We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 minute walk to the square (once you know how to navigate the narrow maze of streets)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Arabo Andalouse

Save Saved
You added Maison Arabo Andalouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison Arabo Andalouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Touareg No 67 | K'Sibt N'Hass Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Ranked #45 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“10 minute walk to the square (once you know how to navigate the narrow maze of streets)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just returned from a 4-night stay at Maison Arabo Andalouse. Centrally located, it is a convenient base from which to explore the city, but it is a bit difficult initially to navigate the narrow maze of streets leading to it. I would suggest using their transfer service as some taxis don't seem to know the street, although having said that, we had difficulty locating the driver for our airport pick-up - my friend and I walked around for a full 15 minutes looking at each sign being held by a driver and did not find ours. Eventually, we went up to some men sitting on benches holding signs on their laps, and just kept repeating 'Maison Arabo Andalouse'...after a few minutes of this, finally one of the seated men stood up and nodded his head - he actually had been holding a sign for a different Riad...anyway, while the start was not very positive, the drive was okay. We also had a problem with our room (we had confirmed a triple room with 3 single beds for 3 women), but the room they gave us had a double bed and a twin in an adjoining room....lucky for us that one of our friends was unable to come at the last minute, since we were told the room we booked wasn't available...The rooms are basic, but adequate. However, they are incredibly dark and in order to even be able to see enough to pack, for instance, we needed to turn all of the lights on and open the curtains - crazy dark! We even went out on our cute little terrace to put make-up on because there wasn't enough light in the room. Both the sink and the shower leaked a bit - we tried to call their attention to it, but because of the language barrier, I'm not entirely sure they understood. Breakfast was simple - breads, fruit, tea and juice, but upon requests we got eggs a few times too - and guests can eat either in the small interior entry/office/reception area or on the terrace (but again because of communication issues, the time and location we requested for breakfast got a little confusing a couple of times). Mohammed was wonderful. His English is very limited (and our Arabic and French were non-existent), which made things challenging. He was helpful and spot on in suggesting places for dinner (Cafe de France has great veggie fare and a nice sunset as well as great for people-watching in the square from the terrace above, and Oskar had simple, but cheap and descent food). He also was great at providing maps, trying to explain places to us, and even led us out to the main street the first time, to be sure that we could find our way back. He also made a reservation for us at a Hammam/Spa and even walked us there! We did not have good luck, however, when we asked for his help finding a local guide to give us a 1/2 day city tour. First of all, the guide showed up 1 hour late, then, when we tried to verify the itinerary (on a hand-written list that Mohammed had given us), he told us that it was impossible to do all of those things in 1/2 day, but rather that our list was his usual full-day programme. When we insisted, he said he could do it all, but that he would charge us double the agreed price. When we refused, and said we would leave him and find another guide, he reluctantly agreed to what had been previously agreed between his agency and Mohammed. Then, he literally ran us through the city, rarely looking back to see whether we were still behind him, and was rude and agressive the rest of the trip. Back at the hotel, when Mohammed asked about the tour and the guide, we told him it was not his fault but that it had been miserable and we would suggest that Maison Arabo Andalouse does NOT use that guide in the future! He apologized (though not his fault), clearly felt badly and said he would call the company and be sure to not recommend that guide in the future. One last thing - we were 2 women travelling alone -we are in our early 40's and are very well travelled, but still had a few mildly annoying experiences in Marrakesh...particularly after 9 on the way back to the hotel. Nothing overtly horrible, but just had a few men clearly following us one night. We kept crossing streets (the big ones are horrible to cross by the way between the cars adn motorbikes - it feels like a game of human 'Frogger'), tried to look confident, walked into crowds, held our keys between our fingers in a fist in case we needed to use them and used every other trick we knew for losing unwanted attention. I just want guests who stay here to be aware that after dark, the little narrow streets do get a bit dodgy - so just don't forget to pack your street smarts - especially if you're women travelling alone! Overall, a descent place in a central location with a very helpful, well-intentioned Mohammed on hand! :)

Room Tip: We were in room 6, 'suite', with a double bed and smaller room with day bed. Nice, private t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
It is pity for those two ladies feasting the 40th anniversary,they make wrong choice of location.
Nothing was acceptable for them, starting for the Airport pick-up,the narrow maze alley,the caotic traffic etc......Arrived at the Riad where they confirmed for 3 persons without any cancellation in advance (firstly ask to reduce the price),complaining , king-size bed of 160X210 and in a saloon a single of 100X210,was not what they aspect!!!!!!!probably for the price paid they want 80 Mts Suite with 2 KING-SIZE Beds!!!!!(They let the room like a field after THOUSAND PEOPLE MEETING)they don't know what Riad it's with the 8 Suites and Standard-Rooms (they paid for a Standard but we give a Suite!!!!!!!!!)In state of original door, window,tiles-walls,zelliges-floor,,plaster-shower,brass-lampe even if renovated they have more than* 60/80 Years*,probably prefer; glass- walls and cut the palms and bananas of Moroccan-patio garden,to have more light for make-up.
The others reply of this review i let others hosts reply as they have done..... Hoping they will continue to do. Sorry for you,dears hosts,nobody follow you if you don't give the people the reason to do it!!!!!!!!! ........ Travelling it's reachable adventure ..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    33
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
88
132
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

