We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly tranquil” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins d'Issil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Les Jardins d'Issil to your Saves list
Les Jardins d'Issil
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Route de l'Ourika, km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 206 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly tranquil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here earlier this year, in March. It was slightly out of season and therefore the hotel was quiet, which was exactly what I wanted. It was peaceful, tranquil, relaxing and friendly. The staff were always on hand to help with anything and were kind enough to allow us to eat outside of normal hours. The mojitos were excellent and the wine a treat. Drivers were also available to take us out and about and the family ownership really added to this great place. We practically had the place to ourselves and immensely enjoyed the unique tent style accommodation and lack of wifi in rooms - this really is what a holiday means! The hammam was also excellent and well worth it! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    44
    10
    9
    7
See reviews for
72
108
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

When we stayed here we were the only guests, so this review may not reflect what is more common, our visit was in the last few days of Ramadan and the owner informed us it was normally very quiet then.

The rooms/luxury tents are very nice, though in my mind the bathrooms could be better, to call the rooms tents is probably a little misleading, they are in fact individual chalets with a canvas roof. The location of the hotel is very isolated with no options for eating out or even going for a walk as there is nowhere to walk to.

Our real bug bear with this hotel was the lack of choice for the evening meal, especially as there was no real option for eating out without a lengthy and expensive taxi ride. During our visit the restaurant served only one dish as the evening meal, and to if you didn't like that option then you went hungry; the meal was served without any identification it was simply placed in front of you when you sat down.

I recognise that there are many positive reviews of this hotel and this was the rationale behind our booking, our contrary review is probably coloured by the fact we were the only guests and the single choice evening meal which unfortunately was also not very nice (very fatty and tough lamb tagine).

If the hotel ups its game in the restaurant offering I can see this hotel being a very pleasant sojourn from a busy working life, however I wouldn't recommend it in low season.

For info we were travelling with two kids (13 and 10), our original booking was for 3 days, we left after one day as the kids were bored stiff, and the food just wan't up to scratch.

Room Tip: Avoid off season- unless you want the place to yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patmarrakech, Propriétaire at Les Jardins d'Issil, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
We are very surprised, at your departure you have make complimented on everything, the tent was very nice, the food was very good, the problem was : the children were bored because there was not animation.
Our guest house is located 20 minutes from the center of Marrakech for the quiet countryside.
At that time you were not alone, there were 6 other guests.
You have not the time to enjoy the place because you arrived to 5 p.m. and you are left in the morning to 10:00.
Lots of our guests come back and recommend our hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurzach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from a short stay . Well worth every penny. great value. Fun accomodation . Beautiful pool and great food. Highly recomended as an alternative to staying in the centre of Mrrakesh. Just a 20 minute drive from the Medina area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights after a longer trip in Morocco and enjoyed the tranquility as the rest of our trip had been a bit hectic. WE did 2 trips into the atlas mountains which were great but the taxi into Marrakech was expensive so we didn't venture out of the hotel much otherwise, as we had already stayed in the city itself. The pool was very cold when we were there and even the 2 kids (4 and 7) couldn't stay in for more than a few minutes at a time. this was the main drawback and would put me off going there with kids again. However, they loved the gardens and had a great time playing and exploring in them. The staff are lovely, friendly and helpful, but the French owners are a bit less warm. I had a problem with locking our room and they never got back to me about it. luckily I got it to work myself.
The food was great, different every night of our 6 night stay and our somewhat fussy kids were fine with all of it. It is a bit expensive as you have to buy all your water which seems a bit much not to provide free drinking water for guests in a hotel, and it was considerably more than in local shops. All that said its a beautiful place, the rooms are gorgeous and the staff excellent.
I would recommend it but worth speaking french to the owners as they don't make much / any effort to communicate in any other language.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My wife, booked the hotel for 46 of us for my 60th birthday for 3 nights. Everything was absolutely fabulous. The luxurious tents are far apart for every couple's privacy, the swimming pool was the main attraction during the day, the food was very good and "la fête" on the Saturday evening with whole Maroccan lamb ( Mechoui) was a whole new experience for the South African men who pride themselves in BBQ's. Patrick and Ghislaine were the perfect hosts and kept the cold Rosé wine flowing. The staff were also extremely friendly and kind.

I would gladly recommend Jardin D'Issil for any large event, but do book the whole place for yourselves.

Merci beaucoup, Patrick et Ghislaine.

Room Tip: All the tents were great, the African huts were a little basic for some, but had a small kitchen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This place is very special after a long journey in a 4X4 or a day in the busy souks of Marrakech.
Located at about 13 km from the city, everything is made for you to feel relaxed, reading a good book, cooling off in the big swimming pool, or listening to soft music in a very romantic but pragmatic tent set in idylic gardens.The staff are very friendly and welcome children and adults alike. The food is unique and unfussy. There is nothing you can not receive from this place owned by two bretons passionate about exotism and escapism. My wife ripped an article from a magazine about this place four years ago , it has taken us this long to get there, it was well worth the wait.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I've never actually taken the time to write a review of anywhere I've stayed before but I just had to write about this fabulous little place. I'm actually doing this review before I've even headed home. What an absolute heaven of tranquility. The staff anticipated our every need. The owner was a total sweetheart. The food was great and served when we wanted it, not within set hours. We had fabulous hammam and massage. And will be floating home on a cloud of shisha, mojitos and relaxation. I couldn't recommend it more. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patmarrakech, Propriétaire at Les Jardins d'Issil, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion, it was a great pleasure to welcome you to the jardins d' Issil and my wish is to see you soon for a mojito together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
8.2 mi away
Cesar Resort & Spa
Cesar Resort & Spa
#193 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
#260 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
11.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#5 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
10.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
11.8 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#90 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins d'Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins d'Issil

Address: Route de l'Ourika, km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 206 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Jardins d'Issil 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Les Jardins d'Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins d`Issil Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins d'Issil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.