We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located oasis in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Vedra

Save Saved
You added Dar Vedra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dar Vedra
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3, Derb Sidi Ahmed Ou Moussa | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Well located oasis in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our family (2 adults and twins of 9) recently stayed in this Riad for 3 nights. We arrived VERY late at night and was welcomed with warm smiles and a "midnight feast" of mint tea, homemade biscuits and fresh fruit. The riad is extremely well located in the heart of the medina and walking distance from most places of interests. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and Jamila's breakfasts and dinners were scrumptious to say the least! Due to high occupancy, we had to stay in two rooms; one on the ground floor and the other on the 1st floor. Two completely different rooms, but both beautiful, clean and spacious. The swimming pool is a real plus when one has children and the roof garden is a tranquil place with beautiful views. Thanks Dar Vedra - we had a memorable stay and cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. It is easier to stay on the ground floor if one has heavy suitcases, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
137
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A very warm welcome by the assistant manager (a lovely, friendly young lady) who provided some mint tea while filling in the check-in forms. Room were kinda narrow (as in the photos), but spacious, clean and lovely. Breakfast were freshly made and plentiful - to make you ready for exploring Marrakesh ! The location is a small alley inside the Medina, but not far from the nearest parking (no car access directly to the riad,as most of the Medina is not accessible to cars). Nice rooftop terrace. Do note however: The riad is close to a mosque, so the the calling for prayer will wake you up at night (4am or so)!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed in Riad Dar Vedra twice: September 2010 with my boyfriend at that time and October 2012 with 3 friends. The riad itself is a really fine combination of Maroccan authenticity and Frech design. The owners have put a lot of effort in creating a perfect atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable, very clean and beautifull decorated. The owners and staff are very helpfull and kind. They welcome you with traditional tea and cookies, tell you everything about the riad and the city and will organise trips for you if you want to. Both times I really felt at home. When we arrived at Dar Vedra the first time, me and my boyfriend were sick. We had already been travelling for a few weeks and Dar Vedra was the perfect place to get better and to take some rest. The staff did everything to help us get better. They cooked a special meal, called for a docter and got medecins for us. They really took good care of us. Lucky for me I wasn't sick the second time I arrived at Dar Vedra, so I could enjoy the riad and Marrakech in the best possible way. When I think of Dar Vedra I want to go back. I would recommend this riad it to anybody!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

There are plenty of Riads in Marrakech. I always change to see different parts of the city.
The reason why I loved Dar Vedra is that on top of being well located and really beautiful, you feel welcomed. The team is fantastic, the food delicious and they're always ready to make your trip unique. Whether it's for tips on what to do and where to go or just service while you rest on the rooftop, they have been amazing. And the rooms... pure delight.
I now know where I'll be staying when going to Marrakech :-)

Room Tip: I had a very luminous one as it was on the 1st floor overlooking the pool and the inner courtyard. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have just returned from a wonderful few days staying at Dar Vedra. My husband organised a surprise trip for my birthday celebrations with 11 friends and we had a great time! Sebastien and his staff were superb, always there and very helpful when asked but not intrusive. We were taken to our restaurant on the first night otherwise we would surely have got very lost, they made good recommendations and we had a delicious meal one night with a lovely birthday cake and a pretty pair of earrings for a gift too. The riad is in a good position for the souks, the main square and the Majorelle Gardens. The only downside for some of us was the proximity to the mosque but no complaints as that is part of the culture and the city and some earplugs would have sorted that. We loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Dar Vedra. As we stayed there before and after a trip to the desert, we used two different rooms, one a superior with bags of space and one a standard which was also very satisfactory. We thought the interior decor was very pretty and tasteful, and we liked the shabby chic vibe. It really is an oasis after the noise and chaos which is Marrakech.
We enjoyed the breakfasts and ate there one lunch time on the roof and thought it was lovely. The food was better than we had had at a well known restaurant the night before.
A word of praise for the staff too, whom we found to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 2 is luxurious and a little more tucked away than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Having stayed in another Riad for a whole week I felt the reviews of this North Medina establishment just simply did not live up them!

The interior of the riad is nice but it isn't special and the decor needs touching-up. The plunge pool looked uninviting. The big letdown is the roof terrace which in no way matches the website photographs - it is small, bity and clumsy with some uncared for foliage and with not enough loved plants it tends to look grey, dusty and abandoned. The dining area on the roof resembled a bicycle shed.

