We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissfully peaceful. Fantastic memories that will last a last time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Arabo Andalouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maison Arabo Andalouse to your Saves list
Maison Arabo Andalouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Touareg No 67 | K'Sibt N'Hass Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #40 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Blissfully peaceful. Fantastic memories that will last a last time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I will keep this short and sweet - my boyfriend and I spent 5 days at this Riad and it was the most wonderful holiday. Special thanks to Mohammed and the staff for making us feel so welcomed and comfortable. Mohammed always went out of his way to ensure we were happy and experiencing the best spots to enjoy in Marrakech.

We will be back...thank you all so much. We'll never forget our stay.

Titi & Tata

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Manager at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I have noted all the desire of this couple feasting a anniversary,i gave all the informations to ours staffs,they,as usually,did much better than I can do,because for than to be helpful or to prepare a good Moroccan Diner become like a mission.
Franking speaking,great part of ours guests,after,many comparatives with same level competitors,they select us not only for costs reasons but more important for me,for human relations,not only for our cuisine or the service but the family friendly relations.
Thanks,dear guests and thanks at all the staffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    32
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
92
140
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Staying in an old Riad gives a more authentic Moroccan experience than staying in a modern hotel which has more amenities but looks and feels pretty much the same all over the world.

The owner Paolo and his staff did everything possible to make us feel at home in the Riad and to get the most out of our week in Marrakech. We really enjoyed our stay in the Riad and Marrakech.

Jemaa El Fna and most main sights are within walking distance from the Riad. The first evening Paolo walked half way together with us to make sure that we were able to find our way. He also gave us good advice on what to see and do while staying in Marrakech and helped us book trips to Essaouira and the Atlas Mountains.

Our suite at the Riad was perfect for us. Our 12 year old son had his own room and did not have to share the same room as my wife and myself.

Whenever the weather allowed it, we were eating breakfast on the roof terrace and it was really fascinating to watch the storks on the old Royal Palace wall just a few meters away.

One evening we were eating in the Riad. It did not come cheap but it was definitely the best meal that we had in Marrakech. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I can't be kind enough with so friendly lovely guests,for me it's not a job,i just receive friends at home,of course,i'm helped by staff,that it's my duty.
The Riad it's nice without any access because i think on this kind of Old Palais,not only people can spend a lot of many as to be gusts.
OK the cuisine we make it's bit expensive if you compare the rooms price,but again everything it's made like at my private cuisine,fresh,delight and international touch.
Thanks dear guests,your comments pay all my effort to explain my staff the meaning of my Riad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked this riad for our stay in November 2012. We met our driver at the airport as arranged before and smoothly arrived to the riad. The member of the staff was waiting for us and helped us with our luggage from the cab. The owner - Paolo invited us with traditional mint tea and explained us all about the Marrakech that we needed and wanted to know.
The breakfasts in the sun at the terrace were lovely every day..
We decided to spend two nights away, one in the desert and one in Essaouira and we were kindly offered discount from the orriginal price. Both trips were very very interesting, highly suggested!
Paolo had to leave the riad in the middle of our stay and left us few days with the staff.
We can not say any single word against them, all were very kind and extremely helpful (with food, booking the coach tickets etc).
We had some small misunderstnding regarding the payment in Paolo´s absence, but Paolo cleared it up on his return to our full satisfaction. Smoothly, honestly, with no hassle.
So in summary, we spent a lovely time in lovely house with lovely people.
Can not recommend more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
How I can't be satisfies of host that even if they fell little bit abandoned they appreciate their stay with the staff not really in a perfect English. As replied many time all the hosts become friends and I can't take profit even if the previous schedule his been change.
Thanks for your comment and thanks for your impression about your stay on one of ours terrace and for the excursions impressions you give us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lovely position in the old Medina, and staff could not have been more helpful. Met at the airport as arranged and given mint tea on our arrival. The rooms were a big disappointed because they were very dark and cold, although we did have heaters to warm the place up-it still felt damp. The room with the big terrace, which is lovely-is quite open-and not secure as it only has plastic sheeting round. So every time one went out-everything had to be put in the bedroom & that door locked. Also the bathroom was across the terrace-so a nightime visit was very cold! The pool, which we thought we may be able to sit round, even if it was too cold to use-was not possible as it is just an one tile wide walk round area, and completely dark as the coconut and palm trees, obliterate the sky. It looks lovely-but just not what one would expect. The roof terrace was excellent-and having breakfast there each morning was a delight. The storks are on the top of the old palace building next to us-and the sounds they make are interesting. The food supplied by Fatima and staff was always top quality and they really could not do enough to make the stay as pleasant as possible. Wifi/internet was advertised-but could only be accessed from inside Paolo's office, again cold and dark-but not up on the terrace in the sun. We loved the Souks, the people generally are friendly and helpful-and weather in the day was great. So I would like to return to Morocco-I loved it-but would not stay in this Riyad again. Staff exceptional and first class-but rooms to us were too dismal and dark. When you come from England-you hanker for the sunlight and unless you went up onto the communal terrace-you couldn't see it. So a nice experience and again-staff were wonderful.