First the pro's: Maison Arabo Andalouse was very well located for all the of the main attractions (5-10 mins walk away from the main square and Souks). Additionally, Mohammed and the other staff were incredibly helpful. Mohammed really went out of his way to ensure that we found the right places and you could not have been a nicer host. Room is large, the bed is comfortable and the breakfast is fine.

Now the cons: We did not find the Riad to be particularly comfortable - with cold floor and dull lighting - very difficult to find your room at night. We had booked for 3 nights but left after 1 as it did not meet our requirements for comfort (the shower and bathroom were cold and overall the room felt very basic), not really what we were expecting. The pool is also only available in the summer months and is small.

I liaised with Paulo who was in Italy but responded to my emails.

This is an ok Riad - but not value for money. For the same price, you can stay in pretty decent 4* hotel which is more comfortable/superior. Although, the hotels tend to be away from the Medina (20 min walk or short cab ride away).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I wish those kind of guests of about 30 years old in future don't go any more on guests house,especially the delicious one,like, of the original born country,because they can't appreciate.
They prefer light spots in state of sophisticate and conveyable atmosphere asked at this kind of 140 Years old Palais,in future I will break-down a tails-wall original ( more than 70 years old) to be sure you can have central heating,and very large shower;
You can't compare with the 4 stars hotel at list you feel better on standard all over same world hotels.
Regarding the price you paid 45% less than due with above mentioned excuses.
Traditional authentic guest houses are not for you,Sorry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I will keep this short and sweet - my boyfriend and I spent 5 days at this Riad and it was the most wonderful holiday. Special thanks to Mohammed and the staff for making us feel so welcomed and comfortable. Mohammed always went out of his way to ensure we were happy and experiencing the best spots to enjoy in Marrakech.

We will be back...thank you all so much. We'll never forget our stay.

Titi & Tata

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Manager at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I have noted all the desire of this couple feasting a anniversary,i gave all the informations to ours staffs,they,as usually,did much better than I can do,because for than to be helpful or to prepare a good Moroccan Diner become like a mission.
Franking speaking,great part of ours guests,after,many comparatives with same level competitors,they select us not only for costs reasons but more important for me,for human relations,not only for our cuisine or the service but the family friendly relations.
Thanks,dear guests and thanks at all the staffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Staying in an old Riad gives a more authentic Moroccan experience than staying in a modern hotel which has more amenities but looks and feels pretty much the same all over the world.

The owner Paolo and his staff did everything possible to make us feel at home in the Riad and to get the most out of our week in Marrakech. We really enjoyed our stay in the Riad and Marrakech.

Jemaa El Fna and most main sights are within walking distance from the Riad. The first evening Paolo walked half way together with us to make sure that we were able to find our way. He also gave us good advice on what to see and do while staying in Marrakech and helped us book trips to Essaouira and the Atlas Mountains.

Our suite at the Riad was perfect for us. Our 12 year old son had his own room and did not have to share the same room as my wife and myself.

Whenever the weather allowed it, we were eating breakfast on the roof terrace and it was really fascinating to watch the storks on the old Royal Palace wall just a few meters away.

