We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chouia Chouia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chouia Chouia to your Saves list
Riad Chouia Chouia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 rue Fahl Zefriti Ksour | Djemmaa el fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Obdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed in the riad for 5 nights. It's perfectly situated near the square and in the soukhs. Nice rooms (some not for long people.... mind your head!). Due to the wheather there is always a place to stay at one of the terraces. We had diner in rainy wheather so we couldn't sit on the terrace, but we could eat by the neighbours. The diner was very good. Breakfast is bread, pancakes, juice, coffee, (moroccan) tea and jam. We bought some cheese and eggs in the soukhs. The cook baked them for me, no problem. Thanks to Massoud and Mohammed, who made our stay really nice. We went to the nearest (traditional) hammam. It's an experience... We enjoyed our time in the riad, it's a very nice place, and when we are in Marrakech again we will come back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    68
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
91
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights, in a room on the first floor. Really close to Jemma El Fnna (less than a 5 min walk). As with every other Riad in Marrakesh, not v easy to find so I wish the staff would set up a meeting point after arrival in the city. However, we were able to call them and they met us and showed us the way.
Breakfast is ok- standard breads, OJ, and jams.
Room was clean
Bathroom was clean, but seemed almost unfinished- perfectly adequate for a couple days
Overall, an awesome value for 45euros/night

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Hi

What made the whole experience while staying in Marrakesh, was the friendly and very attentive staff especially Aziz, nothing was every any bother or hassle. The beds were quite small but the views over the terrace and the quant decor made it a very pleasurable stay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Our biggest issue here was that our plans altered a bit and I contacted the raid 4 days ahead to change our reservation from 4 to 3 nights. The French owner insisted on charging for the full 4 nights. He claims the policy is on his website, but I cannot find that. No negotiation at all. This issue put me in a pretty grumpy mood-not so fun on vacation. Riad was otherwise charming and assitants Aziz and Massoud were great. Decor more French Moroccan (French owner) than Moroccan Moroccan.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivemarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Chouia Chouia, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
reservation by the client agency on the internet has J-24 it decided to cancel his stay. automatically conditions of cancellation of agency applies no show
the next day will come when the same client at the riad because we have him explain that his card was debitter
Écouter
Lire phonétiquementDictionnaire - Afficher le dictionnaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Liked the Riad, the staff speaks a lot of languages (really amaxing). The only con was that it was a bit loud if peopled entreed or exeted the riad.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Unlike my Riad in Fes, this Riad was a gem. When Aziz picked me up from Djemaa al Fna, I was surprised to see the excellent location of the Riad, very close to the square, and also secluded and quite. There is a great terrace (2 levels actually) from which you can watch the beautiful sunset, and the rooms are decorated beautifully, with very comfortable beds. It is also very safe. Aziz is something on his own. He is very friendly and helpful, a very good soul. I was there the first day of Eid, and he shared with me the food his mom had sent over for him. The place will certainly see another visit from me, and this time with bunch of friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Stayed here with some girlfriends last weekend and had a great time. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was perfectly adequate and good value for money. Ideally situated for the main square and sueks. 5 star hotel round the corner for pre dinner cocktails and après dinner wine, pricey but worth it after a hard days haggling in the sueks.
The best bit about Riad Chouia is the roof terrace, fab views over the roof tops of Marrakesh and very comfortable. We checkout at 11 but didn’t have to leave for the airport until 3.30, we sunbathed on the roof terrace until it was time to go. We were provided with water, coffee, a room for our luggage and a shower room to freshen up in. This was particularly appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chouia Chouia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chouia Chouia

Address: 40 rue Fahl Zefriti Ksour | Djemmaa el fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#143 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chouia Chouia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quartier El Ksour is an area full of secret palaces. Riad Chouia Chouia is an exceptional house. Cool off in the swimming pool which is situated in the courtyard patio. Within 2 minutes from Jemmaa el fna square. Price range: 35 to 100 euros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Chouia Chouia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chouia Chouia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Chouia Marrakech
Riad Chouia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chouia Chouia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.