We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right price and the best place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chouia Chouia

Save Saved
You added Riad Chouia Chouia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Chouia Chouia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 rue Fahl Zefriti Ksour | Djemmaa el fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
milton, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The right price and the best place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

As soon as our taxi stopped, Mohamed was waiting with a big smile to take our bags and lead me, my wife, and teenage daughter through the back streets in the Medina. The place is located about a 3 minute walk from the entrance of the Medina and about 2 minutes from restaurants, pharmacies, grocers, and other shops. Walk another 2 minutes and you're in Jemma El Fna - the heart of the medina. Rooms are large and quiet. The terrace is large and has many places to sit and relax. Mohamed serves breakfast on the terrace. The pool is kept very clean, and by Moroccan standards, it was large enough to cool us off in the hot afternoons. Our host, Olive was great. Friendly, funny, and helpful. We had some problems with our Visa card clearing in many areas of Morocco, including the Chouia Chouia. Olive trusted us to pay when we got back to the states. I left my sunglasses at the riad and Olive emailed me for my address to send them to. I thanked him and told him to keep them, since I bought them in Italy for 5 Euro.
I strongly recommend this place for its location, the price for what you get, and just the overall great treatment we received from our hosts. Great for honeymooners, families with kids, seniors, and young travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    67
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
88
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were unimpressed when the staff took it upon themselves to move our belongings from the room we'd been staying in for 4 nights without our consent whilst we were out of the property. It has to be the worst service we've ever received from a hotel. Nothing was missing but that is beyond the point, prior warning would've been much appreciated. Afterwards we were told it was because our booking was for 2 separate rooms (lie, we paid the same room rate and booked the only twin room available). We were moved to a much smaller room on our final night with a bathroom that was a fraction of the size of the one we had before - then again you don't go on holiday to use the bathroom facilities too much anyway!

Belongings drama aside Riad Chouia Chouia was fantastically clean (I'd probably eat off the bathroom surfaces), the complimentary breakfast was great and authentic and the staff were helpful. The location is very close to the Medina and the view of the Koutubia Mosque from the terrace is amazing. I would recommend staying here but would advise caution - the forced room move debacle shows a basic lack of judgement, service and respect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in the Riad opposite Chouia Chouia because there was a problem with our rooms. The replacement however was excellent and we where able to use all the facilities of the main house. Personnel was very friendly, efficient and arranged all our transport flawlessly. The location was great, only five minutes walk to Place Jamaa el Fna. The house was cool even with 49 degrees Celsius and the pool was clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I travelled morrocco for the first time. I found riad chouia chouia hotel in Marrakech. it was a great hotel to feel morroco. I recommend all to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I stayed at RCC for 6 days while visiting Marrakech last week. To our surprise, our taxi driver (not from the hotel) knew where it was and pointed us down the winding alley. Like many hotels, there is a central courtyard that opens up to the sky in the middle, so it feels like you're outside. Because it was cold, this wasn't so pleasant as it would've been in the summer but our room had a heater and extra blanket to make up for it. Our room was small and our bathroom was located across from it, not in the same room, which was probably better because the bathroom smelled a little. Breakfast is served on the top floor outside and consists of something that's a cross between a pancake and English muffin, those big discs of bread, orange juice, and mint tea.

Aside from our actual accommodation, the hosts are incredible. Those guys will do anything for you. They got up early to give us food before a tour, gave us a power strip for our room, water, and even got things for the other guests such as cables and chargers.

Pros: great location, helpful hosts, good (fresh!) breakfast.
Cons: bathroom odor, cold at night/in morning, wifi wasn't so good in the rooms.

In the end, we payed 47 euros a night and we enjoyed ourselves and would definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Great Riad with super location, very near the central place. Only a few minutes walking.
It is very importent to stay close to the central place. Not because the big square is essential, but because this is where you can easely walk to any place and sights within the citywalls.

Pool is pretty, but dont seem clean enough to "swim" in.

Rooms, not that autentic, but great space, and you dont stay in much. Stay in a room on the first floor or the suite at the 2 floor. 2 rooms at the first floor has great big bathrooms, 2 have very tiny bathrooms.

Terraces, 3 different levels, Wonderfull spaces. wonderfull views over the city “skyline”. A lot of cozy sittingareas incl. roofed sitting areas if weather demands it.
Breakfirst is standard, with bread, pancakes, 1 glass of juice, coffee or the. And 2 sorts of marmalade. You drink your coffee of a bowl : )
Tip, If you speak French, it would be a big plus.
Lack of cozyness in the evenings. Would prefer some candlelights around the Riad when dark falls.

Would stay again any time, because of price,location and privacy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reepham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Arranged to be picked up at airport which was a good idea because it would be hard to find (like most of the riads in Marrakech) on your own. Really close to Djemaa el-Fna and easy to get to the square once given the simple instructions. Despite the dark alleys leading to the riad, the area feels safe.

The riad itself isn't fancy (although it has many unique and quirky touches) but it is clean and excellent value for money. The various terraces provide plenty of choices for relaxing and the small plunge pool is very welcome after a hot afternoon wandering the souks.

The staff at the riad is fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble. Everyone is incredibly friendly and helpful - they arranged a trip to Ourika for us which was a lovely antidote to the hustle and bustle of the city. Apparently there are lots of other things they can arrange for you too - just ask. We ate at the riad on the last day and wished we had done so sooner. The food was amazing - the best we'd had all week.

As far as Marrakech itself is concerned, it was our first trip and we learned the hard way that the best thing to do is always ask the price first. The henna tattoo women in the square are ruthless!! Don't be worried about saying no and walking away from the many people that will approach you to buy something, to guide you somewhere, etc.

Go to a hammam and have a fantastic massage, enjoy some lively banter from the boys on the food stalls in Djemaa el-Fna and take in the sights and sounds of Marrakech at night. Have as good a time as we did - I just can't wait to go back and will be staying at Chouia Chouia when I do.

Room Tip: Some rooms are small (room 3 especially). We stayed in Room 2 which was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chouia Chouia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chouia Chouia

Address: 40 rue Fahl Zefriti Ksour | Djemmaa el fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#125 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#147 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chouia Chouia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quartier El Ksour is an area full of secret palaces. Riad Chouia Chouia is an exceptional house. Cool off in the swimming pool which is situated in the courtyard patio. Within 2 minutes from Jemmaa el fna square. Price range: 35 to 100 euros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Chouia Chouia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chouia Chouia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Chouia Marrakech
Riad Chouia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chouia Chouia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.