We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful majestic Kasbah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Tiwaline

Save Saved
You added Kasbah Tiwaline to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kasbah Tiwaline
Bab Atlas | Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful majestic Kasbah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed here in August and despite the insane heat of 49 degrees we had a wonderful holiday. The hosts were so helpful and friendly we could not have asked for a better experience of Marrakesh. The Kasbah is 13kms from Marrakesh centre but we loved the fact we could get away from the hustle bustle of the city back to our own peaceful haven. The private pool was a must in the heat. The pool was exceptionally well maintained with clean towels and hats provided every day. The breakfast was plentiful served between 9 and 11 everyday. We ate both an evening meal and lunch there on a couple of occasions and all meals were delicious.
I would highly recommend the Kasbah.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    26
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
37
31
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Myself, 2 sisters and a friend travelled to the Kasbah Tiwaline for 3 night mini break last week.

From being picked up at the airport, to being dropped off back at the airport, nothing was too much for the hosts.

It was fantastic from start to finish. The Kasbah was kept exceptionally clean, the pools were cleaned and maintained every day and the guests have permission to also use the main house' 25 x 5m pool. Sun loungers, sun hats and towels are provided.

Breakfast was kind of the same each day, but if you ask for fruit you get it. Lunch was 3 courses for 10 euro and dinner was 3 courses for 16 euro. VERY tasty food and VERY reasonable prices. It was a table service so really not sure what the review before was on about. Music was on throughout and no request was too much.

Bottled water is complementary - regardless of how many bottles you get through!

Transfer into Marrakech is 10 euro (per room) each way and you get to decide - old or new town.

Worth noting that my orange phone only worked after 1030pm here and sisters on O2 and Vodafone could only SMS. Restaurant is WiFi enabled.

The grounds are beautiful and the groundsman should be proud of themselves.

I am returning in October for another mini break and am looking forward to experiencing it in a not so extreme heat (it was 45degrees one day in the shade)!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed at the Kasbah Tiwaline in June 2010 and would like to share our experience with you.
The Kasbah, per se, is a beautiful place to stay at, far away from the maddening Medina. Far far away from the noisy Marrakech and, above all, far far far away from all the smog.
The whole complex consists of three separate Kasbahs, each with a pool and a garden area. Anyhow, not all the pools were working and we had to demand to have our room changed. The rooms are rather dark and there are some amenities missing that the web sites and Jeremy, the owner, promised the room would be equipped with. There is no proper light, which is not a big problem after all, but a safe was promised and was not there. Unless they use big ceramic pots for safes. The rooms are also quite shabby. The bed I was sleeping in hardly held together and the first room we were offered smelled as if someone just switched off a big 100 years old generator in there and one look in the shower corner would make a fine stomach turn around.
The restaurant that promised a choice of local and international dishes was nothing but a communal kitchen, where food was served three times a day under the motto: you eat what the staff eat. No choice whatsoever, breakfast was always the same, bread, pancakes and jam every single morning. dinner was served at €16 per person and, what is interesting, you only get soup, one plate with the starter and one plate with the main dish to share. Being so far from Marrakech we did not have much choice but have dinners there. The food was nice, though the price was quite steep for what you were actually getting. The same with the overall service. Not being French, as we noticed, we were ignored every time we came to the restaurant. We always had to wait at the table for at least 15 minutes, while the owners were comfortably sitting and browsing internet and eventually we had to order ourselves from the absolutely lovely local staff, Mustafa, Fatima and Aziz right through the kitchen window. Whenever, though French guests came in, the owners, also French, were jumping with joy and attending to them within seconds. The music in the restaurant started playing as soon the French guests arrived, the same with the fountain. One can simply not overlook this, especially being the only non-French couple there...
Also, be careful with the final bill, better keep a record of everything you eat and drink as we were overcharged for wine we never had. On one bill we were charged a special tax which somehow never applied on the other bill. So better double check your bills.
Overall, although a very nice place to stay, the very disturbing service from the owners sometimes made us feel unwelcome and regret the choice. For the money you end up paying, you can easily afford a 5-star hotel in the new town of Marrakech, as we later found out from fellow travellers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soto del Real, Madrid
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