The breakfasts mainly consisted of bread with a bit of fruit salad and yogurt. The coffee, water for the tea and milk came in three big utilitarian thermos pots...an ugly sight first thing in the morning! I am sure that if we had have asked for eggs for breakfast we would have been given them but everything felt as if it would been too much trouble and only twice in the whole week were we served Moroccan Pancakes!
The very average quality of the breakfast put us off dining there in the evening...and those that did dine there gave us lack lustre reviews. We all noticed that the evening meals were prepared well in advance and left sitting uncovered in the kitchen...a big microwave oven could be visibly seen and that the cook was long gone by evening!

We saw both the owners across the week but they disappeared in the afternoon and not to be seen again till the next morning...I think this is a big mistake - it felt as if their loyalties and interest in their business, staff and customers were divided!

Our room was lovely and the interior of the Riad was pretty but the outside spaces let it down badly.

I have stayed in a much better Riad with much more attentive staff who used their initiative to make you feel comfortable and welcome at a much lower price and in a better maintained part of the Medina. For example it is cold at night and we had to ask the staff to light the fire in the living room on several occasions.

It is the little touches that matter when you are away from home and staying in someone else’s care and this riad just simply didn't have them!

The overall feeling we got was that the management were Dirham pinching, which is most unwise!

Room Tip: The one really annoying thing at arriving at Dar Vedra was that very few people were actually alloca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad-DAR-VEDRA, Owner at Dar Vedra, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Among the nice comments left by many guests this one is so fairness that we have no choice than give to our futures guests some explanations on add.

In fact this guest spent 7 days in our riad as a solo traveler and never complained. He even told me he had an excellent stay when checking out… Then he wrote this comment back home!!! I sent him a mail to apologize but never got an answer...
We received along the past 7 years more than 3000 guests and the 230 comments left on Tripadvisor prove the quality of the service and the hard efforts we provide to make all stays as nice as possible.
Pretending that the Pergola on the roof terrace looks like a bicycle shed as that the terrace is small, bity and clumsy is just outrageous. The roof terrace is 220 Square meters which is exceptionally big for a Riad in Marrakech, It is Fall and we experienced very heavy rain for few days so it may have not looked as good as usual for one day or 2 but it was cleaned and ready to use again the next days.

Dar Vedra is known (see all comments) for the quality of the food and the great cook (Jamilla) that proposes excellent lunches, dinners and different breakfast all days of the week. It is true we keep water milk and coffee in thermos pot but they are clean and this is the only way to keep them hot.
What is totally unfair is to pretend that we are preparing the food well in advance and using a microwave to reheat it. This is just not the truth as Jamilla works mornings and evening wit a break in the afternoon. She prepares diner late afternoon and is most of the time there till it is served.

This guest stayed 7 days, as a favor we upgraded him to a larger, nicer and more expensive room with no extra cost. Forget to tell this and pretending that most of the guests don’t get the room they booked is just not right.

We are in the Riad every morning and often coming back in the evenings.
We manage every day to have a little chat with each of our guest to make sure they have everything they need; booking restaurants, Hamam, excursions transfers etc..
All the staff at Dar Vedra including Amel the assistant manager (which is always there when we are not) are working very hard and use their initiative to make you feel comfortable and welcome…
Last but not least Dar Vedra is definitely not a “Dhirams pitching” business but a wonderful experience where we putted all our soul for the past 9 years (2 years of heavy restoration and 7 in business)
Despite our disagreement with some of these comments, we are taking guest feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

Best regards from the sunny Marrakech.

Didier Blat & Sebastien Pailleux
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Vedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Vedra

Also Known As:
Dar Vedra Hotel
Dar Vedra Hotel Marrakech
Address: 3, Derb Sidi Ahmed Ou Moussa | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Vedra 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Vedra is an 18th-century riyad, entirely restored in 2005 with the ancestral methods and in the respect of Arabic Andalusia architecture; it will fulfill all your expectations as far as comfort is concerned. Located in the Medina of Marrakech, the house offers seven air conditioned bedrooms, around two bosky patios, one with a heated pool. The 220 square meter terrace has a 360 degree view of Bab Doukkala mosque, the Koutoubia and the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Prestigia, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dar Vedra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Vedra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.