We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French ,Berber Glamping plus !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins d'Issil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Les Jardins d'Issil to your Saves list
Les Jardins d'Issil
Route de l'Ourika, km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“French ,Berber Glamping plus !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Some ten plus kilometres out of Marrakech , Les jardins d'Issil, is a real pleasure , we visited for two nights on our way back from an Atlas Mountains and Sahara desert trip , as you entered through the Kasbah style gates into the gardens the weariness of the previous days were swept away , the welcome was friendly and smile filled we were directed to our 'tent', a walled Arabic style canvas roofed bivouac our Glamping began, a huge comfy room with king size bed , a fully equipped lux bathroom and storage room , a small private patio .
On entering the main building we were greeted by the owners , who were whenever encountered ,were charming with a real desire to ensure we were enjoying every phase of the stay.
The food and service were excellent , yes there is a one choice menu but I'm sure if people had special dietary needs every attempt would be made to cater for guests !
If you have the chance to have a haammam treatment , do it ! It is great , we both had a visit and the benefits were superb .
A great place to chill after the buzz of the medina or as we did after days in the mountains and the desert .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    35
    10
    7
    7
See reviews for
51
89
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Ending a two week trip around Morocco, my wife and decided to skip central Marrakech and head towards what we soon found was a little piece of paradise for our final couple of nights.

Located just outside Marrakech and in view of the majestic Atlas Mountains Les Jardin D'Issil is a wonderful and tranquil collection of tented dwellings and gardens hidden behind a wall.
Each room is an individual sumptuous tented building with A/C, En Suite facilities and even chilled out music at the flick of a switch. A visit in person is the only way that you will realise how romantic and sublime the accommodation is!

The gardens are full of beautiful flowers, fruit and olive trees and are also teaming with singing birds, dragonflies and other wonderful wildlife. (This is as close to paradise as my wife and I have found in a long while)

Now onto the food - simply awesome.
The breakfast offers fresh fruit and local breads and freshly squeezed orange juice and lunch and dinner are available upon request.
Lunch, taken on the terrace of the restaurant under the shade of an olive tree, took the form of juicy,freshly, grilled skewers of chicken served with a lush green salad and was followed by a delicate fresh fruit tart.

Dinner in the evening was taken inside the dinning area of the main building (the temp drops slightly in the evening - in warmer months dinner is taken outside)
The main building is where the bar and reception area can be found.

Dinner is served in three courses - the first on our first night was a selection of wonderful vegetarian salads with fresh local olives, juicy tomatoes and lightly spiced carrots taking to the fore. Accompanied by warm freshly baked local breads - we both knew we had struck gold when deciding to stay here!
The mains were - on the first night a stunning and very generous cous cous served with slow cooked beef, chicken and a selection of local vegetables including courgette, squash and carrots (served with a rich sauce and caramelised onions and juicy raisins)

I won't go on and list the fantastic food on the second day - all I need to say is that it was as equally exceptional!

Added to all of this is a wonderful team of staff and owners all of whom are very kind and the perfect hosts and guardians of the little piece of paradise.

If you get to Marrakech and want to kick back and relax away from the chaos of the city center I implore you to head to Jardin D'Issil for an extraordinary and tranquil time!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in November, and we love this place. Staff, food, surroundings, accommodation, truly perfect. The owners and staff made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. The location is just far enough out of Marrakesh, and has a wonderful view over the Atlas mountains. The tent we stayed in was excellent. Very clean, beautifully furnished, and so romantic. We didn't get the chance to use the pool, as it was November, but it was enticing none the less. The food, particularly the lunch, was as good as anything we tried in central Marrakesh. It really has everything you could want. I cannot recommend Les Jardins d'Issil more highly, and I WILL! return again for a longer stay in the future. Do not read the bad reviews from the easily disappointed complainers, who even have trouble excepting that not everyone speaks English ( go on, give another language a try, it's fun!). How much better does it get sleeping in a beautiful tent with the Atlas mountains at your feet. Heaven.

Room Tip: Make sure you have everything you need before staying here, as its an expensive taxi back into town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Wonderful hosts, our tent was tres jollie. In fact quite stunning. Swimming pool area was lovely. Highly recommended if you are looking for something a little different away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Whilst there was no choice of food, the dishes served were excellent and the best value for money we found in Marrakech,
Foster and Swindle

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed her two nights for our anniversary. It was so romantic and exquisite. The room was decorated so beautifully and the lady had fresh flowers and lit incense in our tent. There was enough privacy and hot water but soap/shampoo would have been nice. The water was shut off once but when we were about to check out. The bed was an actual queen size bed - not two twins pushed together like most places in Morocco. The lovely French couple who run the place are hip and super friendly! The picked us up in their Hummer, playing jazz, and took us to the camel guide for our one hour excursion. It was pretty cool! We felt taken care of. They have a cute Boxer named Tituf! The food is delicious. The ambiance is welcoming and the smell of frangipani wafts through the air. There are rose bushes and flowers all around -- it's like luxury camping in the middle of a botanical garden. The place is about 12 miles from the heart of Marrakech so it was a nice transition from the Middle Atlas mountains to downtown Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here earlier this year, in March. It was slightly out of season and therefore the hotel was quiet, which was exactly what I wanted. It was peaceful, tranquil, relaxing and friendly. The staff were always on hand to help with anything and were kind enough to allow us to eat outside of normal hours. The mojitos were excellent and the wine a treat. Drivers were also available to take us out and about and the family ownership really added to this great place. We practically had the place to ourselves and immensely enjoyed the unique tent style accommodation and lack of wifi in rooms - this really is what a holiday means! The hammam was also excellent and well worth it! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

When we stayed here we were the only guests, so this review may not reflect what is more common, our visit was in the last few days of Ramadan and the owner informed us it was normally very quiet then.

The rooms/luxury tents are very nice, though in my mind the bathrooms could be better, to call the rooms tents is probably a little misleading, they are in fact individual chalets with a canvas roof. The location of the hotel is very isolated with no options for eating out or even going for a walk as there is nowhere to walk to.

Our real bug bear with this hotel was the lack of choice for the evening meal, especially as there was no real option for eating out without a lengthy and expensive taxi ride. During our visit the restaurant served only one dish as the evening meal, and to if you didn't like that option then you went hungry; the meal was served without any identification it was simply placed in front of you when you sat down.

I recognise that there are many positive reviews of this hotel and this was the rationale behind our booking, our contrary review is probably coloured by the fact we were the only guests and the single choice evening meal which unfortunately was also not very nice (very fatty and tough lamb tagine).

If the hotel ups its game in the restaurant offering I can see this hotel being a very pleasant sojourn from a busy working life, however I wouldn't recommend it in low season.

For info we were travelling with two kids (13 and 10), our original booking was for 3 days, we left after one day as the kids were bored stiff, and the food just wan't up to scratch.

Room Tip: Avoid off season- unless you want the place to yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patmarrakech, Propriétaire at Les Jardins d'Issil, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
We are very surprised, at your departure you have make complimented on everything, the tent was very nice, the food was very good, the problem was : the children were bored because there was not animation.
Our guest house is located 20 minutes from the center of Marrakech for the quiet countryside.
At that time you were not alone, there were 6 other guests.
You have not the time to enjoy the place because you arrived to 5 p.m. and you are left in the morning to 10:00.
Lots of our guests come back and recommend our hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Jardins d'Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins d'Issil

Address: Route de l'Ourika, km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Les Jardins d'Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins d`Issil Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins d'Issil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.