We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dalia

Save Saved
You added Riad Dalia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dalia
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   40 derb Tizegarine | Rue Dar El Bacha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“perfect oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We spend( couple in their 30s) four nights at Riad Dalia and had a great time. It is beautiful riad with very nice decorated rooms, very peaceful and comforting. You will find very nice inner yard and tarrrace brilliant places to relax after coming back from the noisy city centre. Breakfast is very tasty, fresh and plentiful. You will have to arrange to be picked up by Mohamed( we order the taxi via hotel) as this place is very dificult to find, as most of the places in medina. The location is good, abot 15 min walk to the main square.
If you want to try nice food or coffee choose places with less tourists and more locals
( cheaper and better).There is supermarket( about 30 min walk) near Majorelle gardes where you can buy cheap alkohol. Marquize cigarrettes ar 17 MAB per pack of 20- DO NOT PAY MORE.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    27
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
67
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

Frankly, we were sceptic when we moved from an expensive luxery riad to Riad Dalia, since everywhere we stepped our foot in this country we felt ripped off, but this riad is an acceptance. The riad is very afforable compared to what you get and the owner is one of the most genuine and friendly people we've met in this country. We are definitly recommending this riad if you are looking for a traditional Marrocon riad that is cosy but affordable plus located in a secure area.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

How wonderful to stay at a Riad which is not ran by an expatriate. Mohammed really did a great job in refurbishing the building and creating some nice rooms. The breakfast was very tasty with fresh orange juice, Moroccan pancakes and other surprises. Great location too. Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: We preferred the room on the first floor above the ones on the patio, this gives you a bit more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Riad Dalia.The riad was very artfully decorated with beautiful cushions and a lovely room. the riad is down a narrow allyway but we felt very safe and the locals were friendly. We had a great meal in the evening provided by Mohamed the owner who also arranged for us to have a taxi from the airport.The accomodation was very reasonable and for breakfast was some yummy pancakes with chocolate or marmalade and fresh orangejuice. the riad is near enough to walk to the main centre(10 -15 mins walk) but nice and peaceful with a nice roof terrace where we had an evening rest looking over the rooftops and watching the local cats walking about.we had very good service and Mohamed was kind and friendly and gave us good advice on things to buy. We went to a brill restuarant called bar donab just 2 mins walk away from the riad which we recomend for architecture and food.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

we enjoy very much our stay in Dalia Riad.
The owners are very gentle and cool.
The rooms are made in a beautiful marrokish style.
we enjoy the terraces in the silence.
It's very well situated in the medina and you can go home at night with no problems.
the breakfast is very good served in mosaic dishes.
Cali and Nina

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Marrakech can be a very draining city; it’s loud, in your face. The Riad Dalia is truly a beautiful haven of calm and quiet - the owner Mohamed offering wonderful, caring service and making you feel very welcome.

Riad Dalia has a very artistic, authentic feel to it - indeed Mohamed is a skilled miniature artist himself and that comes across in the style and detail of the decor. We stayed in the Fatima bedroom on the first floor and it was delightful, nice and private whilst also overlooking the lovely interior courtyard and being just off a long, elegant internal dining room. Breakfasts are very generous - marvellous freshly squeezed orange juice, great fresh bread, eggs, pancakes, yoghurt, coffee etc - and served in the pretty courtyard, the dining room, and one morning on the top terrace - overlooking the medina with the sun on our back. Lovely start to a January day!

We had dinner at the Riad on the first two nights of our five night stay and both meals were delicious, traditional Moroccan cuisine. And - hearing that it was my birthday on the 2nd day - Mohamed presented me with a beautiful personalised birthday cake for dessert, with candles too! A delightfully touching surprise.

Getting there through the narrow alleys you feel like Ariadne in the labyrinth at times, as though you’ll never find your way unaccompanied. But it is actually quite straightforward and the Riad is barely five minutes from the souks and the rich diversity of city life.

On arrival we would recommend booking a transfer to Riad Dalia from the airport, it’s by far the best way to ease yourself into the pace and style of Morocco.

If your choice of accommodation is riad style - come here! I’m sure you won’t be disappointed. Tell Mohamed we said so.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Raid Dalia for 4 nights in January 2012 and it was our favourite hotel of four in various locations in northern Morocco. Riad Dalia is a delightful, beautifully restored 18th century riad in the heart of the medina, within easy walking distance of the main square, Djema el Fna, and many other attractions. It was also wonderfully peaceful and quiet. January evenings are quite cold, but our charming rooms were very cosy when we arrived at the Raid, personally greeted by our attentive host, Mohammed. We were enchanted by our rooms, on the ground floor, opening on to the beautiful courtyard. They were sumptuously decorated, very vibrant and colourful with writing desks, fresh flowers, delightful antique nicknacks and comfortable sofas with loads of cushions. We were also pleased to find dressing gowns, copious hot water and complimentary wifi. Breakfast was generous, with jugs of delicious squeezed orange juice, and freshly made pancakes served in the courtyard or upstairs on the terrace, which has fabulous panoramic views of Marrakech rooftops and the Atlas Mountains. We dined at the Riad twice, and found the standard of cuisine superb. It was Moroccan home cooking at its best, with excellent service. We enjoy a bottle of wine with our dinners and although alcohol is not available chez Mohammed, we bought some at a supermarket and there was no problem to have it served with our meals. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dalia

Address: 40 derb Tizegarine | Rue Dar El Bacha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dalia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dalia, located near the palace of Pasha Glaoui, once home of a boss of it renovated by the miniaturist painter Mohamed El MRAMER, create a calming effect. A vine (Arabic Dalia) and a fountain adorn a patio surrounded by 5 bedrooms. In this haven of serenity, your desires will be satisfied by the artist and his staff. Your vacation will be a dream holiday. Warm welcome, airport transfer, shows organized, traditional Moroccan cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Riad Dalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.