We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins d'Issil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Les Jardins d'Issil to your Saves list
Les Jardins d'Issil
Route de l'Ourika, km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Ranked #24 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently stayed in Les Jardins D'Issil as a group of 30+ people to celebrate a birthday.
What a wonderful weekend we had. The owners, Patrick and Ghislaine were wonderful as were the staff that worked tirelssly to make our stay so enjoyable. The place itself is in the middle of nowhere, but only 20 minute taxi ride into Marrakech. Its a calm peaceful oasis.
The rooms were beautiful, all decorated in authentic Morrocan style.
As previsouly commented on, there isn't any chouce when it comes to food, but I didn't find that to be a problem. The food was tasty and wonderfully presented.
I would definitely return here, either as just adults or with children (great pool!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    35
    10
    7
    7
See reviews for
51
90
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently spent a weekend at Les Jardin d'Issil for a friends 40th birthday - we had an absolutely fantastic time in a beautiful tranquil setting which was just what was needed. I am not a camper and did have some anxieties before but this was 5* camping (although not sure it can be called camping as much more upmarket). There was air conditioning, private ensuite bathroom facilities (porcelain), very comfortable beds too. We felt very safe in our tent and left the door unlocked throughout the weekend (actually the lock did not work on our tent but as we were in a group that took over the whole place, we did not feel any threat adn so did not even mention it).

The owners and staff were brilliant, nothing too much trouble, organised taxi's for us, drinks, and catered for our ever changing numbers for lunches without an issue.

it was actually refreshing to not have to choose a meal. With it being a set menu, it did make you try new things that you may not necesarily try and eat the local food.

It was all fantastic and we will definitely be returning soon in October.

Room Tip: All looked good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Please disregard the negative reviews of Jardins d'Issil. I understand that the road is much improved the Jardins opened and is within easy reach - about 20 minutes from the airport / Marrakech. Trips to Marrakech cost Dh 450 return, thus making it ideal for a sun and shopping trip. The tented accommodation, grouped around large pool in a tropical garden with views of the Atlas is beautiful, spacious and extremely comfortable. Safes for the rooms are provided and if anything in the room does not work, it is fixed the same day. The calls to prayer and toads croaking around the swimming pool at night add to the charm. The owners are solicitous of their guests as are the charming and helpful staff. The food is terrific value and absolutely delicious. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want your private terrace shady or sunny during the afternoon, this will affect the room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just love this place.
It is such a relaxing, beautiful and peaceful oasis about 30 minutes by taxi from the noise and bustle of Marrakech. Each time we visit, the gardens have been further developed and are more beautiful, providing an idyllic setting and a haven for wildlife. Do not be put off by the idea of "tents" - these are stone walled, air conditioned, have a separate bathroom and dressing room and are beautifully decorated. The pool area is superb with plently of sunbeds and sun-shelter tents around it.
The owners, Patrick and Ghislaine, are wonderfully friendly and charming, as are all the staff. Nothing appears to be too much trouble (on a previous visit my suitcase was a day late arriving but not only did they pick it up for me from the airport but Patrick lent me clothes in the interim). A little French (albeit "schoolboy" in my case) probably helps but the head waiter/barman Abdel speaks very good English. As an example of their customer care, one night, following a thunder storm, there were frogs croaking loudly all night. A guest commented on this the next day and so a member of staff was despatched to catch the frogs and remove them to a canal nearby. The following night was quiet!
Another of the charms of Les Jardins is that most of the guests (mainly French, Brits, Dutch and Belgians) are so friendly and are likeminded in just wanting to relax and chill out. It is probably not a place to go if you have demanding children or want to go clubbing in the evenings.
It is true that there is no choice for dinner but for us this adds too the experience, as you eat things you probably would not normally order. Having said that my wife is vegetarian and so had a special meal cooked for her each evening.
I do not recognise at all the recent review saying that they had money stolen - all the rooms have safes, nothing has ever "gone missing" from our rooms and I am sure Patrick and Ghislaine would have been mortified if such a thing had happened.
We can't wait until our 6th visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieppe, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I can't consider the few bad comments regarding the "Jardins". Indeed it is such an amazing place...closed to Heaven ...
we appreciated the principle of guest house with single menu, good way to discover the Marrocan taste and so friendly!not possible to loose weight ... :)

thanks for the welcoming of the owners Ghislaine and Patrick ; your dream was amazing but ou made it!

thanks also to Abdel and Zaira, the servers. all was at the top! like being with friends or family, every body takes care of you.
the tents are very cosy and each one has a different style..
(with safe so no stress!)

