We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to feel morroco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chouia Chouia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chouia Chouia to your Saves list
Riad Chouia Chouia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 rue Fahl Zefriti Ksour | Djemmaa el fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“great place to feel morroco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I travelled morrocco for the first time. I found riad chouia chouia hotel in Marrakech. it was a great hotel to feel morroco. I recommend all to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    73
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
57
95
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

A friend and I stayed at RCC for 6 days while visiting Marrakech last week. To our surprise, our taxi driver (not from the hotel) knew where it was and pointed us down the winding alley. Like many hotels, there is a central courtyard that opens up to the sky in the middle, so it feels like you're outside. Because it was cold, this wasn't so pleasant as it would've been in the summer but our room had a heater and extra blanket to make up for it. Our room was small and our bathroom was located across from it, not in the same room, which was probably better because the bathroom smelled a little. Breakfast is served on the top floor outside and consists of something that's a cross between a pancake and English muffin, those big discs of bread, orange juice, and mint tea.

Aside from our actual accommodation, the hosts are incredible. Those guys will do anything for you. They got up early to give us food before a tour, gave us a power strip for our room, water, and even got things for the other guests such as cables and chargers.

Pros: great location, helpful hosts, good (fresh!) breakfast.
Cons: bathroom odor, cold at night/in morning, wifi wasn't so good in the rooms.

In the end, we payed 47 euros a night and we enjoyed ourselves and would definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Great Riad with super location, very near the central place. Only a few minutes walking.
It is very importent to stay close to the central place. Not because the big square is essential, but because this is where you can easely walk to any place and sights within the citywalls.

Pool is pretty, but dont seem clean enough to "swim" in.

Rooms, not that autentic, but great space, and you dont stay in much. Stay in a room on the first floor or the suite at the 2 floor. 2 rooms at the first floor has great big bathrooms, 2 have very tiny bathrooms.

Terraces, 3 different levels, Wonderfull spaces. wonderfull views over the city “skyline”. A lot of cozy sittingareas incl. roofed sitting areas if weather demands it.
Breakfirst is standard, with bread, pancakes, 1 glass of juice, coffee or the. And 2 sorts of marmalade. You drink your coffee of a bowl : )
Tip, If you speak French, it would be a big plus.
Lack of cozyness in the evenings. Would prefer some candlelights around the Riad when dark falls.

Would stay again any time, because of price,location and privacy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reepham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Arranged to be picked up at airport which was a good idea because it would be hard to find (like most of the riads in Marrakech) on your own. Really close to Djemaa el-Fna and easy to get to the square once given the simple instructions. Despite the dark alleys leading to the riad, the area feels safe.

The riad itself isn't fancy (although it has many unique and quirky touches) but it is clean and excellent value for money. The various terraces provide plenty of choices for relaxing and the small plunge pool is very welcome after a hot afternoon wandering the souks.

The staff at the riad is fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble. Everyone is incredibly friendly and helpful - they arranged a trip to Ourika for us which was a lovely antidote to the hustle and bustle of the city. Apparently there are lots of other things they can arrange for you too - just ask. We ate at the riad on the last day and wished we had done so sooner. The food was amazing - the best we'd had all week.

As far as Marrakech itself is concerned, it was our first trip and we learned the hard way that the best thing to do is always ask the price first. The henna tattoo women in the square are ruthless!! Don't be worried about saying no and walking away from the many people that will approach you to buy something, to guide you somewhere, etc.

Go to a hammam and have a fantastic massage, enjoy some lively banter from the boys on the food stalls in Djemaa el-Fna and take in the sights and sounds of Marrakech at night. Have as good a time as we did - I just can't wait to go back and will be staying at Chouia Chouia when I do.

Room Tip: Some rooms are small (room 3 especially). We stayed in Room 2 which was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Recently stayed in this riad with a group of 6 other friends. We booked out the entire annex and one room in the main riad. We loved the riad - particularly the annex with its own terrace which we used for a bit of sunbathing - perfect!!
The staff were really helpful, helped us organise a day trip out of the city and generally were lovely. One of our friends was sick with food poisoning on the last day, and even though we were supposed to check out at 11.30am they let her stay on until we left for the airport.
The breakfast was jam and breads, and we also had a nice dinner one night with great salads and tajine :)
The only thing to note is that the rooms in the annex have no doors onto the ensuites! And the pool in the main riad is not the sort you would want to swim in! However the rooms were all lovely - esp the room in the main riad
Would really recommend it - good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

A group of 6 forty something girls stayed in the Annex for a long weekend in March. None of us had been to Marrakech before and we were really made to feel welcome by Massod and all the staff. There were 6 of us so the Annex was perfect and it was like having our own little house, with our own roof terrace and breakfast was served here every morning. Massod arranged a lot of our trips/restaurants and gave us some really good advice for exploring. We couldn't have had a better time, we only wish we could have stayed longer and we would highly recommend the Annex to anyone. Only slight drawback was the stairs especially if you get the bedroom on the ground floor to the 3rd floor roof terrace but they certainly keep you fit! It was a great place to come back to after all the haggling we did in the Souks, the main square couldn't be nearer but the Annex was a little oasis after the hussle and bustle. Couldn't recommend our trip highly enough and we would all love to return.

Room Tip: Book the Annex if 6 staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed in the riad for 5 nights. It's perfectly situated near the square and in the soukhs. Nice rooms (some not for long people.... mind your head!). Due to the wheather there is always a place to stay at one of the terraces. We had diner in rainy wheather so we couldn't sit on the terrace, but we could eat by the neighbours. The diner was very good. Breakfast is bread, pancakes, juice, coffee, (moroccan) tea and jam. We bought some cheese and eggs in the soukhs. The cook baked them for me, no problem. Thanks to Massoud and Mohammed, who made our stay really nice. We went to the nearest (traditional) hammam. It's an experience... We enjoyed our time in the riad, it's a very nice place, and when we are in Marrakech again we will come back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#342 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#173 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#167 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Naima
Dar Naima
#255 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Alamir
Riad Alamir
#124 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#86 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chouia Chouia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chouia Chouia

Address: 40 rue Fahl Zefriti Ksour | Djemmaa el fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#176 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chouia Chouia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quartier El Ksour is an area full of secret palaces. Riad Chouia Chouia is an exceptional house. Cool off in the swimming pool which is situated in the courtyard patio. Within 2 minutes from Jemmaa el fna square. Price range: 35 to 100 euros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Chouia Chouia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chouia Chouia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Chouia Marrakech
Riad Chouia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chouia Chouia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.