We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, unforgettable, exceeds expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad des Arts

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Splendia.com
and 3 more sites!
Riad des Arts
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Derb Moulay Abdelkader 116 | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #616 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, unforgettable, exceeds expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I saw the pictures on internet, and fell in love with the riad. When I actually arrived there it had exceeded my expectations. The riad is nearly 2 minutes away from the square and as soon as you enter you forget all about the hustle and bustle of the city. Its a great escape!!! We stayed in the Grise room and it was so beautiful. It looked even better than on the pictures. The beds are really comfortable with high quality cushions. There is a "salon" to watch some tv and there are a few chill out places in the riad. The rooftop terrace takes your breathe away. A great place to chill out after a day of shopping in the souqs. The breakfast is delicious!!!

They really put a lot of thought in to the design of the riad. Locationwise and designwise absolutely recommendable. The warm hearted staffmembers made my stay there (6 days) a pleasure. If I do go back to Marrakech i would immediately consider this riad as my only option. I really miss it a lot and would go back again any day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    4
    8
    6
See reviews for
6
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 via mobile

It was difficult to get directions to arrive at the riad on my own from the train station without using the riad's rather pricey pickup service. No welcome as in other riads (tea/juice, info) so didn't know about the roof terrace until the day I left. Staff seemed indifferent - no map, no assistance navigating medina, no apology although two lights in room and bathroom were out. Also, there's a 5% surcharge for using credit card which wasn't disclosed until after noncancelable reservation made.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

A group of seven of us took the Riad for a special birthday. We had a wonderful time. The location is perfect, the rooms excellent, the staff were so helpful and accommodating. Yes the call to prayer woke us in the morning, but isn't that how it's meant to be? Highly recommended by picky people

Room Tip: All were great. If you are a light sleeper the room on the roof may be one to avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

First of all, this riad is an amazing location, right in the middle of the Medina. While we were a bit skeptical when our airport transfer dropped us off at the edge of the square, unloaded our bags into a random cart, and told us "Now you walk", when we walked into the Riad it was like arriving at an oasis.

Our group of 12 had rented out the entire riad and everyone was happy with their accommodation. The main floor area and the rooftop patio were perfect to socialize and chill out after a long day in the souks. And the plunge pool, while chilly, was a lifesaver on the hotter days.

But the staff at the riad were the real gems of this stay. They put up with all our loud behaviour, were courteous, and when our trip hit some road bumps, they were able to fix things quickly and effectively. To make a long story short, when our hotel in the Mountains sent a minibus that broke down on arrival, we telephoned Riad des Arts and they were able to secure us another, very comfortable, transport in about 5 minutes.

I cannot recommend this riad enough. Ask and you shall receive.

Thanks guys.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddo, OK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Like some others, our first night and initial pick-up was a bit bewildering, but once we settled into the riad it was quite a nice and pleasant place to stay. The terrace was particularly nice, though we were fortunate to have it all to ourselves when we were up there.

We stayed in the Chocolate Suite, which was very spacious and comfortable but extremely dark (readers beware: it's nearly impossible to read inside the room). Also, the individual room doors do not lock, which made us slightly uneasy at first. Still, we adapted and it was an overall good experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

After arriving in Marrakech, we took a taxi into the main square, Jemma el Fna. The taxi originally wanted 250 dirham to take us right to the riad. We talked him down to 150 (£12-13) to just the square. Once out of the taxi a kid guided us to the riad, which would be quite hard to find as its off a little side road. It was well worth the £5 for the guide.

I thought it was comical to read in the last review how the women jab needles of henna into your skin. That is not true at all. The henna is a syringe with no needle that they use to draw on you. If you don't want one, just firmly say no. No big deal. Also, be prepared to pay the people in the square if you want photos with them..(snake charmers, monkeys, dancers, etc.)

Anyways, the riad is very nice. It is also extremely peaceful and quiet, despite being a couple minutes walk from the main square. We stayed for 2 nights in the colonial tent. We stayed there for the experience of staying in the tent on the roof terrace. Inside the tent is very nice, with a nice bathroom and shower. It also is air conditioned. The best part of the tent is that it is right on the roof terrace, which made it seem like it was our own private terrace because not many of the other guests came up to it.