for sure, a place to discover for anyone who need tranquility, warmth ( couple or with friends) ...without forgetting the sightseeing in Marrakech
(rent a car or take a taxi is really easy to reach center)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Jardins D'Issil are quite simply stunning, a beautiful pool and romantic tents by the pool. It is extremely tranquil as there is nothing around for miles (although this is also the drawback) I stayed at the Jardins with my fiancé for 2 nights in May and we had requested the bridal suite but did not get it nevertheless our tent was lovely. It did however lack the little extras which we had had at our previous riad in Marrakech such as toiletries, hair dryer (one could be borrowed from reception however), candles, glasses, complimentary water etc. The Jardins is miles from anywhere so you can't just pop out to get a drink/supplies do these would have been appreciated. An annoyance was that on both days we returned to the room and it had been unlocked. On the first day I checked my purse just in case but not after our return from the mountains on the second day.
Despite being incredibly beautiful for us there were some major drawbacks. First, you had to hire their pool towels at 200 dirham each (refundable) and eat at their restaurant (as going anywhere else cost a fortune in a taxi). The food was a set 3 course menu for 150 dirham (about £15) but it was tasteless and always a tagine. The first night was two deep fried greasy pastries and a lamb tagine and second night a pile of chopped tomatoes to start followed by a tasteless chicken tagine which was essential bones (not a lot of chicken). As it was expensive for what it was, I would have expected some choice and better quality which would have made it a pleasant experience as the terrace all lit up was lovely. The owners, a French couple, did a round each evening of speaking to all the guests (although they clearly favoured the French).
It was however as we were leaving that we encountered the main problem. As we were getting our money together to pay, it became clear that £60 and a €20 note were missing from my purse. Somebody had taken £20 from three separate folds of money I had in my purse (mine, my partners and my sons) plus a euro note. The door had been left unlocked by the maid so anyone could have got in but it seemed a little planned. Madame came over all sweetness and light to wish us 'au revoir' but when we explained the situation in pigeon French her while demeanour changed. She said (in French) it was not possible that one of her staff stole from us, it had never happened before, it's our own fault as we hadn't used the safe (this hadn't been explained to us there was one) and she was taking no responsibility- she was in fact quite rude - on the verge of calling us liars. We said we were not making accusations but the money had definitely gone from the room and the maid had not locked the door and this was something as the owner she should be aware of. We did not use the safe (our fault) but the purse was hidden in the suitcase not on display do someone had gone through our things! Her attitude was the worse thing and she was exceptionally rude to us! For this we would never return or recommend. However it is a beautiful place and quite different - if you go take some drinks and snacks, be prepared to eat mediocre food, use the safe - it is quite an experience!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patmarrakech, Owner at Les Jardins d'Issil, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
eating a menu costs 150 dirhams for one person is perfect and normal for an adult but you shared between you two and it is clear that it can' t be enough. As for your accusion of theft in the room your fiancé already mentioned in the previous review.
Regarding the candles, it is not recommended for security reasons, to place candles in tents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had three main issues with our two-night stay. First, the fact that we had money stolen from our tent. Yes, be very wary if you plan to stay here. Our doors WERE locked by us but we retuned on two occasions to unlocked doors. There can't be too many people with keys can there ?

Having money stolen is not a great part of your holiday. Arguably, the second and more problematic part of the stay was the attitude of the owner to the situation. Having money stolen was (apparently) 'simply not possible - never, never'. My wallet, of course, felt otherwise. For me, rubbish happens in all our lives but, as the saying goes, it is how you deal with the rubbish that is important. This was not dealt with well by any stretch of the imagination - far, far from it. A more honest and less aggressive assertions that this was simply not possible would have been more helpful. We only came to realise 30mins before departure and I suspect the thief (yes stealing requires a thief) knew this. If we had more time I would have wanted to have called the police.

Just to be clear, I would not want to make such observations lightly. This is not my style. But the fact is we had money stolen and the patron simply washed her hands of it. Not good at all.

For foodies- you might be a little disappointed. But that is a much more of a personal comment. There was seemingly no choice in the evening. This is made more problematic due to the remoteness.

Of course, I should acknowledge some good features - the fab grounds and the tranquility was a super antidote to the busy parts of Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patmarrakech, Owner at Les Jardins d'Issil, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We had the feeling that everything was fine during your short stay and at the moment to pay the bill you said that you did steal money in your room, but you have a safe in your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Jardins d'Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins d'Issil

Address: Route de l'Ourika, km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Les Jardins d'Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins d`Issil Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins d'Issil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.