We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility Amongst the Chaos of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Tiwaline

Save Saved
You added Kasbah Tiwaline to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kasbah Tiwaline
Bab Atlas | Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Soto del Real, Madrid
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tranquility Amongst the Chaos of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

At first we were a bit hesitant to stay 13 km from the center of Marrakech. In hindsight, we are very glad we did! The Kasbah was the perfect place to relax and unwind after experiencing the chaos of Marrakech. The room we had was beautifully decorated and very spacious, as well as clean and comfortable! A short distance from our room was a well-maintained pool with lounge chairs, pool towels and hats. It was heaven lying under the shade of the umbrella with occasional dips into the pool to cool off (in the 40C heat). The grounds were gorgeous...we were amazed at how they were able to keep all the plants alive in such extreme heat. The food (lunch and dinner) was probably the best we had in Marrakech. Of the 5 days we spent there, 3 of them we ate at the Kasbah. Hats of to the cook! Finally, the staff (particularly Aziz) were incrediblly kind and helpful. We highly recommend the Kasbah. Don't let the distance from center prevent you from booking here. First of all, they offer very affordable transfer service (10 Euros/room/day). Secondly, you wouldn't regret having such a beautiful, relaxing place to go back to after spending time in the chaos of Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    24
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
32
31
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

4 of us stayed in one of the Kasbahs for 3 nights at the end of May 2010, before we ventured into the medina for 4 nights. There are 3 separate kasbahs (fortified houses) each with a terrace (upper) suite, a garden suite and a double room. We had both suites in Kasbah 'Ayour'. This place is set in the Palmeriae area on the outskirts of Marrakech and is away from the hustle and bustle. Great for a relaxing trip before the madness of the medina! The staff were friendly and helpful - I think they are in the process of changing ownership as Jeremy and his brother seemed to be taking over.

The whole kasbah complex is visually stunning, although rustic - and the suites were large and full of traditional furniture and architecture. Each kasbah has a pool and ours was the better of the three (one seemed to be shut at the time we were there and we got a few couples turning up at our pool). Lovely quiet rural setting with a view of the Atlas mountains and many birds in the gardens (three owls were a regular feature at the back of the kasbah!)

The restaurant was lovely with a big open air centre with a pond and huge fireplace (not lit when we were there!). Food good- but no choice- you just ask for lunch or dinner and enjoy the surprise! We ate very well with four courses for 10 Euro for lunch and 16 Euro for dinner. Alcohol is served and is about 4 Euro for a Casablanca beer and 10-14 Euro for a bottle of wine.

There is a minibus service which we didn't use, to the medina for 10 Euro per day per room with about 5 trips during the day and up to about 11 at night. We did one trip while we where there which Aziz organised- a camel trip to a berber house. The trip is done from a place about 5 minutes car ride and cost 25 Euro each. It was well worth it - we were on the camels for about 2 hours with a stop at a fantastic berber house for snacks and mint tea- didn't feel like a tourist trap at all and our guide (Eddie Murphy) really made the trip for us.

The only slight negative I would say about this place is that the rooms were dark and there was no place to hang clothes or any drawers to unpack in. Not a major problem. Also - check your bill as we didn't and found out later that we had been charged for a lunch that we didn't have! (Oh well, live and learn)!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed in April 2007. A wonderful stay for two nights away from the bustle of Marrakech. Host was wonderful. Dinner was very intimate in the tent style dining room. The kasbhs were very cool and comfortable and what you would envision when you thing of Morocco. The bathrooms - very nice. A great place - would love to return for a week.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

We stayed at the Tiwaline at the end of March and found this the perfect place for us. The contrast between the fantastic bustle and noise of Marrakech and the serenity of Tiwaline was perfect for a mixed group of 30 somethings. Taxis fares were ok split between the five of us. Hospitality and warmth of the owners helped make this a special place.

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

We stayed at Kasbah Tiwaline for 3 nights in April 2007.

The location is about 12 km from the Medina which is the heart of Marrakech. This place may not be for you if you like to be in the middle of all the action. However, Marrakech can be a bit overwhelming and this is a wonderful getaway, only 20 minutes by taxi (10 Euros), to get back to after a hectic day in the souks.

The owners are a lovely Franco-Morrocan couple and do all they can to make your stay comfortable. The rooms are simple with lots of character. The central dining area is set out in traditional Moroccan courtyard style and the staff are always on hand to cater to your needs. The food is delicious.

Would return!!!

  • Liked — Character
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

The Kasbah Tiwaline Hotel in Marrakesh is a place I'll always remember. Its rooms screamed Morocco to me; the restoration of this hotel was done with great care to reflect local traditional construction.
I stayed at Kasbah Tiwaline for 7 nights (with a friend) in January 2007.
The hotel is located Marrakesh, Morocco, in a plush and quiet residential area.
The hotel staff (from receptionists to housekeeping) were very polite and welcoming.
Description
•Charming Hotel in the heart of the Palmeraie in Marrakesh.
•An excellent restaurant in the hotel
•Rooms are typically Berberian, quiet and romantic
•Summer is not a problem, Kasbah Tiwaline have air-conditioned.
•Moderately priced--cheap if you consider the charm

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2007

Originally planned to stay one night only, but ended up staying here for the rest of our holiday. We loved this traditional kasbah with tastefully decorated rooms and clever layout with your own outside space within a lovely garden. This, in combination with an exceptionally helpful staff makes it, in our eyes, an ideal place to stay if you are looking to get away from the hussle and bussle of the old town, while still being close enough to pay a visit - 15 min drive.

  • Liked — setting, privacy and service
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Tiwaline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tiwaline

Address: Bab Atlas | Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#152 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique place in a frame of exception, Kasbah Tiwaline offers you 3 Villas composed of 2 suites and 1 room with private garden and swimming pool.Villas are warm-hearted and ample. The choice of colours and generous proportions of these villas bring a feeling of peace, softness, and harmony. Privacy, individual service and art of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kasbah Tiwaline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tiwaline Marrakech
Kasbah Tiwaline Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Tiwaline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.