At first we were a bit hesitant to stay 13 km from the center of Marrakech. In hindsight, we are very glad we did! The Kasbah was the perfect place to relax and unwind after experiencing the chaos of Marrakech. The room we had was beautifully decorated and very spacious, as well as clean and comfortable! A short distance from our room was a well-maintained pool with lounge chairs, pool towels and hats. It was heaven lying under the shade of the umbrella with occasional dips into the pool to cool off (in the 40C heat). The grounds were gorgeous...we were amazed at how they were able to keep all the plants alive in such extreme heat. The food (lunch and dinner) was probably the best we had in Marrakech. Of the 5 days we spent there, 3 of them we ate at the Kasbah. Hats of to the cook! Finally, the staff (particularly Aziz) were incrediblly kind and helpful. We highly recommend the Kasbah. Don't let the distance from center prevent you from booking here. First of all, they offer very affordable transfer service (10 Euros/room/day). Secondly, you wouldn't regret having such a beautiful, relaxing place to go back to after spending time in the chaos of Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

4 of us stayed in one of the Kasbahs for 3 nights at the end of May 2010, before we ventured into the medina for 4 nights. There are 3 separate kasbahs (fortified houses) each with a terrace (upper) suite, a garden suite and a double room. We had both suites in Kasbah 'Ayour'. This place is set in the Palmeriae area on the outskirts of Marrakech and is away from the hustle and bustle. Great for a relaxing trip before the madness of the medina! The staff were friendly and helpful - I think they are in the process of changing ownership as Jeremy and his brother seemed to be taking over.

The whole kasbah complex is visually stunning, although rustic - and the suites were large and full of traditional furniture and architecture. Each kasbah has a pool and ours was the better of the three (one seemed to be shut at the time we were there and we got a few couples turning up at our pool). Lovely quiet rural setting with a view of the Atlas mountains and many birds in the gardens (three owls were a regular feature at the back of the kasbah!)

The restaurant was lovely with a big open air centre with a pond and huge fireplace (not lit when we were there!). Food good- but no choice- you just ask for lunch or dinner and enjoy the surprise! We ate very well with four courses for 10 Euro for lunch and 16 Euro for dinner. Alcohol is served and is about 4 Euro for a Casablanca beer and 10-14 Euro for a bottle of wine.

There is a minibus service which we didn't use, to the medina for 10 Euro per day per room with about 5 trips during the day and up to about 11 at night. We did one trip while we where there which Aziz organised- a camel trip to a berber house. The trip is done from a place about 5 minutes car ride and cost 25 Euro each. It was well worth it - we were on the camels for about 2 hours with a stop at a fantastic berber house for snacks and mint tea- didn't feel like a tourist trap at all and our guide (Eddie Murphy) really made the trip for us.

The only slight negative I would say about this place is that the rooms were dark and there was no place to hang clothes or any drawers to unpack in. Not a major problem. Also - check your bill as we didn't and found out later that we had been charged for a lunch that we didn't have! (Oh well, live and learn)!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed in April 2007. A wonderful stay for two nights away from the bustle of Marrakech. Host was wonderful. Dinner was very intimate in the tent style dining room. The kasbhs were very cool and comfortable and what you would envision when you thing of Morocco. The bathrooms - very nice. A great place - would love to return for a week.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

We stayed at the Tiwaline at the end of March and found this the perfect place for us. The contrast between the fantastic bustle and noise of Marrakech and the serenity of Tiwaline was perfect for a mixed group of 30 somethings. Taxis fares were ok split between the five of us. Hospitality and warmth of the owners helped make this a special place.

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Tiwaline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tiwaline

Address: Bab Atlas | Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#116 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kasbah Tiwaline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tiwaline Marrakech
Kasbah Tiwaline Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Tiwaline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.