We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded idyll in gorgeous gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins d'Issil

Save Saved
You added Les Jardins d'Issil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Les Jardins d'Issil
Route de l'Ourika, km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Secluded idyll in gorgeous gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A very friendly welcome and it is also very quiet and relaxed and beautiful. Lying on a sun bed in front of the pool with the snowy peaks of the Atlas mountains in the background was bliss. I am gluten free and there was no fuss about adapting my meals. The tents are luxury Morroccan style. We went camel riding nearby one day with our daughter - great fun. The stables and horses were outstanding. We will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    30
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
41
83
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essaouira, Morocco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Loved this place but were disappointed the last day : the "welcome drink" and "breakfast includeds" appeared on the bill and were an unhappy ending to what otherwise would have been perfection. Keep your eyes peeled when you check out !

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patmarrakech, Owner at Les Jardins d'Issil, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Google Translation
Booking.com affichent des tarifs hors petits petits déjeuners, nous offrons à ,nos clients pour les accueillir un thé à la menthe et non pas le jus d'orange mais votre souhait étant d'avoir un jus d'orange frais, nous vous l'avons offert avec plaisir, regarder bien votre facture, les jus d'oranges ne sont pas facturés.
Si toutefois vous l'avez égarée nous avons le duplicata. Je signale au passage que nos tarifs n'ont pas augmentés depuis l'ouverture des jardins d'issil il y a 8 ans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, Berkshire, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just back from a wonderful 5 day break in Marrakech - we stayed at Les Jardins after reading some UK magazine recommendations and some reviews on here.

What a marvellous place - about 20 mins drive from the center of Marrakech and situated in open land teeming with wildlife. We had the company of peacocks, tortoises, frogs and numerous local birds during our stay.

Meals taken in a wonderful central area with a tree filled terrace, bar was lovely with great service throughout and the meals we ate onsite were excellent, lovely tagines with fresh ingredients and local flavour.

Our accommodation was a smaller 'tent' - although you can hardly describe this as camping - with concrete walls and a full hotel room contained within, this was not like the camping trips you know! We had a canvas roof, but under it was fantastic comfortable bed, a lovely bathroom (with sometimes quirky Moroccan plumbing!), air conditioning and a dressing room/wardrobe - we even had a window for a birds to peck at in the morning.

The hotel was peaceful, with a remote call to prayer being heard in the morning as well as sounds of wildlife - but no noise from other guests and a calm, relaxed approach to service and hospitality throughout.

Be aware of the drive in and out of Marrakech - it is a good 20/30 minutes - but for me, this was a perfect way to see some life away from the touristic areas of the city AND get some peace and quiet away from the bustle. This is not a hotel to go walking out into the souks from.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - perfect, quality time for us and a wonderful oasis away from the medina of Marrakech and it's assault on ALL the senses.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Please be aware that the place locates 13 (Route de l`Ourika) +4 (small road to left if you come from Marrakech)+3 (even smaller and narrow) kilometres from Marrakech. Luckily we managed to convince our taxi-driver to continue until the destination:).

Beautiful garden, picturesque place!

Unfortunately we discovered upon the arrival that there is no restaurant, only ONE CHOICE MENU is available in this place, no alternatives possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

At end of long Northumberland winter and at end of burst of hard work it was exactly the kind of place I had in mind - but even better ! Service, food, peace and quiet and even the weather surpassed all expectation - only negative is that Madame is so chic and elegant in an unmistakably French way that I felt a very scruffy Brit in comparison ...but at least it shamed me into the two hour Hammam special (which was divine) and a resolution to improve both my personal grooming on turn (so I can look like her one day) and my French language skills . Very welcoming and charming couple runt this place with staff to match and even a nice dining room hound who was integral to the ambience. Food alone was a reason to go but they achieve a classy and relaxed atmosphere and unbeatable prices in lovely surroundings. Many thanks and nous revenons.
Joanna and Simon (16 March - 23 March)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived to the Jardin and I wasnt quite sure what to expect.. I booked after it was recommended in the guardian as a great experience. What can i say, I am SO glad that i did. The tent was beautiful and had so much room for two people. We stayed in the zen room and it was lovely! It is impossible to not relax here. The staff are all so friendly and helpful and the owners who really nice and wanted to make sure you enjoyed your stay. The food was delicious - with a set menu for both lunch and dinner - freshly prepared. My favorite tagine of the whole trip and thats saying something! The gardens and pool are completely picturesque and the mountain views are spectacular. I would 100% return here if we were ever to return to Marrakesh! Thank you very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 3 nights, and it was pure heaven! We were in tent number 5 (the red and grey tent pictured above) and I cannot stress enough how amazing this place was! The hamman that is located on site was a brillaint way to spend the late afternoon and the pool was refreshing when you wanted to escape the sun!

I would without question recommend this to anyone as it is a great place to unwind, especially after a few days in the madness of the medina!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Jardins d'Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins d'Issil

Also Known As:
Les Jardins d`Issil Hotel
Les Jardins d`Issil Hotel Marrakech
Address: Route de l'Ourika, km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 169 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Jardins d'Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins d'Issil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.