We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis midst chaos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dalia

Save Saved
You added Riad Dalia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dalia
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   40 derb Tizegarine | Rue Dar El Bacha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 187 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Chester, VT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An oasis midst chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Riad Dalia is an authentic traditional Moroccan small palace with a peaceful, colorful central garden courtyard. Coming in from the nearby medina and the hawking in the souk is like stepping immediately out of chaos into order and quiet. It is all the work of the owner, Mohammed, the kind and helpful proprietor who has spent the past 15 or so years restoring this old Moroccan mansion back to its former glory. The atrium has the traditional trees and a central fountain, beautiful tiles, Arabic calligraphy and architecture. The rooms are not huge but they are of a reasonable size, tastefully decorated with bright fabric and tiles, mosaic lighting fixtures and small decorative pieces that one would never find in even the finest hotels. Trust is key. Cleanliness is obvious; substantial breakfasts get one off to a good start. The location is perfect for visiting the fabled central square -- a "must see" but only once! Don't get lost in the souk or you'll be paying a bunch of kids who are only too willing to show you the way out. Look like you know what you're doing and try not to pay too much attention to the constant hawkers and sellers in the souk and on the streets. It's a cultural phenomenon. In all, Riad Dalia is a little gem and the owner is a jeweler. Worth the money and the effort to find it among the alleys.
Gene -- Vermont, USA

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    27
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
67
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We arrived really late at night and our pre arranged taxi was there waiting at the airport as planned. Mohammed (the lovely owner) then met us on the main road to walk us down. I'm not going to lie - it was late, dark and first impressions of the little alleyway were not good. We were terrified! However, once inside the riad it was absolutely beautiful. A real haven away from busy Marrakech. We 'braved' walking outside alone to find the main square that night and it was fine. By the end of the trip we felt quite silly for feeling so scared!

Our room wasn't huge but perfectly fine for our needs - the bathroom was lovely and spotlessly clean.

The breakfast was a highlight - we managed to get the rooftop table most mornings and it was absolutely beautiful. Eating breakfast outside in the February sun was a real treat. We had boiled eggs, bread, pancakes and yogurt if I remember rightly along with fresh orange juice and coffee.

The only niggle we had was during the booking process - I originally booked five nights then we decided to change our flights so I cancelled the booking and re booked for six nights. I then emailed the riad to arrange an airport transfer about a week before we were due to arrive but they had got our bookings confused and not realised we were booked in again so weren't expecting us. Stressful day trying to sort it all out and Mohammed got us a room for 5 nights but had to arrange 1 night in a nearby Riad. It worked out OK for us as we'd planned to go to the mountains anyway so just went on that day. A little stressful at the time but it all got sorted out so not a big problem.

All in all we had a great time and I highly recommend staying.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We spend( couple in their 30s) four nights at Riad Dalia and had a great time. It is beautiful riad with very nice decorated rooms, very peaceful and comforting. You will find very nice inner yard and tarrrace brilliant places to relax after coming back from the noisy city centre. Breakfast is very tasty, fresh and plentiful. You will have to arrange to be picked up by Mohamed( we order the taxi via hotel) as this place is very dificult to find, as most of the places in medina. The location is good, abot 15 min walk to the main square.
If you want to try nice food or coffee choose places with less tourists and more locals
( cheaper and better).There is supermarket( about 30 min walk) near Majorelle gardes where you can buy cheap alkohol. Marquize cigarrettes ar 17 MAB per pack of 20- DO NOT PAY MORE.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

Frankly, we were sceptic when we moved from an expensive luxery riad to Riad Dalia, since everywhere we stepped our foot in this country we felt ripped off, but this riad is an acceptance. The riad is very afforable compared to what you get and the owner is one of the most genuine and friendly people we've met in this country. We are definitly recommending this riad if you are looking for a traditional Marrocon riad that is cosy but affordable plus located in a secure area.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

How wonderful to stay at a Riad which is not ran by an expatriate. Mohammed really did a great job in refurbishing the building and creating some nice rooms. The breakfast was very tasty with fresh orange juice, Moroccan pancakes and other surprises. Great location too. Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: We preferred the room on the first floor above the ones on the patio, this gives you a bit more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Riad Dalia.The riad was very artfully decorated with beautiful cushions and a lovely room. the riad is down a narrow allyway but we felt very safe and the locals were friendly. We had a great meal in the evening provided by Mohamed the owner who also arranged for us to have a taxi from the airport.The accomodation was very reasonable and for breakfast was some yummy pancakes with chocolate or marmalade and fresh orangejuice. the riad is near enough to walk to the main centre(10 -15 mins walk) but nice and peaceful with a nice roof terrace where we had an evening rest looking over the rooftops and watching the local cats walking about.we had very good service and Mohamed was kind and friendly and gave us good advice on things to buy. We went to a brill restuarant called bar donab just 2 mins walk away from the riad which we recomend for architecture and food.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

we enjoy very much our stay in Dalia Riad.
The owners are very gentle and cool.
The rooms are made in a beautiful marrokish style.
we enjoy the terraces in the silence.
It's very well situated in the medina and you can go home at night with no problems.
the breakfast is very good served in mosaic dishes.
Cali and Nina

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dalia

Address: 40 derb Tizegarine | Rue Dar El Bacha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 187 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dalia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dalia, located near the palace of Pasha Glaoui, once home of a boss of it renovated by the miniaturist painter Mohamed El MRAMER, create a calming effect. A vine (Arabic Dalia) and a fountain adorn a patio surrounded by 5 bedrooms. In this haven of serenity, your desires will be satisfied by the artist and his staff. Your vacation will be a dream holiday. Warm welcome, airport transfer, shows organized, traditional Moroccan cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad Dalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.