One evening we were eating in the Riad. It did not come cheap but it was definitely the best meal that we had in Marrakech. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I can't be kind enough with so friendly lovely guests,for me it's not a job,i just receive friends at home,of course,i'm helped by staff,that it's my duty.
The Riad it's nice without any access because i think on this kind of Old Palais,not only people can spend a lot of many as to be gusts.
OK the cuisine we make it's bit expensive if you compare the rooms price,but again everything it's made like at my private cuisine,fresh,delight and international touch.
Thanks dear guests,your comments pay all my effort to explain my staff the meaning of my Riad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked this riad for our stay in November 2012. We met our driver at the airport as arranged before and smoothly arrived to the riad. The member of the staff was waiting for us and helped us with our luggage from the cab. The owner - Paolo invited us with traditional mint tea and explained us all about the Marrakech that we needed and wanted to know.
The breakfasts in the sun at the terrace were lovely every day..
We decided to spend two nights away, one in the desert and one in Essaouira and we were kindly offered discount from the orriginal price. Both trips were very very interesting, highly suggested!
Paolo had to leave the riad in the middle of our stay and left us few days with the staff.
We can not say any single word against them, all were very kind and extremely helpful (with food, booking the coach tickets etc).
We had some small misunderstnding regarding the payment in Paolo´s absence, but Paolo cleared it up on his return to our full satisfaction. Smoothly, honestly, with no hassle.
So in summary, we spent a lovely time in lovely house with lovely people.
Can not recommend more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
How I can't be satisfies of host that even if they fell little bit abandoned they appreciate their stay with the staff not really in a perfect English. As replied many time all the hosts become friends and I can't take profit even if the previous schedule his been change.
Thanks for your comment and thanks for your impression about your stay on one of ours terrace and for the excursions impressions you give us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lovely position in the old Medina, and staff could not have been more helpful. Met at the airport as arranged and given mint tea on our arrival. The rooms were a big disappointed because they were very dark and cold, although we did have heaters to warm the place up-it still felt damp. The room with the big terrace, which is lovely-is quite open-and not secure as it only has plastic sheeting round. So every time one went out-everything had to be put in the bedroom & that door locked. Also the bathroom was across the terrace-so a nightime visit was very cold! The pool, which we thought we may be able to sit round, even if it was too cold to use-was not possible as it is just an one tile wide walk round area, and completely dark as the coconut and palm trees, obliterate the sky. It looks lovely-but just not what one would expect. The roof terrace was excellent-and having breakfast there each morning was a delight. The storks are on the top of the old palace building next to us-and the sounds they make are interesting. The food supplied by Fatima and staff was always top quality and they really could not do enough to make the stay as pleasant as possible. Wifi/internet was advertised-but could only be accessed from inside Paolo's office, again cold and dark-but not up on the terrace in the sun. We loved the Souks, the people generally are friendly and helpful-and weather in the day was great. So I would like to return to Morocco-I loved it-but would not stay in this Riyad again. Staff exceptional and first class-but rooms to us were too dismal and dark. When you come from England-you hanker for the sunlight and unless you went up onto the communal terrace-you couldn't see it. So a nice experience and again-staff were wonderful.

Room Tip: Top terrace if you want to see the sun or the room overlooking the street is nice-with the bedroom d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I think people who come to traditional old** Palais Riad** they don't have to think they have the some space like the new builder unoriginal hotel. If you don't accept those situations it's better do not stay on!!!!!!even the TOP TOP one and with consequently price don't have the type of comfort wished by those hosts. We prefer have Palms and Banana trees how limited the Plung-pool access(also because the season it's not opportune). All the best staff you can have, can't arrange those situations,others structures are available. Thanks for your comment,even if we will not destroyed a Suite who as more than 100 year of history just to have more light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We chose the hotel totally based on trip advisor recommendation. Seemed well placed when, the day after booking, we were emailed by the owner to ask about our flights and introduce himself. We continued our email correspondence right until departure, arranging airport transfer and looking at some tour options.
We were met as arranged on arrival and taken to the Riad. It is in a small road in a back street within a few minutes walk of the Badii Palace (the top floor of the riad has a view of the ruins) and 5-10 minutes to the Jemaa El Fna square.
We were given tea and biscuits on arrival, shown our rooms and explained the procedure for locking the doors, heating etc. The room was very impressive - a huge private terrace, the bedroom, shower room and a lounge. It was all tastefully decorated and furnished in the Moroccan style. There were plenty of plug points for charging laptops etc but the wifi didnt reach our floor. However the views and terrace more than compensated for that!
Paolo could not have been more helpful - any time we wanted to visit somewhere, be it an attraction, somewhere to eat or an excursion, he was on hand to help and advise, as well as providing endless glasses of mint tea!
The only downside we found - and that was with a struggle - was that it is about 10 mins walk through chaotic streets to get to anywhere decent to eat in the evenings. Everything else - service, price, breakfast, decor is excellent. Paolo and his staff are, without exception, superb - friendly, courteous and helpful.
We had a brilliant meal on the last evening, cooked by Fatima and served by Paolo - a delightful ending to a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Have a look at the rooms first - some have lovely terraces and there is a family room that sleeps 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
I think this dear Host it's to generous about the compliments regarding our Riad and the staff.
We had during they stay 24 hours Internet and telephone off ; one pipe of water damage;etc......,like at home I tried to discuss with the Hosts about the problems and together we find the way than can continue to relax at one of the 2 private terraces without to much inconvenience,it's fantastic how become like a ordinary family duty.
Thanks for your really appreciation and for the review concerning all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison Arabo Andalouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Arabo Andalouse

Address: Derb Touareg No 67 | K'Sibt N'Hass Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Arabo Andalouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Marrakech Kasbah, the only Riad, which have preserve its initial structure and its Arabo-Andalouse décoration of the end of XIXéme century,Proprety of a merchants family of the old Mellah district.Leaned with visible palace "El Baadi" of XVI century where its storks are the attraction of ours terraces.Located at 7 minutes with foot of the place "Jemaa El Fna" and of the "Koutoubia" (Minaret).2 paying carparks kept at 3 minutes with foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Maison Arabo Andalouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Arabo Andalouse Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Arabo Andalouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.