Room Tip: Top terrace if you want to see the sun or the room overlooking the street is nice-with the bedroom d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I think people who come to traditional old** Palais Riad** they don't have to think they have the some space like the new builder unoriginal hotel. If you don't accept those situations it's better do not stay on!!!!!!even the TOP TOP one and with consequently price don't have the type of comfort wished by those hosts. We prefer have Palms and Banana trees how limited the Plung-pool access(also because the season it's not opportune). All the best staff you can have, can't arrange those situations,others structures are available. Thanks for your comment,even if we will not destroyed a Suite who as more than 100 year of history just to have more light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We chose the hotel totally based on trip advisor recommendation. Seemed well placed when, the day after booking, we were emailed by the owner to ask about our flights and introduce himself. We continued our email correspondence right until departure, arranging airport transfer and looking at some tour options.
We were met as arranged on arrival and taken to the Riad. It is in a small road in a back street within a few minutes walk of the Badii Palace (the top floor of the riad has a view of the ruins) and 5-10 minutes to the Jemaa El Fna square.
We were given tea and biscuits on arrival, shown our rooms and explained the procedure for locking the doors, heating etc. The room was very impressive - a huge private terrace, the bedroom, shower room and a lounge. It was all tastefully decorated and furnished in the Moroccan style. There were plenty of plug points for charging laptops etc but the wifi didnt reach our floor. However the views and terrace more than compensated for that!
Paolo could not have been more helpful - any time we wanted to visit somewhere, be it an attraction, somewhere to eat or an excursion, he was on hand to help and advise, as well as providing endless glasses of mint tea!
The only downside we found - and that was with a struggle - was that it is about 10 mins walk through chaotic streets to get to anywhere decent to eat in the evenings. Everything else - service, price, breakfast, decor is excellent. Paolo and his staff are, without exception, superb - friendly, courteous and helpful.
We had a brilliant meal on the last evening, cooked by Fatima and served by Paolo - a delightful ending to a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Have a look at the rooms first - some have lovely terraces and there is a family room that sleeps 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
I think this dear Host it's to generous about the compliments regarding our Riad and the staff.
We had during they stay 24 hours Internet and telephone off ; one pipe of water damage;etc......,like at home I tried to discuss with the Hosts about the problems and together we find the way than can continue to relax at one of the 2 private terraces without to much inconvenience,it's fantastic how become like a ordinary family duty.
Thanks for your really appreciation and for the review concerning all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed over Christmas in December 2012, and Paolo's riad is truly a lovely place. From the common spaces, to the rooms, to the lovely rooftop terrace, there is great attention to detail, and everything is done just right. The riad was spotless, and the two rooms we had were both beautifully decorated. We loved the breakfast, and the Christmas dinner we had was outstanding.

Paolo will arrange for pick up from the airport, and excursions to just about anywhere. He, and all his staff, were always very helpful throughout our stay. We have traveled extensively with our 3 youngest children, and can honestly say this is one of the most enjoyable places we've ever stayed. Located in the Medina, it is within easy walking distance to many of those places one would most wish to visit. When we return to Marrakech, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the upper floor, overlooking the inner courtyard, and it was quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
It's simple to be kind with kind and well educated people.
I like, when ours efforts are appreciate,hoping with the staff to improve more and more.
My duty it's the happiness of ours guests,many thinks are still on project ..............
Thanks at this kind family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Conveniently located in the medina, easy access to main sightseeing spots (koutoubia, palaces, place el jemaa and souk). It was our first time in an african country and we were pleased to find such pleasant people at the riad. GPaulo and his sidekick Mohammed always give you some practical and useful advises. They are friendly, helpful and even though outside the peaceful riad, life is quite noisy and chaotic you feel that if something goes wrong during your stay you would call the riad and they would help straight away. I would recommend to take the taxi option as the first time it is bit tricky to locate it as no street name. Overall fantastic people, nice riad and well located, just enjoy! J&K

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
I know that it's difficult to keep clean all the Riad because all the nights we have many birds sleeping under ours Palms Bananas and Bougainvillea trees,sorry for the inconvenient,kind hosts hoping to improve
Thanks for sharing a moment with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Arabo Andalouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Arabo Andalouse

Address: Derb Touareg No 67 | K'Sibt N'Hass Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Arabo Andalouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Marrakech Kasbah, the only Riad, which have preserve its initial structure and its Arabo-Andalouse decoration of the end of XIXeme century,Proprety of a merchants family of the old Mellah district.Leaned with visible palace "El Baadi" of XVI century where its storks are the attraction of ours terraces.Located at 7 minutes with foot of the place "Jemaa El Fna" and of the "Koutoubia" (Minaret).2 paying carparks kept at 3 minutes with foot. Plunge Pool 4 X 3 X 1.20Mts. Free High Speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maison Arabo Andalouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Arabo Andalouse Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Arabo Andalouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.