We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful city-villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dalia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dalia to your Saves list
Riad Dalia
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   40 derb Tizegarine | Rue Dar El Bacha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful city-villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

A place of remarkable beauty, Riad Dalia is located in the heart of the Northern Medina. Follow a few tiny streets, through a Souk, to reach the Jamaa El Fna square. The inner court is of a serene beauty, the decoration of the rooms is very tasteful. Our bathroom had a remarkable, understated elegance, quite possibly the most splendid place I've ever splashed my face with cold water in.

Despite the busy surroundings, the place is very quiet as night. Add to that the friendliness of the staff, and you get a perfect stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    35
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
77
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We are on a round trip in Marrakech as we arrived at this lovely riad. Finding it was not really easy. But as soon as you're at palais bacha and you walk towards the souks, you'll find a sign with several other Riads on you're left.
The staff here is super friendly (speaking French and a bit English).
The rooms are small but beautiful decorated.
The breakfast is excellent. We ate upstairs on the terras in the sun. The orange juice was far better then we experienced on the big square and we got hot-chocolate!
It's nice and quiet here and within 2minutes you are in the main souk of Marrakech.
We could recommend everybody to stay at this Riad for a few day's.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed at the Dalia for two nights, and enjoyed the peace, beauty and atmosphere of the place. Mohammad and his staff are truly wonderful people, and were helpful from the booking onwards. They arranged transfers for me on arrival and departure. I was greeted at the taxi stand and shown the way to the riad through the twists and turns of the madina (all this with them carrying my bags). I was given a bottle of cold water on arrival, and shown to my room which was beautifully decorated.

The quality of sleep was wonderful. The double bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in whilst on travels (there was also a second single bed in the "chamber" which was softer as well). Since the room overlooks the courtyard there was ambient noise through the shuttered windows, but this was quiet chat on the first night, and a member of staff softly practicing traditional music on the second (a marvelous sound to drift off to).

The breakfast was served in the courtyard. Moroccan bread with butter, cheese, and jam; a boiled egg and freshly squeezed orange juice served on arabesque plates. The meal was tasty, and the coffee good. In fact, I should note that I found the juice far better than the "must have" juice at the Jamaa el Fna. The riad also offers other meals if you let them know you want them. While I didn't arrange either of my evening meals here, I was served some very nice bread, tomatoes and juice just before my departure.

The helpfulness and attention of the staff can again be mentioned, as I was once again guided out of the narrow streets till I got a handle on the route on my second day. Staff members also helped with my bags to the pick up point on the day I left.

The courtyard, rooms, and common areas are really atmospheric, and the decorations gorgeous. I spent some very pleasant time just chilling in the shade of the courtyard.

I really cannot rate this riad (an especially the staff) highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We arrived in Marrakech on a Sunday evening and found getting a taxi at the train station to the riad difficult. Finally found one who could take us, but only so far as cars cannot navigate the narrow and winding lanes. We were immediately pounced upon by a group of young boys who offered to take us anywhere - and we immediately realized we were at their mercy as we had no idea where to go. We were slightly apprehensive as we were hurried through the maze, but as soon as we arrived at the riad, the welcome given by Mohammed put us at ease. He claims his English is poor, but I think he just looks for compliments - communication about anything was no problem at all. He is a very friendly and warm gentleman. We stayed in two different rooms; both were very Moroccan in decore with tiles, scarves, cushions, carpets, potpouri, brasssware everywhere. The riad could be a small museum or a gift shop - there was always something to look at. One of our rooms opened out into a sitting room with a great collection of Moroccan travel books. Bathroom was big - as was the bathtub - and the water was always hot. Breakfast was excellent - we still dream about freshly squeezed orange juice and Moroccan pancakes - and we enjoyed it up on the rooftop terrace one morning and in the central courtyard, teeming with flowering plants, vines and small fountain, the next. If you are òf the arthritic knee vintage, the stairs up to the terrace can be a small challenge, but once there the climb is well worth it. . This is not a western style, ultra clean (and ultra impersonal) hotel. It is a wonderful collection of rooms full of colors and textures and wooden window shutters, hidden away behind a closed door, that meet all the exotic expectations of Marrakech. Many of the attractions of Marrakech are within walking distance of the riad or a short taxi ride away. Mohammed has all the information about where to go and how to get there and has a great map of the immediate area. He advised us which alleyways to take our first night there and which to leave for the daylight hours - not, I`m sure due to safety, but just to help us from getting lost at night. He also made sure there were no language mix-ups with taxi drivers and that they were sure of our destinations. Mohammed is the star of the show!

Room Tip: Use the guides to lead you to Riad Dalia. There is some signage, but it is easy to miss the first t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I could not recommend a better place for your stay while in Marrakech! My wife and I stayed here while on a Moroccan Holiday. We stayed here for two nights and the hospitality blew us away. While Morocco is known for wonderful hospitality, this place is hands down, better than every other place we stayed in Morocco. We had been traveling all over Morocco and only wanted a short stay in Marrakech. We stayed one night, then booked a 3 day desert tour through the hotel (review of that below) and then came back for one final night at the road before we flew home. We stayed in a lovely room that was one floor up form the main level and overlooked the courtyard. The room was spacious and warm. The pillows were wonderful and the bed was super comfortable. The terrace is a great place to request breakfast! Our hosts went out of their way to have a breakfast waiting for us the day we departed early for the desert trek and were so generous to keep our bags while we enjoyed this adventure!