The staff at the riad are all very friendly and speak English fairly well. The breakfast is nice with Moroccan breads, pancakes, jams, orange juice, pastries, yoghurt and tea/coffee.

Also, we used the same taxi man a few different times and he is a good guy. His name is Jamal and if you want to use him in Marrakech, his number is 06 68 96 37 35.

Room Tip: Worth the money of having a guide take you to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

we are a couple in our mid 20's and stayed at riad des arts for 7 nights in the 'collonial tent' room at riad des arts.

We went for the transfer from the airport. We rang the hotel and arranged this for our arrival only, this cost 17 euros, this is expensive considering a taxi to the airport costs around the equivalent on 5-7 pounds. However, we were glad we did this as we never would have found the riad without the taxi driver taking us from the cab rank to the riad on foot.
Dont bother on the way back, by then you will know where you are, you can carry your own bags across the square and negotiate the taxi fare. Managed to get it down to 80 dirham on the way back, about 6 quid-ish.

The riad is down an alley, off an alley, it is very quiet and peacful inside, whilst outside it remains pretty mad. We never felt intimidated walking down these alleys, it is well lit and even when there was anyone hanging around they ignored us completely.

The riad is unexciting from the outside, just a fancy outer door, to which you will receive a key on arrival. This leads into a small hallway, this hallway leads onto the coutyard in the middle where you eat breakfast, it is open to the air and has a small plunge pool, it is very pretty. There are lots of drapes etc, see photos on hotel website, they are well taken, making it look slightly bigger than it is.

The collonial tent is very nice, again smaller than in the photos. There is a lock on the door and the air con works. during the heat of the day the tent did heat up, this is to be expected with a tent I suppose, but you should be out during the day anyway.
The tents front door leads straight onto the roof terrace, the tent does not have it's own private terrace, but we had the roof terrace to ourselves most of the time, again, lots of drapes, a few cacti and very peaceful.

Breakfast at the hotel was very nice, croissant, bread, jam, coffee, very fresh OJ etc. You obviously cant expect a full english, bread etc was fresh and the setting, in the courtyard, open to the air is very nice.

Paying was easy enough, they took debit/credit cards and did not try to overcharge us, There is a 2 euro a night tax, factor this into the cost of your stay.

There are a few english speaking staff but most speak french/arabic only, my schoolboy french got us by.

Overall a pleasant stay. I would only say that when staying a week there were a few times, on the hottest days, that we wanted a swimming pool, we ended up going to a water park to cool off one day. This is no criticism on the hotel, we knew it didn't have a proper pool, we just didn't think we would want a pool so much. If I came back to marrakesh for a weekend I would stay here, if I came for a week then I would get a hotel in the gueliz/hivernage.

Marrakesh itself is great, You will regularly find yourself driven at by people on mopeds even in the smallest alleys, but no-one seems to crash, it's like a massive game of chicken where the winner dies last, same on the roads.

People trying to sell you stuff generally just needs a firm 'non merci' Henna women will grab ladies hands to try to show their work, just pull your hand away and say no. In the souk get a starting price, offer a third, pay about half, or less, if he asks for a starting price from you make it ridiculously low, then see whet he says. The main alleys through the souk are more expensive than the smaller side alleys. The market at the jma el fna was comparatively the most expensive and touristy.

Oasiria is a water park just outside the city, there is a shuttle bus, nice enough, incase you feel like a break from the heat/city.

Kosy bar, 15 mins walk from the riad des arts, roof terrace, serves the good local wine for about 11 pounds a bottle, good view at sunset/during the night. Their rose was best, caberne something. french wine costs about twice as much.

Cafe grande poste, 30-40 dirham taxi ride into the gueliz, nice place, we got a three course meal for two with 2 bottles of wine for 75 quid.

You will likely get woken up by the muezzin with the clal to prayer, you notice it less as your stay goes on.

mat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad des Arts

Also Known As:
Riad Des Arts Hotel
Riad Des Arts Marrakech
Address: Derb Moulay Abdelkader 116 | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #616 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad des Arts 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad des Arts to your Saves list