We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins d'Issil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Les Jardins d'Issil to your Saves list
Les Jardins d'Issil
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Route de l'Ourika, km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the gardens after 4 nights in the medina, and it was a delightful change of pace. We stayed in one of the standard tents, which was clean, relaxing, sumptuous and wonderfully air conditioned. The bathroom was a bit of a squeeze, and the shower was quite weak.

As it is in the middle of nowhere, you will most likely eat all your meals here. The food is really good, and very reasonable. Traditional moroccan cuisine, with 2 courses for lunch, and 3 for dinner. It is a set menu which changes every night, and you have no choice (separate meals for vegetarians). I'm sure this is to save costs, but it also ensures that the ingredients are really fresh.

We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    44
    10
    9
    7
See reviews for
72
108
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Not too sure about this place. Rooms are pleasant enough. Owners Patrick and Ghislaine are really nice and welcoming. Atmosphere around the place is chilled out and easy. Pool area is great. But I think you'd go mad after a couple of days. If you're in Marrakech for a few days/week, and want somewhere totally quiet and to spend time by the pool to recover from the hectic life & heat of the souks - this is probably a good shout. I'm sure in time as the gardens get more developed it will get better and better. Really nothing wrong with this place - just not really my kind of thing. It is however good value if you're a family who can all stay in one tent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently stayed in Les Jardins D'Issil as a group of 30+ people to celebrate a birthday.
What a wonderful weekend we had. The owners, Patrick and Ghislaine were wonderful as were the staff that worked tirelssly to make our stay so enjoyable. The place itself is in the middle of nowhere, but only 20 minute taxi ride into Marrakech. Its a calm peaceful oasis.
The rooms were beautiful, all decorated in authentic Morrocan style.
As previsouly commented on, there isn't any chouce when it comes to food, but I didn't find that to be a problem. The food was tasty and wonderfully presented.
I would definitely return here, either as just adults or with children (great pool!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently spent a weekend at Les Jardin d'Issil for a friends 40th birthday - we had an absolutely fantastic time in a beautiful tranquil setting which was just what was needed. I am not a camper and did have some anxieties before but this was 5* camping (although not sure it can be called camping as much more upmarket). There was air conditioning, private ensuite bathroom facilities (porcelain), very comfortable beds too. We felt very safe in our tent and left the door unlocked throughout the weekend (actually the lock did not work on our tent but as we were in a group that took over the whole place, we did not feel any threat adn so did not even mention it).

The owners and staff were brilliant, nothing too much trouble, organised taxi's for us, drinks, and catered for our ever changing numbers for lunches without an issue.

it was actually refreshing to not have to choose a meal. With it being a set menu, it did make you try new things that you may not necesarily try and eat the local food.

It was all fantastic and we will definitely be returning soon in October.

Room Tip: All looked good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Please disregard the negative reviews of Jardins d'Issil. I understand that the road is much improved the Jardins opened and is within easy reach - about 20 minutes from the airport / Marrakech. Trips to Marrakech cost Dh 450 return, thus making it ideal for a sun and shopping trip. The tented accommodation, grouped around large pool in a tropical garden with views of the Atlas is beautiful, spacious and extremely comfortable. Safes for the rooms are provided and if anything in the room does not work, it is fixed the same day. The calls to prayer and toads croaking around the swimming pool at night add to the charm. The owners are solicitous of their guests as are the charming and helpful staff. The food is terrific value and absolutely delicious. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want your private terrace shady or sunny during the afternoon, this will affect the room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just love this place.
It is such a relaxing, beautiful and peaceful oasis about 30 minutes by taxi from the noise and bustle of Marrakech. Each time we visit, the gardens have been further developed and are more beautiful, providing an idyllic setting and a haven for wildlife. Do not be put off by the idea of "tents" - these are stone walled, air conditioned, have a separate bathroom and dressing room and are beautifully decorated. The pool area is superb with plently of sunbeds and sun-shelter tents around it.
The owners, Patrick and Ghislaine, are wonderfully friendly and charming, as are all the staff. Nothing appears to be too much trouble (on a previous visit my suitcase was a day late arriving but not only did they pick it up for me from the airport but Patrick lent me clothes in the interim). A little French (albeit "schoolboy" in my case) probably helps but the head waiter/barman Abdel speaks very good English. As an example of their customer care, one night, following a thunder storm, there were frogs croaking loudly all night. A guest commented on this the next day and so a member of staff was despatched to catch the frogs and remove them to a canal nearby. The following night was quiet!
Another of the charms of Les Jardins is that most of the guests (mainly French, Brits, Dutch and Belgians) are so friendly and are likeminded in just wanting to relax and chill out. It is probably not a place to go if you have demanding children or want to go clubbing in the evenings.
It is true that there is no choice for dinner but for us this adds too the experience, as you eat things you probably would not normally order. Having said that my wife is vegetarian and so had a special meal cooked for her each evening.
I do not recognise at all the recent review saying that they had money stolen - all the rooms have safes, nothing has ever "gone missing" from our rooms and I am sure Patrick and Ghislaine would have been mortified if such a thing had happened.
We can't wait until our 6th visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieppe, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I can't consider the few bad comments regarding the "Jardins". Indeed it is such an amazing place...closed to Heaven ...
we appreciated the principle of guest house with single menu, good way to discover the Marrocan taste and so friendly!not possible to loose weight ... :)

thanks for the welcoming of the owners Ghislaine and Patrick ; your dream was amazing but ou made it!

thanks also to Abdel and Zaira, the servers. all was at the top! like being with friends or family, every body takes care of you.
the tents are very cosy and each one has a different style..
(with safe so no stress!)

for sure, a place to discover for anyone who need tranquility, warmth ( couple or with friends) ...without forgetting the sightseeing in Marrakech
(rent a car or take a taxi is really easy to reach center)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
8.2 mi away
Cesar Resort & Spa
Cesar Resort & Spa
#194 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
#261 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,747 reviews
11.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
10.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
11.8 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#95 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins d'Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins d'Issil

Address: Route de l'Ourika, km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Jardins d'Issil 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Les Jardins d'Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins d`Issil Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins d'Issil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.