Everything about this Raid was wonderful! It was a great price, WONDERFUL service, a lovely room, and overall a wonderful stay.

I hesitate to associate the following info with the Riad but since we booked the Desert Trek through the Riad and I cannot seem to find the company on Trip advisor, it will have to suffice. PLEASE do not let this review of the 3 day desert trek deter you if you are only planning to stay at this Riad and not do the 3 day tour. The RIAD is a GREAT Riad for the price and you cannot go wrong with this place!

If you are considering the Camel Trek adventures, please take this into consideration:
We purchased the three day camel Trekking from our hotel while in Marrakech. We were told that all of the guides spoke English and that the Tour was all inclusive except for lunches.

Here is what actually happened:

We were picked up by a pair of guys who did not speak English who put our things in a van and took us to another part of the city. They both got out of the van and did not say a word to us. 30 minutes later, they came into the van and drove somewhere else without saying anything to us. We then arrived at another location and was told to get out of the van and get our thing. We were then told to stand on the corner of the street and someone would come get us soon. 30 minuted later, others joined us on the side of the street with similar stories. We then were told to get in a van and it was PACKED. They threw our bags on the top of the van and we were off with a "guide" who spoke VERY little english. I hesitate to call him a guide because he was really only a bus driver. There was no real guide the entire time! The only way to learn anything (even where we were) was to look at the travel books we brought with us. He also only played music he knew and sang real loud the entire time. It was quite funny.

The hotel they put us in was ok and the food was average. We learned that the amount people paid varied from 71 Euros to 100 Euros per person. We paid 95.

The actual camel ride lasted about 1 hour and that is all you really need. Your butt will hurt after one hour! It is pretty amazing though. The desert is simply fantastic! Sleeping out there was a lifetime memory. I wanted to stay longer. We woke up super early and was able to see the sun rise as we rode back! It was simply amazing.

This tour is not for anyone who likes to take their time and look around. You can take their itinerary and do it yourself and be much happier. We FLEW through each stop with only 5-10 minutes at each stop to take photos and we stopped for photos at some random places while we passed some amazing photo opps along the way. I would have rather hired a driver and done it on our own. It would cost more but it would have allowed for a little more adventure and time in each place.

I do not regret going on this tour but it reaffirmed that I do not really like canned tours! If you have the money and the time, do it right! If you just want a wham, bam, thank you m'am tour, this is for you. Keep your expectations low and you will be happy! PLEASE do not go with high expectations and complain the whole time. It make the trip bad for the others. (we had 3 or 4 of those on our trip). If you are going to complain, stay home!

All in all, the trip was Average because it could have been a lot better! If you happen to be in Marrakech or Fes and only have 3 days for the dessert, DO it. If you have longer, plan it out and hire a private guide company.

Room Tip: Ask for the room just up the stairs leading up to the terrace. It is a lovely room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The owner Mohammed was very kind and went out of his way to be helpful as did the two kind and friendly sisters working there. He organised cheap transfers from the airport, advised us about things, gave us free drinks, generally made us very welcome. The hotel was clean, comfortable and cool with a great breakfast terrace with lovely views to compliment the traditional Moroccan breakfast with yummy fresh orange juice (some other riads we stayed in didn't have fresh juice) and hot pancakes along with bread, butter, jam, cheese, yogurt, tea and coffee, great! Lovely library and courtyard area, location was good and quiet at night but a couple of minutes down few little alleys take you right into the souks (market area). Safe as a lot of security guards and police at nearby museum etc adds to feeling of safety especially at night. Cant remember if there was air conditioning but was so cool inside the room we didn't need any. large room with desk and seating area and large bathroom with shower and old traditional clay bath, very atmospheric with several shuttered windows overlooking the courtyard. There are some slightly cheaper options closer to the main square but this was very nice if you want a traditional experience. Personally I also like the fact it is Moroccan owned as most Riads seem to be French owned and I feel better contributing back into the local economy more directly.

Room Tip: the room with the door within the library area is great, spacious and full of traditional touches
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We just returned from Morocco and 3 nights in this riad. It has few amenities, few services -- no concierge, no room service, no restaurant, a courtyard dirty with bird droppings and a tiny kitchen (bfast was a hassle -- when we didn't want to eat at 8:30, we had to scrounge for ourselves). Rooms were seedy and uncomfortable. If the light had been have decent in the bathoom we would have been really grossed out, I'm sure. Just our opinion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#113 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.5 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#39 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#198 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dalia

Address: 40 derb Tizegarine | Rue Dar El Bacha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dalia 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dalia, located near the palace of Pasha Glaoui, once home of a boss of it renovated by the miniaturist painter Mohamed El MRAMER, create a calming effect. A vine (Arabic Dalia) and a fountain adorn a patio surrounded by 5 bedrooms. In this haven of serenity, your desires will be satisfied by the artist and his staff. Your vacation will be a dream holiday. Warm welcome, airport transfer, shows organized, traditional Moroccan cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Dalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.