't quite accurate but helpful staff at the entrance to the street personally delivered us to the door of the Riad - great service. Riad is wonderfully atmospheric with lots of little quirks. Good English spoken with warm welcome. Lovely roof terrace area. Great location to square. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Good value accommodation with an oasis of a rooftop terrace. The staff were excellent in making use feel welcome and looked after. The main square is a stone's throw away through a series of atmospheric alley ways. These can seem unsafe after dark but during our stay, there was a security guard en route who would walk us back to the Riad and waited until we were in doors before returning to his post. Really glad we picked this Riad and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wing C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The two owners are so helpful and attentive. You feel like their most important guest. The roof top garden is beautiful and just the place to sit and enjoy mint tea as you watch the sunset. The rooms are small, and a bit eclectic, but that adds to the charm of staying in Marrakech. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keresch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#168 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#135 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#162 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#32 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#181 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#161 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chouia Chouia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chouia Chouia

Address: 40 rue Fahl Zefriti Ksour | Djemmaa el fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#178 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chouia Chouia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quartier El Ksour is an area full of secret palaces. Riad Chouia Chouia is an exceptional house. Cool off in the swimming pool which is situated in the courtyard patio. Within 2 minutes from Jemmaa el fna square. Price range: 35 to 100 euros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Chouia Chouia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chouia Chouia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Chouia Marrakech
Riad Chouia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing