We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Chouia Chouia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chouia Chouia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chouia Chouia to your Saves list
Riad Chouia Chouia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 rue Fahl Zefriti Ksour | Djemmaa el fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Pacific Grove, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Riad Chouia Chouia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Riad Chouia Chouia in December, right before Christmas, and had a great 3 night stay. We stayed in the Ohcooq room which I highly recommend for a couple! It's the most private of all the rooms as it's on the highest floor of the riad. Your door opens right up onto the top level of the riad (open air) and it's just a half flight of stairs above you to the terrace where breakfast awaits. We spent an entire morning after breakfast lounging around reading - we had the entire terrace to ourselves. Beautiful view of Atlas Mountains, the Koutobia mosque, and the rest of the city. You can hear the hum of music and life from the square (D'jemma al Fna) nearby. Wifi isn't great in our room but works well in lobby. We had Mo Mo book us a driver to take us "to the mountains" for the day and it was a great chance to see more of Morocco and get out of the city, but in retrospect, it wasn't really on "off the grid" experience that we were hoping for - pretty touristy, lots of stops for camel rides (15 mins back and forth on a trail, underwhelming - don't do it!), rug shop, "pay the guide to take you to the waterfall". We grabbed lunch in the town at the end of the road and then walked around ourselves before heading back to M-kech. Our driver was very nice however to take us to the train station on our way back so we could purchase our train tickets to Tangier - saved us a ton of time and hassle! We loved walking into D'jemma al Fna at night and getting dinner in the food stalls - get ready for aggressive men peddling identical menus. Quite the experience! Followed by mint tea on the balcony of one of the square restaurants. All in all, we loved our Marrakech experience and really enjoyed the Riad Chouia Chouia - we'd book again!

Room Tip: We loved the Ohcooq room! Very private, 3rd floor - top floor of the riad (only room on the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    68
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
91
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Only stayed for one night, but was made to feel very welcome by Mahood and his team!
The location is very convenient for the main square and although at first the small alleyway to the hotel appears a little worrying it is actually perfectly safe. The room was very nice and the breakfast taken on the terrace was exceptional

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorel-tracy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very well situated near the J'Maa Ef'Na PLace. Good service. Nice breakfasts on the roof top. It's a good place to stay.

Noisy Inside the rooms. not much privacy, like in most riads I've been to in the Medina.
Very clean place with good food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I went here for a night together with two friends when we took a trip away from Agadir where we stayed for the rest of the week and boy were we satisfied with the choice.

We hadn't made a reservation before, but had a list of places that we had looked up. I would make a reservation so that you can get help finding your way there the first time. The gate to the street is generally locked and it is very hard to find the first time, when you know the 4 turns to make after leaving Jemaa el Fna it isn't very hard at all.

The staff are very helpful and really kind.

I believe the best part is the roof terrace where breakfast is served. Just wonderful.

It is just as pretty as in the pictures on the website, which I believe says alot about the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Booked through Hotel.com and the address wasn't quite accurate but helpful staff at the entrance to the street personally delivered us to the door of the Riad - great service. Riad is wonderfully atmospheric with lots of little quirks. Good English spoken with warm welcome. Lovely roof terrace area. Great location to square. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Good value accommodation with an oasis of a rooftop terrace. The staff were excellent in making use feel welcome and looked after. The main square is a stone's throw away through a series of atmospheric alley ways. These can seem unsafe after dark but during our stay, there was a security guard en route who would walk us back to the Riad and waited until we were in doors before returning to his post. Really glad we picked this Riad and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The two owners are so helpful and attentive. You feel like their most important guest. The roof top garden is beautiful and just the place to sit and enjoy mint tea as you watch the sunset. The rooms are small, and a bit eclectic, but that adds to the charm of staying in Marrakech. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chouia Chouia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chouia Chouia

Address: 40 rue Fahl Zefriti Ksour | Djemmaa el fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#149 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chouia Chouia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quartier El Ksour is an area full of secret palaces. Riad Chouia Chouia is an exceptional house. Cool off in the swimming pool which is situated in the courtyard patio. Within 2 minutes from Jemmaa el fna square. Price range: 35 to 100 euros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Chouia Chouia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chouia Chouia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Chouia Marrakech
Riad Chouia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chouia Chouia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.